We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captain Cook cruise to Fremantle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan River

Swan River
Book In Advance
More Info
$131.08*
and up
Swan Valley Wine Cruise from Perth
Ranked #3 of 182 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perth's favourite playground, the Swan River is a stunning waterway which winds its way from the Darling Scarp to Fremantle. This natural attraction is popular location for Perth locals and visitors to enjoy a day out boating, fishing, skiing, paddling, swimming, picnicking or simply enjoying its vista.Rich in environmental and cultural values, the Swan River was named Derbal Yerrigan by the local Aboriginals who believe that the river was created by the rainbow serpent ‘Waugal’, a dreamtime spirit taking the form of a giant snake. It is believed that the Waugal created creeks, waterholes, lakes and valleys on its journey to the ocean.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Captain Cook cruise to Fremantle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went in a Captain Cook cruise to Fremantle and back to Perth. We had a good time and it was good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,366
    709
    82
    15
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Have a ride along the river.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you love the nature, love cycling, take some times off your itinerary and cycle along the swan river. You can get a bike hire just near the corner of Heirisson island.

If you're luckily enough, you would be able to see dolphin in the river. I did. :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hui Ying O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great drive up the Swan Valley, we visited Houghtons and were brilliant looked after, then Ducksteins Brewery for lunch, the Cheese Barrel, Morish Nuts and Nougat place....all brilliant. Oh and don't miss Guilford on the way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful river - one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We did a River Cruise from Perth to Fremantle and thoroughly enjoyed it. The scenery and commentary was fantastic and the Ferrys were very comfortable and good for taking photos. We even had wine tasting and free coffee!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“How lovely is this?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Having never been here before, fascinated by this endless river and its charm. I had participated in a community run on Sunday, but dawdled about taking photos on an almost perfect day. My sorrow is that I did not have the time to take a boat trip up it - that looked like a grand idea. So - next time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaGordonSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan River also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Swan River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing