We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to revisit the Mexican menu!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zapatas - CLOSED

Zapatas
Price range: $17 - $69
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to revisit the Mexican menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's been a few years between tacos, and we were pleasantly surprised by the fresh tasty food and friendly helpful service. My daughter and I shared a Mexican sampler for two: a great range of food, and more than enough for us. My other child had a kids meal and found it wasn't quite enough, so helped us finish our sampler :-). Husband enjoyed a combo meal. Delicious chilli con queso dip and a really good Mojito! Next time i'd go for a hotter rating though as mild for the sake of my daughter had hardly any spice to it. Kid friendly, and nice ambience sitting outside enjoying a surprisingly balmy April Perth evening. Staff excellent in responding to our queries re nuts with rue daughter's allergy, offering substitutes and conferring with the chef, without a moment's hesitation - very nice for a change. We'll be back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marymandajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

They told me to go away even though they were 2 minutes from opening and then moved me from the table I chose even though I was the only person in the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank OwenIsMyName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Far from the worst Mexican food we have had. Good vibe, pleasant place, food tasty just not spectacular. Price on some things is a bit on the high side. Certainly jot going to go hungry here with good portions. Can recommend a visit.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bblech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went here with friends for a weekend meal and didnt find the staff very friendly. Food was pretty good, cheap cocktails but the service let the restaurant down.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great Mexican and Latino Restaurant in Perth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We've dined here a few times and the atmosphere and food is always great. Staff are friendly and helpful; food amazing and drinks good. We enjoy a Caipirinha and the fajitas; and can also recommend the burritos and tacos. The restaurant always has a diverse range of people and the atmosphere is always great. I particularly like the accents of the many staff as it gives a genuiness to the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqstar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zapatas also viewed

 
East Victoria Park, Perth
South Perth, Perth
 
East Victoria Park, Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing