We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and service in WA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Murray Hotel Perth
Ranked #2 of 16 Perth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Arrived at the Murray on a cold Perth night to a warm welcome after a long flight. Don't be fooled by the 70s look of the exterior as inside it's modern and clean and has everything you would expect from a high quality motel room. Location is fantastic with loads of eating and coffee places within a blocks walk plus it has free buses that pull up right outside the front doors. Breakfast included is a great deal, good choice of cereals, nice bread selection and tea and coffee avail in lobby bar/ rest all day. The have a small menu for bar type meals we didnt try it but it was reasonably priced for perth and had tasty looking meals on it. We stayed in July and it was cold at night but rooms are toasty with fantastic quality bedding. Beds are amzingly comfy! Kings park is 5 mins walk away. Staff are fantastic, friendly, professional and very helpful. If you book and have trouble with stairs request a lower floor as there are three levels and no lift. Was a bit of a mission dragging up luggage to top floor but the lovely kiwi who worked there helped me with one of my bags! Outlooks from room are typically urban but all other details make up for this - I will definitely be back next time I am thru Perth.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Toddkelly33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Didn't know what to expect but Murray Street was great! Huge room with all amenities of laundry room across the corridor. Really handy for transport as the Yellow CAT bus (free service) runs every minutes from the doorstep to Perth City Centre and connects with the trains. Don't expect cooked breakfast - its quick and easy cereal and toast with juices and coffee - but clean, friendly and fresh. There is a small pool to the rear. It's a quiet location, parks just down the street and easy for local shops. Would stay there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniBolloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is my second stay at the Murray Hotel and it was as good as the first. The reception staff are all very helpful and friendly and made my stay a pleasure. No question was too silly and no request too large or too small. Everyone went out of their way to help.

The room was immaculately clean as was the bathroom which though tiny, was perfectly adequate for one person to be in at a time. The towels were very clean and absorbent and were changed daily during my 5 day stay.

The king size bed was very very comfortable, not too firm nor too soft. The linen was crisp and white and clean and it was my choice whether to have it changed daily or just pulled up. The little open hanging area had plenty of clothes hangers as well as a handy iron and ironing board. The coffee and tea was adequately supplied and topped up on request with no problems.

The room service was quick and reasonably priced and the food was very nice. We had the fish and chips and salad 4 nights running we enjoyed it so much! Each serving came with 2 piping hot crispy battered pieces of fish, a mountain of chips and lovely mixed salad and tartare sauce. Delicious!

We enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to staying here again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - it is quiet and clean, has the CAT bus at the door and the staff are welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

On my visits to Perth I often only need a room for a couple of nights. This is the first time that I have stayed at the Murray Hotel on the corner of Murray and Thomas Street. Although I could book on line I rang the Hotel direct and spoke with Lisa, who was able to answer all my questions and I then made the booking over the telephone. On arrival we were also greeted by Lisa who was exceptionally friendly and helpful and gave me the fully run down of the hotel facilities. The rooms are as shown in the picture. Basic but very clean and comfortable. The shower room was small and basic BUT there was plenty of hot water and clean towels. Everything from the room. bathroom, entrance, bar and eating area, car parking etc was clean and was thoroughly clean and well maintained. In the room there was plenty of tea and coffee provided, there was also a flat screen TV and a hair drier. The other bonus was that there was free parking. The two meals that my guest and I had in the bar/eating area were delicious. I had steak with chips and salad and it was beautifully cooked. Any questions or concerns were addressed very quickly. As the hotel is on a corner of a busy road there is some traffic notice. Having travelled to many capital cities this would be expected. I found that b y 10am the traffic noise was very minimal and that the hotel provide great quality (not just basic cheap versions) ear plugs. Yes I heard some noise from the people in the room above me, and from the traffic, but this is not uncommon. If you are looking for clean, secure, reasonably prices basic accommodation then I would recommend this hotel to you.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in had a king bed and single bed so would be ideal for a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Busselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Murray Street Hotel was an excellent choice for a few days stay in Perth. The rooms were very generous size and immaculately clean. The staff extremely pleasant and helpful and although the hotel is older it is very well maintained. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay near the CBD without having to pay CBD prices, the free CAT bus stops right outside the door. Excellent semi budget hotel !!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I live in the City of Perth. If you have ever seen the programme 'Deadwood' then you need to imagine a modern day version. This is it. I like a drink like the best of 'em, but this is full on drunken, ugly boom town stuff. Avoid. Go to Melbourne if you must. ....and this is from a sandgroper. Red Neck City? Yep. If that rattles your cage, then go for the over priced, Mining Owned (Mr.Burns from the Simpsons ain't in it) place. Go directly to Margaret River or Exmouth - where the beauty of Australia still lives.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank notouristattirepleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This Hotel used to be called Murray Street Lodge,but is now named,The Murray Hotel.
It is situated opposite the Princess Margaret Hospital in west Perth. It offers clean, affordable, basic accommodation for those travellers who want to be relatively close to the main shopping areas of Perth City.It is within walking distance of the Murray & Hay streets shopping areas but has the advantage of having a CAT Bus stop right outside the door of the hotel.
When I say walking distance I mean about 1.5 Kilometres. The CAT Bus is a free bus service which carries passengers around the CBD. There are 3 colour coded bus routes which cover virtually all of the main tourist attractions in the main city area.
The hotel is basic but it is probably one of the cheapest of hotels close to the CBD.The rooms come equipped with the basic essentials that budget travellers have come to expect, such as fridge, tea & coffee making facilities(with a stack of coffee & tea bag sachets on hand), iron, hairdryer & FREE WIFI!!
There is also a small pool in which you may cool off after a hard days shopping. The breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was basically corn flakes, toast, fruit & yoghurt, orange juice & tea or coffee; enough to get you going for the day.
Staff are very friendly & informative about the area in which they live & work. They could not do enough for us & for this I commend them. It is so nice to arrive at a hotel to be greeted by people who genuinely care about their customers but then this is what small hotels are all about. We had been to a sporting event on the Saturday afternoon & evening & arrived back at the hotel just before 9pm. Our hostess asked if we had eaten & told us that if we wanted they would keep the grill fired up so that we could order from room service, should we so desire. We did & the meal when it arrived was basic but nice & pleasantly cheap.
This hotel is a good choice for those travellers from the regions of Western Australia who want to stay in the city for a few days & who need a no frills sort of place to stay.
If I would make a criticism it would be about the size of the bathrooms which were TINY!! This however is not the fault of the owners but the person who designed the building in the first place. Having said that, the hot water was always hot & the towels etc were clean. I would recommend this hotel to those on a budget who dont expect nor wish to be fawned over. It is basic, friendly & close enough to the action without being on top of it. I might also point out that as it is located on a busy main road & the building itself is only about 5 stories tall, there is a certain amount of traffic noise. For the comfort of their guests the operators of this establishment even provided earplugs. For those who travel from the outer reaches of WA by car there is ample FREE parking which is a bonus.

Room Tip: Towards the back is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DougFromAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,348 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,385 reviews
Mercure Perth
#26 of 66 in Perth
1,907 reviews
Miss Maud Hotel
#10 of 66 in Perth
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murray Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murray Hotel Perth

Address: 718 Murray St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia (Formerly Murray Street Lodge Hotel Perth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > West Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range: $91 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Murray Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is the smallest, family run 3 1/2 star property in Perth with excellent customer service and a "home away from home" vibe. The hotel is walking distance to Kings Park, Perth Arena, Subiaco Oval and Leederville. It's an excellent location for self-drive guests as the hotel has free parking and is positioned just off the freeway exit. The hotel is great for overnight or short 2 to 4-night breaks in Perth for both the corporate guest and families. There is a free yellow CAT bus right outside the front door taking guests into the CBD, Elizabeth Quay and city shopping districts. It's the only hotel in Perth that offers a complimentary breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Murray Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing