We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, great food, strange service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nine Mary's - CLOSED

Nine Mary's
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food, strange service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nine Mary's is funky and über stylish. The food is very high quality Indian. It may just have been the night I was in but the staff were a little off their game. We were not welcomed when we arrived despite staff seeing us enter. Despite many empty tables were told to wait and waived over to a drinks area where again we were ignored. Worried our 'place in the queue' had not been noted, we needed to follow this up. Thankfully, once we were seated at our table the service was great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nova F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food but can be noisy in the evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We first went to this bar to meet people for drinks where we were given free nibbles, on that occasion the noise level was reduced I think as a large group of us were able to have conversations without shouting. We went back for a meal last Friday as we were in the area and had an excellent meal, however the noise from the bar made conversation at a table in the corner of the restaurant a bit difficult. As I said to my husband, in Perth the portions are large so we'd better skip the starter and had two main meals, I had the Chicken Tikka which is also available as a starter and for some reason hubby picked the Rogan Josh which was very spicy. The Basmati rice was good, the Saffron rice better. The garlic naan was light and buttery. Unfortunately we had no room for dessert. It is expensive but then so are most restaurants in the CBD but at least you get a good size meal for your money. It's a nice place for a drink but I'd probably go on a quieter night for a meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crisisrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
“Way too expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Its pretty tasty Indian food, but at these prices I would give it a swerve. Even for Perth this is prices gone mad.

They have a bar area now as well which you can visit just for a drink which is a relaxed enough place (I suppose the idea is that you succomb to the whiffs of curry and eat there too!!!).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Delicious modern Asian cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went with friends to this chic, modern restaurant with a lovely menu (not a korma in sight!) with friends and everyone really enjoyed it. I had the prawn pakoras and the lamb shank. DEEELISH! The samosas that our friends had were extra yummy. The only negative I have is that the wine list was horrendously expensive. Our bill came to $350. Ouch!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Authentic food. Great taste. Great service. A little more expensive than other places”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here many times and it always astounds me how they can cook such a variety of dishes with such great tastes. The service is excellent and the serves are quite large. The food was not very hot (fire hot) which was a little disappointing. The gulab jamun is the best I have ever tasted

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Mary's also viewed

 
East Victoria Park, Perth
South Perth, Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing