We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have to stay here when in Perth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Murray Hotel Perth
Ranked #5 of 21 Perth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You have to stay here when in Perth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is excellent in every way. The Staff, the rooms, free city bus outside. All the things you need for a stay in Perth. Just outside the City which is preferable anyway. Free carpark. Staff will help on anything you need.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGGIE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    55
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
41
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was very impressed with the friendliness of all the staff here. They really made me feel at home after a long journey. The room was lovely with a huge king size bed and was all spotlessly clean and decorated in black and white. There was a great selection of tea and coffee plus biscuits and they provided me with some fresh milk for tea which was great. There was a fridge in my room which was useful. It was very quiet inside even though it's on a main road.

I got a shuttle bus there from Perth airport and it was easy to arrange this and only took about 45 mins for the journey (mid afternoon).

There was free wi-fi which I found very useful. Breakfast was fairly basic (cereals and toast, instant coffee) but more than adequate. The yellow CAT bus (free) stops right outside which is useful for getting into town. Walking back from the centre of Perth takes approx 30-35 mins (uphill at the end!) Walking to one corner of King's Park takes a good 10 mins.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so depending on suitcase and mobility you might want to ask for a room on a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked this hotel as a place to stay whilst visiting Perth one of the major point is that the Airport connection bus drops you right to the door. I can take up to 1hr to 2hr depending on traffic in Perth city center. The Hotel is very Basic and is in the style of a block of flats. Check in was very welcoming and smooth. We were on the 4th floor ( No Lift ) the stairs are t the end of the corridor. The room was large and spacious and well equipped. with the largest amount of teas and coffees I have seen in a room. The Bathroom was small but functional. Breakfast was good selection of cereal and toast and a new pancake maker which made a nice change but don't expect cooked ( This is not a criticism )
The staff were so friendly and help full we felt at home. the hotel has a small outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Use the free busses ( These finish at 19:00 time )into Perth city, The hotel is walkable from Prth W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redthecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is soooo amazing... We love this hotel.. We stayed there for 4 nights ( 24th oct -28th oct 2012). We travel with 5th yo kid..

Even the lobby was small, but the room was spacious. Our bed were king size and single size. The room was sooo clean..the bathroom also small but clean. They didnt give toothbrush and toothpaste. But next to the hotel there is a express market (coles). This hotel also give earplug coz it is very near to the junction,which i think not to crowd.
And the staffs are veryy nicee and friendly..
The yellow cat bus are in front of the hotel door, just hop on and stop in wellington station if you want to go to the city (about 10-15mnts) This bus also stop by at the harbour town
If you want to walk from hotel to wellington station, it will take about 30 minutes. And about 40 minute to the hay street mall.. Feel soo loongg? Ooh yes but fun.. :D but this hotel about 15 minutes walking to harbour town..

They want to expand the hotel in the future, so no more swimming pool

But if i travel to perth again i will stay here. I hope their performance stay like now even thei hotel growing bigger

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabobi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is a reasonable walk from the CBD plus the free yellow bus stops at the door. The hotel looks rather plain from the outside but once through the door things are quite different. The staff are so pleasant and helpful.
We arrived after a long, tiring journey and reception was very welcoming to us. The room was spotless with everything we needed.
We enjoyed the dining room - the food was fine and it was a pleasure to have the opportunity to meet other guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-and-H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
172 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

It doesnt look pretty, there is no lift, there are no scenic views, but everything else if fabulous. Wonderful, friendly staff, large clean quiet rooms, free breakfast and wifi. The Yellow Cat free bus stops right outside the front door, so getting to and from the City is easy. Great value accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

It looks yuck from the outside however rooms are very clean, comfortable and yes you can swing a cat around..I assume all rooms are similiar too mine equipped with a couple of chairs, coffee table, desk and large flat screen TV. Bathroom is however on the small side.
Free internet in the restaurant equipped with two PC's.
The huge kingsize bed is the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time in an hotel.
Staff are super friendly and so helpful.
Free breakfast is included in rate, cereal, toast and tinned fruit.
Its a good location with the free bus service outside and has plenty of parking, the front parking is quite tight however there is more parking at the back and its free.
Small pool and deck area at the back to relax if you want to catch a bit of sun.

Drawbacks are the stairs approximately 40 if your room is on the top floor and you enter the building from the rear carpark.
Restaurant menu is yuck with basically everything frozen and microwaved. There are some great places to eat though within a few blocks.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the same level as reception can be a bit noisy at certain times and also the top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#34 of 81 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murray Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murray Hotel Perth

Property: The Murray Hotel Perth
Address: 718 Murray St. | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia (Formerly Murray Street Lodge Hotel Perth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > West Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Murray Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is the smallest, family run 3 1/2 star property in Perth with excellent customer service and a "home away from home" vibe. The hotel is walking distance to Kings Park, Perth Arena, Subiaco Oval and Leederville. It's an excellent location for self-drive guests as the hotel has free parking and is positioned just off the freeway exit. The hotel is great for overnight or short 2 to 4-night breaks in Perth for both the corporate guest and families. There is a free yellow CAT bus right outside the front door taking guests into the CBD, Elizabeth Quay and city shopping districts. It's the only hotel in Perth that offers a complimentary breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Murray Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing