We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly but a bit disappointing”
Review of Pension Of Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Of Perth
Ranked #8 of 15 Perth B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night and the welcoming by Hoon was very friendly though a bit chaotic, probably caused by the fact that her husband was abroad so that she had to manage everything by her own.
The room was a bit old fashioned as was the airco system.The beds were good, though and we had a nice sleep. Restaurants are close by although most of them were very basic and/or of the "fast-food" type. The B&B was in a nice residential area close to the beautiful Hyde park but a bit too far from the centre of Perth.
We found the B&B somewhat overprized but on the other hand we had a lot of laundry do0ne for 5$ only.
Finally I agree on the comments made concerning the breakfast: very basic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank harrielux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Pension Of Perth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We found ourselves at Pension of Perth after another B'n'B 'lost' our booking and thank goodness. Hoon is delightful and has perfected the breakfast poached egg. We stayed in the Champagne Room and found it well decorated and tidy with a comfy bed. A leisurely walk into town will take you to some phenomenally tasty and cheap Chinese food (ask Hoon which restaurant is best). When next we travel to Perth we'll be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I travel for Buisness and found the French theme establishment quite and homely. Hoon and Steve are very nice people and the continental breakfast was just perfect. The park across the road made exercising so easy, could run and walk in a beautiful park, restaurants a five minute walk up the road. Couldn't fault the location for airport, food and hospitality. Hoon and Steve are very warm and friendly with there service and looking forward to my next stay with them which is on a 12 week cycle. Personally I wouldn't stay anywhere else makes business not so clinical. Highly Recommended. See you guys soon !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Visitors from the UK will find Australia expensive and, I'm told, Australians find Perth expensive. With our budget in mind and a 4-night stopover planned we opted for the Pension based on its previous reviews and the 'reasonable' price of 165 dollars per night. We stayed in the Champage Room. First the good points. Excellent, firm, king-size bed. Excellent, hot shower. Continental breakfast adequate. Friendly and helpful hosts, PC in the dining room with free internet access for research and on-line booking for flights etc. Good, quiet, location opposite a park and being about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Perth and 10/15 minutes to the nearest Blue CAT (free) bus service. The area of Northbridge with its many eating places is situated between the Pension and centre of Perth so a good place to eat either on the way back in the early evening or to go back out to after changing.
Now the bad points. The bedroom did not have an external window for natural light or ventilation (something that would breach building regulations in the UK). The shower room appeared to have been tagged on in an extension where the external window/door would have been meaning the only light and ventilation to the bedroom was 'borrowed' from the shower room. Staying for 4 nights we were surprised that neither the towels were changed at some point nor the toiletries replenished. And lastly whilst the room was superficially clean the cobwebs in the corners and on the centre light fitting and dust on the bed frame meant it had not had a proper clean for a while.
Last year we toured the Great Ocean Road and the Pacific Highway and stayed in some fabulous B&Bs at the same price as or less than the Pension so it was a disappointing comparison.

Room Tip: Would not recommend the Champagne Room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed one night with Steve on our recent trip to Western Australia. Just what we needed after a long flight. Spacious room, free wi-fi and the breakfast set us up nicely on our drive. Sorry we couldn't say good-bye Steve, you weren't there when we returned after picking up our rental car!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddyPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Pension of Perth was an affordable and comfortable home away from home, situated next to beautiful Hyde Park and providing easy access to Northbridge and the Perth city centre. Steve and Hoon were friendly, accommodating and helpful hosts, breakfast was enjoyable and the front room I had in the large house converted to a bed and breakfast was spacious and private—with polished boards and a sense of relaxed privacy. The bed was comfortable and the shower hot (the bathroom is smallish but everything in it worked well). Arriving back there every evening and entering the cool house after busy summer days was a real relief.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at Pension of Perth with Steve and Hoon for 3 days in September, and I have not met such wonderful and accomodating hosts, in such a lovely home and great location. The Pension is located approx 15 mins stroll from the Northern side of Perth city - great for the nightlife at Northbridge or the main Arts/State Library precincts. Both Steve and Hoon had brilliant breakfasts and the bedrooms had charm and character. I really appreciate also their very warm personal reception, something that is not always evident in B+B's. This is the first ever review I've given for accommodation and am an extensive traveller...so Pension of Perth must be very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 65 in Perth
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 65 in Perth
321 reviews
Mercure Perth
#24 of 65 in Perth
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Of Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Of Perth

Address: 3 Throssell St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range: $106 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pension Of Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Pension of Perth" at 3 Throssell Street, Perth offers bed & breakfast accommodation for visitors to Perth. "Pension of Perth" is a true Federation tuck-pointed home (circa 1897) overlooking historic Hyde Park, one of Perth's most beautiful landmarks. The home is in a quiet, peaceful location and offers the utmost for those seeking luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in Perth.Our home is decorated to reflect the beautiful French provincial style. Each spacious bedroom has a private ensuite, colour television, climate control air-conditioning summer and winter. One of the rooms has a spa bath. We aim to ensure that while our homes are old, our facilities are second to none, each room offers an air of 'understated elegance'. All our bed & breakfast accommodation guests enjoy a first class breakfast each morning which can be taken on the front verandah looking on to the park or in the dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Pension Of Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing