We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try not to miss it!”

Captain Cook Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For over 30 years, Captain Cook Cruises has been offering visitors Perth an unrivalled experience with scenic passenger cruises along the Swan River. Situated in the $440 million Elizabeth Quay precinct, they are conveniently located just a short stroll from Perth's CBD. As the only company providing daily services between Perth and Fremantle, travelling between the two iconic towns is a relaxing, pictureqsue experience. Along with daily full day cruises to the Swan River, memorable lunch and dinner cruises and a range of other cruises, there really is a cruise to suit any occasion. With the largest fleet of vessels in Western Australia, and the largest range of products, a cruise with Captain Cook Cruises is a day to remember and a "must do" whilst you are in Perth!
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We took the Captain Cook cruise one-way to Fremantle on a sunny Friday (took the train on the way back). Glad we did this, as you do get very nice views of Swan River during the cruise and some good commentary. The boat is clean and the ride was very comfortable, coffee and tea is complimentary. The trip took around 80 mins.

Do take note of the times the ferry runs - only three times per day, departing the Barrack St. Jetty at 9.45am, 11.30am and 2.15pm.

Thank jeni_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"lunch cruise"
in 92 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 158 reviews
"sandalford winery"
in 59 reviews
"famous wine"
in 25 reviews
"swan river"
in 324 reviews
"return journey"
in 41 reviews
"crew members"
in 18 reviews
"free tea and coffee"
in 21 reviews
"tram tour"
in 18 reviews
"excellent cruise"
in 10 reviews
"scenic cruise"
in 14 reviews
in 24 reviews
"cold meats"
in 17 reviews
"cheese and biscuits"
in 12 reviews
"captain cook cruise"
in 30 reviews
"great commentary"
in 22 reviews
"running commentary"
in 18 reviews

916 - 920 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Went on the Upper Swan Lunch cruise, went for 2 1/2 hours, nice views and some interesting landmarks along the way. Lunch was buffet, limited choices but nice, plenty of beer and wines available, friendly captain and crew and as a couple got one of those comfy horse shoe dining tables. Advertised was entertainment (crew member) and although she was very good, I think we could've done without as it interrupted the tranquil feeling on the boat. Unfortunately the bot started to smell of burning rubber as we pulled into Barrack St Jetty

Overall a nice pleasant cruise having a feed and drink taking in the sights one can only get from the river

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Wanted to save time and visit Fremantle with the lunch cruise with tram tour. And it turned out to be a HUGE mistake! Overall experience was VERY disappointing.

On the itinerary, it says including wine tasting, but turns out to be only a glass of cheapo wine or soft drinks.

The cruise boat itself is old, dirty and noisy. After we arrive Fremantle, the tram went flat tyre after 5 minutes of departure, and took 20-30 minutes for a replacement tram. The tour didn't complete and had to rush back to the lunch cruise.

The so called lunch buffet is actually just some curry, salad, pasta, and some average prawns. Not even worth $10. The setting was quite nice, however, the staff is super arrogant and disrespectful, started removing my table cloth while I am still having my dessert and wine!

Terrible customer service when I went to complaint. The manager simply threw out the words "You booked through tour agent, so we cannot refund you. And you are the only one on the tour complain about it. Nobody else is as picky as you. It's your problem!"

The worst service you could expect ever for a cruise!

1  Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainCookCruises, General Manager at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Hi Charlene - Thank you for the review but I feel I must address some points that you have mentioned as they are inaccurate and I prefer the whole story be told when there is a dispute. Whilst the tram did suffer a blown tyre, this was rectified and the tour completed as best possible - any rush back to the jetty to join the return cruise was because of exceptional road closures due to Remembrance Day services. With regard to your lunch comments, we are extremely proud of the standard of this light buffet lunch provided and other online reviews agree with this. When you came to the office to provide your feedback, you made no mention of your dissatisfaction with the meal, only regarding the tram tour, and you have taken artistic licence in the comments made by the Office Manager, as this is not the information that was relayed to you, nor the words used. Inf act, whilst the Office Manager was trying to resolve the issue; you had left the premises and we then contacted your booking agent on your behalf. As you would now be aware we have been in correspondence with your booking agent, Viator, regarding the Tram component of the tour. There were faults on the day, some beyond our control, and we take responsibility for them. We also exercise the right to reply. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you are in Perth for longer than a day then this is a nice thing to do. I went one way (back by train). The commentary is good, plenty of choice of seating, inside and out, complimentary coffee and tea and a pay bar. Good views of the Swan riverbanks - showing the lovely setting of the outskirts of Perth.

Thank An173dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Chose to travel with Captain Cook cruises from Perth to Fremantle on a beautiful sunny day. The boat was clean and comfortable and we had a clear view on both sides of the boat. There was free and coffee available at the bar. The journey took about 80 mins and the commentary was informative.
Good value for money.

Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Cook Cruises also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth

Been to Captain Cook Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing