We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Perth CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Murray Hotel Perth
Ranked #3 of 15 Perth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I'm in Perth often for business and have stayed at most of the Hotels in the City:

I only stay at Muurray St Lodge now:

Best value accommodation in Perth, rooms are modern, clean, and LARGE for Perth!

Room has a fridge, free parking (!!) free breakfast which has gluten free options (gluten free cereal!) and the staff will even let you heat up your own food in the restaurant kitchen if you need to..

They also have a small jar with ear plugs in the room just in case it's not quiet enough for you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Baylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for The Murray Hotel Perth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the Murray hotel twice, when we transited Perth for Exmouth. The hotel is easy to get to by cab or hire car to and from the airport, which is 30 minutes away.
We had 2 days in Perth and used the free bus outside the hotel to explore the town.
We ate twice in the Hotel as we were too tired to go out again in the evening and both times the food was good. We had steak and fish and chips.
Bar prices are not expensive for Perth and the local draft beer is very tasty. I think it was called "little creatures".
The staff could not be more helpful and every one of them is a credit to the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a high room away from the pool. The pool pump is a little noisy in the evening.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dustymiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a lovely week at the Murray Hotel. It is convenient for the CBD (20 minutes walk) Subiaco (15 minutes) and King's Park (20 minutes). You might think that $6 for a bottle of Corona is a little on the pricey side, but believe me this was by far the cheapest beer to be found in Perth (which thanks to the mines is now one of the most expensive cities in the world).

There are many cafes and restaurants along Hay Street which is one block away, and the Brown Fox bar is just around the corner (good beefburgers, wifi, powerpoints and comfy chairs!). The airport bus and the free city shuttle stop right outside the hotel.

The wifi is free and totally reliable (how often can you say that in most hotels?). The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff are really helpful and friendly. They have big plans for expansion and the hotel is shortly to undergo a major refit...don't let this put you off. We will certainly be back next time we are in Perth :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaharris19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Gordon and Moira Stewart's stay from Wednesday, 13 February 2013 to Tuesday, 5 March 2013

May we thank all staff concerned with our stay above.

You made our stay most enjoyable. We were allocated room 38 which because of our long stay became our “wee hoose” (ask Kay if a translation is needed). It was an ideal size and well suited our needs and was in a good part of the hotel for easy access to stairs linking us to the pool and outside facilities. My wife especially enjoyed your pool and sunbathing on your loungers.

Your breakfast was excellent. The pancake machine was a really nice touch.

We were impressed by all your reception staff with there suggestions on where and what we could do in the Perth area.

If we ever come back to Perth we would definitely stay at the Murray.

Good luck with your improvement plans.

Gordon and Moira Stewart
Scotland

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

There was one night to stay in these interesting but pricey city Perth.
Arrived on the Prospector train from Kalgoorlie at East Perth station, connected on the free local train for Perth station and further by bus to the hotel. A room on the top floor was requested by mail.
A really nice welcome at the desk from a young woman. A room on the second floor was prepared for us without a minute to wait during check-in.
This is an old building, recently refurbished and established with new furniture.
Everything clean and the room really spacious.
The free city bus concept is for sure a good idea and works well for us here in Perth.
A good nights sleep, no noise from the surroundings.
Wifi was free and works with a good connection in the room.
Breakfast was included in our rate, buffet style and another one of these pancake machines on offer, really good.
Also no time to wait during check-out. A nice bye-bye from the woman at the desk and further on by the local bus 37 for the domestic terminal ready to go for some more flights.
The usual question for the downsides?: A little bit more space around the bathroom should be nice!.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

It doesn't look like much as you pull up outside but its a place of politeness, inefficiency and friendliness. We spent five nights there and ate quite a few meals from the room service. I enjoyed the food . It wasnt gourmet but it hit the spot. I like the side salads served with the meals. The room was great and the free wifi is a lovely addition since I have been to other posh hotels were u have to pay for it. The bathroom is small but the clean and neat. The room has what u would need to have a comfortable stay. The breakfast was simple but had variety. I enjoyed the pancakes.

The staff were brilliant. Always willing to help. I forgot a whole drawer of things with one very expensive item. It was all packed and sent to an address that i provided. They even called around for options to get it to me quick and cheap.I really appreciate this ! My husband also arrived late and the receptionist stayed a little late to let him in and her boyfriend help carry up his heavy bags. Very sweet.

I felt at home at the lodge. It was always busy so I guess others like it just as much as we did . Keep up the good work and should I pass by again I will definitely check in :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeddypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Covered all our basic needs, staff were friendly and the room was very clean.
We travelled from south of Bunbury to see Paul Kelly & Neil Finn in concert at Kings park and only stayed overnight - free parking is also a plus.
Great base for events in the city as the free cat bus stops at the front door.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor which was a family room, it had a king bed and single bed.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestOzBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,592 reviews
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Mercure Perth
#24 of 65 in Perth
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 65 in Perth
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murray Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murray Hotel Perth

Address: 718 Murray St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia (Formerly Murray Street Lodge Hotel Perth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > West Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range: $91 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Murray Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is the smallest, family run 3 1/2 star property in Perth with excellent customer service and a "home away from home" vibe. The hotel is walking distance to Kings Park, Perth Arena, Subiaco Oval and Leederville. It's an excellent location for self-drive guests as the hotel has free parking and is positioned just off the freeway exit. The hotel is great for overnight or short 2 to 4-night breaks in Perth for both the corporate guest and families. There is a free yellow CAT bus right outside the front door taking guests into the CBD, Elizabeth Quay and city shopping districts. It's the only hotel in Perth that offers a complimentary breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Murray Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing