We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian”
Review of Caffe Italia

Caffe Italia
Ranked #59 of 1,390 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: East Perth
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Real Italian”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This food is superb. It is real Italian food and the vibe I too. We had pasta and it was sensational. Everything looked good. Bit or a wait to get a table but it was worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    92
    37
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“bad service again!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

yet again the service in this place sucked. my husband's pizza came 20 minutes before my pasta. When my pasta eventually arrived is was under cooked and I did not eat most of it. When the waiter cleared it, there was none of the usual 'can I wrap that up for you' or 'was everything okay'. It was just cleared away with an embarrassed scowl. After 20 minutes of waiting to be asked if we would like dessert, we left money on the table and walked out.
probably won't be going back any time soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beth75jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good spot but book first”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice meal and friendly staff. A little squeezy so not a place for romance perhaps but book because it's busy every night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank petflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Dined upon recommendation and was not disappointed with the food which was tasty and interesting (had Goat stew). Service was slow.
Once we had our main we couldn't get the waitress again so didn't bother with dessert and coffee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun but very average food and service”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited Caffe Italia as part of a large group. While the place has atmosphere (to the point of being deafening) and is clearly popular, the food was distinctly average. This is how I imagine Italian food was presented in the UK and US in about 1970, if that makes any sense - everything smothered in cream and cheese, everything heavy and gluggy.

The steaks were absolutely massive but not particularly well cooked or high quality meat. The pasta was overwhelmingly cheesy, as well as being overcooked. The starters were reasonable (especially the meatballs, which were great) but were not distributed evenly up and down the table, so some of our group missed out on one thing or another.

Service was ok - a bit slow, and a bit chaotic. For example, after specifically taking each person's order, the wait staff simply came out with random plates and yelled to us the names of dishes, asking us to tell them again what we ordered.

Overall I would be unlikely to return, there are far better options in the area, and Italian cooking (whether traditional or modern/Australian) can be much, much better than this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiggles09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Italia also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Caffe Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing