We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Place in OZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“First Place in OZ”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was the first hostel that i stayed in when coming to Oz and it was actually recommend to me by a friend who now lives Perth and i'm so glad that i chose this hostel to stay in. Firstly value for money defiantly!! $33, I've stay in a lot of hostels for roughly the same money and this one is so clean, rooms clean, lockers, bathrooms best that I've used in oz, great common rooms. Secondly the feel of the place chilled, relaxed and very homely also such a great vibe it just makes you wanna get up and enjoy every day!!!! and last but not least the staff again amazing!! makes you feel so welcomed, as helpful as anyone can be to whoever you are and such a great laugh and when the staff are that good it always makes the hostel that much better as well. I've made some amazing new friends since I've stay here and also friends for life!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney_K211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    70
    20
    18
    3
See reviews for
5
41
102
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is one of the better hostels I've stayed in anywhere in Australia... and I've stayed in a few! I booked this at the last minute, and was not disappointed. Clean, tidy and with a really good vibe and a great location, can't really ask for more! The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The manager Sky was nice, friendly and helpful and the coffee shop up the road is nice. The hostel offers a range of social events and their BBQ night are well worth it! It's a shame they shut the common room at 10pm, because I was having a great time! But all in all, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unknown
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

You can get to this place taking the airport shuttle bus.

We arrived late, but informed the owners in advance, so no issues there.

There was a curfew, but we were awaken by some people stomping around in the corridor.

Overall, a great experience if not for some inconsiderate guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayellearezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed at the hat for a week in may and i just loved it. The staff were friendly and amazing and the rooms and facilities are the cleanest if any of the previous hostels i've stayed in. On friday night there was a free BBQ with an adventure tours speaker who gave out bottles of wine :) My overall stay was awesome and the atmosphere was brilliant. Definatly a hostel i will be returing to in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I Have stayed in a few different rooms on and off while i have been in perth. The first room i stayed in was a twin room, of which i have stayed in 5 different twin rooms, the standard of cleanliness is very good, the size of the room is also very good for a two bed room, the beds are very comfortable and there are plenty of hangers and storage space provided.

The next room was the 8 bed dorm, again i found this to have a good standard of cleanliness on a whole, room is cleaned regularly as it is a shared room, lockers are provided to store your valuable goods, it is also a very large room with plenty of space so that you don't feel crammed in, good quality of bunk beds unlike other hostels i have been too, and great value for money for the standards of accommodation that you receive!

I also stayed in a 3 bed dorm, which was very nice, this consists of a single and a bunk bed it has all the same storage, hangers, room size and comfortable beds as the twin room and it is also of great value!

All in all i would say that this is the best hostel i have stayed in, in perth as it is the cleanest, most friendly, has good facilities and super helpful management, especially the main manager sky who has been exceptionally helpful over may last couple of visits, and i have noticed more improvements to the facilities and hostel in general since she has been working there. She always seems to be trying to improve the hostel live for all! There is a great communal sitting area in a really homely feeling court yard, it has 4 large tables for people to enjoy their meals in the sun or under shade, there is also a vending machine which you get a variety of drinks and snacks all served chilled. All of the bathrooms are cleaned everyday, and so are at the highest level of cleanliness, showers are really good, they are very easy to find steady temperature, which is unlike over hostels i have stayed in. The communal TV room is very nice has a wide range of seats, there is also a nintendo wii for people to use swell as dvd's available to watch. they also have a few computers in the TV room which are unto date and i have experienced no problems with ay of them. They also hold a free BBQ for people staying in the hostel once a week which is great as it really promotes a good community spirit which is a very different die to any other hostel i have experienced!

The location is brilliant, it is situated only 10 minutes watch to the city centre, of 5 minutes walk into Northbridge town which has a wide variety of places to eat and some great places to drink in the evenings! There are also a few parks around the hostel which are very nice to visit, and the park opposite the hostel even has tennis courts which are open until a reasonable hour.

I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone of any age looking to stay in the perth area, it is by far the best hostel i have stayed in here, and i will be returning again, thank you to the staff who made it a absolute pleasure to stay there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huw l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This review is for the double room only, stayed in the double room for a week, but not the dorm.

The location is great, only 5 minutes drive to city center, and it is near Northbridge chinese area where you still can get nice food at night.

The room is not very big, but quite clean. No bed bugs and bad smell, very comfortable for couple to stay in the double room.

Staff are friendly and helpful, especially a lady who checked us in named SKY. A rack with lots of travel informations, maps, and leaflets is available in the hostel. Felt so cozy and homy by the time we first stepped in.

Kitchen is also very good, cookware are complete, clean, and easy to use.

Night time around 7-10pm are quite noisy, people will gathered in the kitchen yard to eat, drink, and sing, almost every night. Not very comfortable if you plan to sleep early.
But they really follow the 10pm house rule, the party will end and the yard will close at 10pm sharp.

Overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are without toilet, so choose a room which is close to the shared toilet will be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingCheong_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I would just like to say that having stopped in the Hat from the start of Jan to around 20th Jan I had the best time and found the hostel to be clean, friendly and fun without being too in your face. There was a good mixture of age ranges as well most from mid twenties to early thirties which was great and it was so easy to make friends.
Yes its a bit more expensive than others but you get what you pay for and yes there is deposit for your plate etc and key but you get this all back, I didnt see a problem with it and they put a bbq on every sunday called the sausage sizzle! If you are wanting help with booking trips or just advice in general of where to go in Perth the management and other long standing residents are only too happy to help. Location wise its just a short walk into town or you can get the blue cat buses which are a really good service.
I came out on my own to Australia as a lot of people do and was nervous at first of staying in a hostel not knowing anybody but there is really no worries with anything to do with Hat, I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this to anybody and when I get back to WA booking in at the Hat will be the first thing I do.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffins_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 51 in Perth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
East Perth
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel

Property: Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel
Address: 148 Palmerston St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel is a beautifully restored 4-star, backpacker accommodation and travellers hostel located close to Perth's shopping, dining and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witch`s Hat Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing