We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smells of Urine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Lodge Backpackers/ Perth City Apartments
Ranked #19 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Preth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smells of Urine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place is a disgrace.The room smell was disgusting.The bathroom sink in our double room looked like someone had just got sick i n it.The Toilet was filthy.We had to go down to the supermarket to get cleaner to kill the smell and clean the toilet.The Kitchenette looked like it had not been cleaned in months.Don`t be fooled by the photos as the walls were filthy too.Paint was peeling off the ceiling and to top it off i was covered in bites in the morning.(Bed Bugs i would say) Altogether i would say a visit from the health inspector will see this place closed down.,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
17
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kota kinabalu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Nice place to stay. We can do the laundry but the backyard of the building was quite dark at night. No light at all. The refrigerator was not cleaned when we check in in the family room. There's no curtain in the bathroom.But the place was very safe. Had enjoyed our stay there. Very near to the blue cat bus station, Cole supermarket and mc donald. Max was wonderful but the lady wasn't very friendly. Nevertheless, she makes sure our transport to the airport was ok. Will be staying there again if we travel to Perth in the near future. Thanks Max,for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janekkKotaKinabalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

The landlady is only there to give you the keys or collect the money. So when we arrived we stayed in front of locked doors and needed to call her by phone and wait. The room were okay. We get a new renovated one, so the bathroom was clean -more or less. But we never saw the kettle, which the landlady committed us. The shared kitchen was very disgusting and full of rubbish. People were sleeping in the sitting room. Advice: Never store your luggage, after check out! When we wanted to move away, there was no one to give out. After a couple of phonecalls and a long time of waiting in front of locked doors, a "friend"(?) of the owner appears, abuse and shouting to us, while we could take our backpacks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auszeitwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for 4 nights, the hostel is very dirty, no service. the owner is very rude and constantly asks for money! Tried to cheat us by making us pay for a night already paid. Shouted at and insulted us.STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOSTEL, THERE ARE A LOT BETTER!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milwicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

I stayed in North Lodge for a month and had the best time! Great location, great price and Frances and her sister are two of the most helpful, nicest people you can hope for running a hostel. It was the start of my travels and the best introduction to the start of my adventures in Australia. Great place. Not your choice if you're a Nomads/Base "flashpacker" type but if you want the craic with great people then this is where you go!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_Smith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

40 AUD for a single.
50AUD if you want an ensuite bathroom.
Nice elderly people.
Walking distance to the city centre in the heart of Northbridge - where your find many not to expensive opportunities to go out for a meal in the evenings.

Veeeery basic backbackers accomodation.

Common toilets and showers are kept clean.
Shower was cold but maybe I did not figure out the mechanism??? - was in a rush and therefore had not time to ask or to complain.
Kitchen: looks Ok, but did not use. One fridge does not work.

Room:
filthy place, filthy old carpet that has not seen a hoover for a while. Filthy armchair. Dirty mirror, dirty shelves. Room smells a little mouldy. not sure about the bed linnen. I am happy I am travelling with my own. Two bend cloth hangers dangling from the window frame.
There is a TV - I am not bothered about having a TV but if you are, this one looks like it was build in the 80s - the on/off switch has fallen off. There is a little antenna on top so you can choose between two programs. I chose to change accommodation and now stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClementineJost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Small and dingy, but budget price is OK and location, needs an upgrade.No access to internet,

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
Citylights Hotel
#65 of 124 in Greater Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Lodge Backpackers/ Perth City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Lodge Backpackers/ Perth City Apartments

Property: North Lodge Backpackers/ Perth City Apartments
Address: 225 Beaufort St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Northlodge Perth City Apartments & Rooms)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Lodge offers safe, quality and quiet budget accommodation. We are a small hostel with a quiet, restful atmosphere for travellers. We are not a party hostel. North Lodge is situated about 5 - 10 minutes walk from the center of Perth City and is close to all of the major public transport facilities. We have a range of different types of rooms from dormitory accommodation, double and single rooms to apartments with ensuite facilities. The usual configuration of our self-contained apartment rooms is one double bed and 1 or more single beds, so some are able to cater for up to 4 people. Most of our self-contained rooms that have ensuite facilities also have a microwave, TV, toaster, kettle and small fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your North Lodge Backpackers/ Perth City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lodge Backpackers/Perth City Appartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing