We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Light Tasty Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balti

Balti
Ranked #37 of 1,645 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Perth
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Light Tasty Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stopped at the Balti for a light lunch during our day seeing the sights of Perth (as it is not far from the Perth Mint) and were not disappointed.The Balti is modern in appearance clean and fresh, the service was adequate and the food did not disappoint. We had the Tasting Platter which was tasty and the samosa's were excellent. We were offered water on arrival, it was topped up during our stay and we were not pressed to order anything more which was nice. Would go back if we are in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bunnyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    113
    36
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Typical Indian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Handy for the hotels and city and looks OK the food was average but a bit expensive. Certainly they put some bite into the curry unlike some Indians.
The fish curry was just about OK
Service was fair but not exceptional. Drinks were definitely overpriced.
Do not think I will go again as there must be better Indian Restaurants in Perth.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Paterson, Australia
Level Contributor
436 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“A great Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Pretty much my favourite Indian restaurant in Perth this place is well located near a slew of hotels (Ambassador, Travel Lodge, Goodearth among others) and has lovely décor, attentive service and delicious food. Those with a penchant for really hot curries would perhaps be better off heading across the road to Spices but for your average punter this is the bees knees of Perth Indian. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Somewhere between Perth and India”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Food was good, some of the better Indian food outside of India (and Singapore lah!) we have tasted. A good goat curry, Tandoori chicken, nice fish and a range of condiments, although servings were moderate ordering four dishes to share worked well. Service was a bit hit and miss - there was a real sense that the customers were a bit of a nuisance and not the core reason for their existence. We had to get the wait staff's attention three times! Guys a little bit of interest wouldn't have hurt. It was impressive that the owner came to say hello and then bussed the table himself. The place is very clean and nicely decorated and fills a hole at that end of town. Yes we would return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiggerDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service Arrogant staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

As We walked in we got the corner table i was there for my brothers birthday, i had my baby with me . staff didnt offer us baby seat untill my son fell from chair.
i had to call staff for order.
service was really slow, no one asked if we need anything else . so we waited there for naan bread but no one came, at the end i had to leave table and tell them to send some one for us.
the guy came to our table and said it will take more time in very rude manner (by that time our curries were cold already) , so he came back with naan bread and i said our curries is cold now and its too late for naam bread and please take them back as we are leaving now, the guy still left the bread at our table and walked off .
we left the table and had to pay for what we didnt eat.
it looked like the guy doesnt care about restaurant and he needs to learn customer service and not to be rude with customers.
they ruined my brothers birthday..
never coming back to this restaurant

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ujay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balti also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing