We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Murray Hotel Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Murray Hotel Perth
Ranked #5 of 21 Perth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another great stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Murray Street Lodge Hotel is now my number 1 choice when needing to stay in Perth. Clean accommodation, friendly staff, hot food, cold beers and free parking. Always a great place to stay. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    55
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
41
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The rooms are comfortable and well maintained. The staff could not have been more helpful, they arranged trips for guests and were always pleasant and cheerful. There is free internet access with terminal provided in the bar/restaurant area, which although being a functional sort of place served excellent draft beer (little creatures pale) and good value meals. The restaurant closes at 9:30 pm and was very welcome on the Sunday we stayed as most of the local eateries had closed for the Sabbath. The breakfast is buffet style and more than adequate. Although the hotel is on the outskirts of Perth there is an excellent municipal free bus service that runs frequently which has a stop outside the hotels main entrance.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the car park/lower level as they are adjacent to the swimming pool and smokng areas a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank putneyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I found this hotel on internet and wanted to book a hotel on Murray Street, but when I arrived just realize the location is off the town and at the end of the street. That was not a problem for me because there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel which helps my worry on the transportation issue. Room was clean and very modern with small shower and also clean. Bed was most important part for me as it was made my dreams every night with deep sleep on a very comfortable bed. Reception staff was very friendly, they served simple breakfast and i had a very tasteful and delicious meals for dinner one of the evening. The price for meal is very reasonable and value for money. I will recommend Murray Street Lodge Hotel Perth to my friend who wish to have a comfort bed and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketut Gde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are basic but clean. Bathroom was very small, but as a single business traveller it was perfectly adequate. Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The rate was reasonable for Perth, but became impressive with the inclusion of free breakfast, wi-fi access and parking. There is a bus stop at the door and a train station within easy walking distance.

It certainly wasn't luxury, but was clean and had all of the basics covered. A simple, comfortable place for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misstheground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I'm in Perth often for business and have stayed at most of the Hotels in the City:

I only stay at Muurray St Lodge now:

Best value accommodation in Perth, rooms are modern, clean, and LARGE for Perth!

Room has a fridge, free parking (!!) free breakfast which has gluten free options (gluten free cereal!) and the staff will even let you heat up your own food in the restaurant kitchen if you need to..

They also have a small jar with ear plugs in the room just in case it's not quiet enough for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Baylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
178 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the Murray hotel twice, when we transited Perth for Exmouth. The hotel is easy to get to by cab or hire car to and from the airport, which is 30 minutes away.
We had 2 days in Perth and used the free bus outside the hotel to explore the town.
We ate twice in the Hotel as we were too tired to go out again in the evening and both times the food was good. We had steak and fish and chips.
Bar prices are not expensive for Perth and the local draft beer is very tasty. I think it was called "little creatures".
The staff could not be more helpful and every one of them is a credit to the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a high room away from the pool. The pool pump is a little noisy in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustymiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a lovely week at the Murray Hotel. It is convenient for the CBD (20 minutes walk) Subiaco (15 minutes) and King's Park (20 minutes). You might think that $6 for a bottle of Corona is a little on the pricey side, but believe me this was by far the cheapest beer to be found in Perth (which thanks to the mines is now one of the most expensive cities in the world).

There are many cafes and restaurants along Hay Street which is one block away, and the Brown Fox bar is just around the corner (good beefburgers, wifi, powerpoints and comfy chairs!). The airport bus and the free city shuttle stop right outside the hotel.

The wifi is free and totally reliable (how often can you say that in most hotels?). The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff are really helpful and friendly. They have big plans for expansion and the hotel is shortly to undergo a major refit...don't let this put you off. We will certainly be back next time we are in Perth :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaharris19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murray Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murray Hotel Perth

Property: The Murray Hotel Perth
Address: 718 Murray St. | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia (Formerly Murray Street Lodge Hotel Perth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > West Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Murray Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is the smallest, family run 3 1/2 star property in Perth with excellent customer service and a "home away from home" vibe. The hotel is walking distance to Kings Park, Perth Arena, Subiaco Oval and Leederville. It's an excellent location for self-drive guests as the hotel has free parking and is positioned just off the freeway exit. The hotel is great for overnight or short 2 to 4-night breaks in Perth for both the corporate guest and families. There is a free yellow CAT bus right outside the front door taking guests into the CBD, Elizabeth Quay and city shopping districts. It's the only hotel in Perth that offers a complimentary breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Murray Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing