We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected gem”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Perth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked a night at the Royal on the end of the long weekend and to be honest only stayed here because everywhere else in Perth was booked out. BUT after a mix up with the address and position on a printed google map, and a phonecall or two, what a surprise!
The room was roomy,clean and tidy and functional. The windows opened and (despite a warning on the site I booked through that there wasn't,) there was airconditioning and heating. The bathroom was spacious and meticulously clean.
The Hotel oozes with old world charm with high ceilings and sweeping stairway, and was within walking distance of every meeting I needed to attend.
And yes I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone popping into Perth for a night or two.

Room Tip: Book a double with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank landcruisergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 73 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

I was looking over the internet for a cheap place to stay for a night in Perth and the Royal Hotel did the trick. Although I must say that the room I ended up in was rather on a smaller side, thinking it was lucky that I didn’t bring my cat along because I wouldn’t be able to swing it in there. I asked for the cheapest deal and I got it, (shared bathroom). The room had a basin, fridge, cupboard, TV, small desk and a chair, and lastly a single bed. A typical garret with a small dormer window. No complains. But I must admit that the room and its view over a neighbouring building’s wall were reminiscent of a starving artist’s lodgings during the depression. On a brighter side, the light bouncing of the next door’s wall in the morning was filling the room rather nicely. If you are not fussy I would recommend to stay a night to experience what it was like staying in a hotel in Australia a few decades ago. Great staircase.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krakonosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I was looking over the internet for a cheap place to stay for a night in Perth and the Royal Hotel did the trick. Although I must say that the room I ended up in was rather on a smaller side, thinking it was lucky that I didn’t bring my cat along because I wouldn’t be able to swing it in there.
I asked for the cheapest deal and I got it, (shared bathroom). The room had a basin, fridge, cupboard, TV, small desk and a chair, and lastly a single bed. A typical garret with a small dormer window. No complains. But I must admit that the room and its view over a neighbouring building’s wall were reminiscent of a starving artist’s lodgings during the depression. On a brighter side, the light bouncing of the next door’s wall in the morning was filling the room rather nicely.

If you are not fussy I would recommend to stay a night to experience what it was like staying in a hotel in Australia a few decades ago. Great staircase.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Krakonosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Excellent value for money with a great location!! stayed in a double room with ensuite, very clean and tidy with a nice olden day feel to it with all the mod cons... very friendly staff all round great, budget place to stay would definently stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I wanted a cheap single room near the station; so the Royal was very convenient for an early departure. Its an very old Victorian place of some charm with creaky stairways , narrow passages and a cosy room on the top floor. It was like an English Hotel or B+B 20 or more years ago but with modern furnishings.
Being a single room I expected it to be cosy; however the long narrow room was bigger than usual, clean and attractive.
Bering in mind this budget hotel room was $70AUD it was;t bad value; however I would have preferred and en suite. I'd stayed a few nights in a tiny backpacker room in Freo for $60AUD this was far far better.
i'd not describe it as Regal as its definitely cheap and cheerful with nice helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank peaceofangkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
Thank 457yumih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
Thank Marc01977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,391 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,644 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 531 Wellington St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing