We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Location: It's in the residential part of Northbridge so it's quiet and not rowdy (people usually say Northbridge is a rough area, but we didn't encounter anything untoward). Not too far, about 10-15 minutes from Perth CBD and city shopping. Someone else has mentioned a great little cafe nearby (Le Papillon), and a park (Hyde Park, further up the road past the cafe).

Amenities: The rooms are small and smelled a little strange...my friend and I had a twin room. As far as I can tell, no room had an ensuite. There was a women's bathroom (2 toilets, 2 showers) and presumably the men's bathroom was the same. There were also 2 shared bathrooms. Very basic amenities.

Noise: They do try and limit the noise, by locking up after 10.30 pm, limiting access to the kitchen area, and requesting residents to keep the noise down. However, the carpeting can only do so much to absorb footsteps...and they really need to oil all their door hinges!

Service: No complaints about the service. The office staff was always very friendly, and when we needed a taxi, they called one for us.

Overall, we thought this was an okay place to stay as it did manage to cater for all the basic needs. (However, we did wonder: if this is one of the best backpackers in Perth, what are the other hostels like?!?).

Room Tip: If you are a poor sleeper, definitely don't go for a shared dorm as these are close to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royalbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 222 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

On a 37 degree day in the height of summer you have to ask to have the air conditioner on in the TV room, which I thought was a bit rude and penny pinching in the like. One very rude staff member by the name of Kim who has very poor customer service skills and makes you feel very unwelcome. Perhaps a smile from her would be nice. Otherwise the rest of the staff are lovely! It's in a residential area so it's quiet at night and you are able to get to sleep. Plus rowdy guests are asked to be quiet which is good. Overall fairly good.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in this lovely hostel. Thank you to Andrea, Valarie and Nia for making our stay so successful - all members of staff in this well-run, very clean hostel. We had room 13 which was a twin bedded small room with shared bathroom. Kitchen area well equipped and kept clean and tidy. The BBQ area in the large courtyard is a great meeting place to share experiences with fellow travellers and as the hostel is situated in a very residential area, there is a 10pm curfew on outside space, so hostel very quiet at night. Close to lovely coffee shop Le Papillon for breakfast and 10 mins walk into town for lots of bistros and entertainment.

Room Tip: Rooms air-conditioned only at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

the friendly staff took good care of us travelling with a baby; nice courtyard and quiet location 10 min per pedes away from northbridge bar/restaurant area and a bit further to the cbd; clean facilities; aircon in the small but acceptable rooms only at night time but all day long in the big community room - and the courtyard offers shade and a fan. a spot you can enjoy life in, a well run hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRISTOPH s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Not a bad stay, there is clean and comfortable accommodation. No free wifi includrd, the rooms are basic and staff not too friendly. But there are nice communal areas with outside space and decent location.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JohnnyGarethPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is really a brilliant hostel, me an my brother (20 and 21) are out from Liverpool and had stayed in a few hostels before this, this is by far the best.. The staff are fantastic, because they don't feel like staff, there more friends than anything (Gemma, nia) and management was also great (anthea), we made some really good friends here an though we've moved on we both miss it. I've read other reviews and a couple mention about it being like a family feel and it's a good way to describe it, it feels more like a big house share with good friends rather than a hostel with strangers. Great location, clean, lots of space, great atmosphere, couldn't ask much more from a hostel.. I've read quite a few reviews on here an people have been complaining about staff here even while I was staying here, this is a hostel not a hotel if you respect the staff they will respect you and do the utmost to help as we found while we were there.. Would go back to stay in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FryerLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I spent most of my time in Perth at the Witch's Hat. A fantastic hostel, clean, quiet, it seems to live in within little family. Particularly kitchen was always clean and tidy. Staff always ready to help for anything regarding the hostel and more. The Weekend Manager, Valeria was available and welcoming, always smiling and careful to the customer's needs. Really competent the rest of the staff. Also a big thank you Anthea, Nia, Gemma and the cleanings girls. The only downside is the two weeks maximum stay policy.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 1 and room number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMan133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,358 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,290 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 55 in Perth
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel

Address: 148 Palmerston St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range: $18 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel is a beautifully restored 4-star, backpacker accommodation and travellers hostel located close to Perth's shopping, dining and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witch`s Hat Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing