We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali Hai Calls You”
Review of Bali Hai Cafe

Bali Hai Cafe
Ranked #20 of 73 Restaurants in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A relaxed fine dining experience incorporating East Asian flavours interspersed with some Western cuisine. Our emphasis is on the guest and their enjoyment at Bali Hai Café. Fresh locally sourced food prepared by our chefs is complimented beautifully by our wine list. We also have a fully stocked bar for those wanting something else.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bali Hai Calls You”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a recently re-opened restaurant in the Bali Hair Resort with impressive kitchen, friendly service and relaxing design features (including the lights in cane Asian bird cages).
We were served a complimentary verrine of pea and chorizo soup – delicious.
I continued with the Asian theme and ordered a Nasi Goring, the pork belly was also excellent.
A picturesque pavlova completed the meal.
Remember to BYO and note this venue is closed on Mondays.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BVOS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    48
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Brand new restaurant in Broome”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This restaurant has only been open for three weeks, but it is already showing great promise. The service was great and the staff warm and friendly. We had a really good scallop and mushroom risotto to start with followed by a crisply skin barramundi as a main course. It was BYO, so we took a bottle of Yalumba Pinot Grigot from South Australia. The restaurant is hoping to get its liquor licence soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb fresh food for lunch!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We (wife, me & 2 kids) visited this fantastic cafe for lunch. A sunny, warm day was the perfect match to sit outside on the decking and enjoy the relaxed, casual ambience generated by this new establishment. The staff were very welcoming and relaxed and immediately made us feel at ease - especially with 2 small children in tow! A perusal of the menu revealed meals that screamed freshness and originality. My wife and I ordered a salad each - and we were not disappointed! Fresh prawn salad with mango and avocado for her and a scallop salad with a zing created from chillis grown on site (on special) for me. Both were generous in size, very fresh and absolutely perfect for what we were after. The kids were happy too, with sumptuous chicken tenderloins and hand cut chips presented to them - yum! We had a lovely interlude here and we will be back while in Broome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Both the food and the service were excellent! We planned on eating there once during our visit - we didn't end up going elsewhere in the evenings. Everything we tried was superb and perfectly cooked, the staff were all friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere of the venue was fantastic. There were a couple of little extras that added so much to the dining experience - an appetiser as you were selecting off the menu and a meringue or macaron with every coffee. Small touches, but ones that raised the bar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bali Hai Restaurant”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Lots of talk around the opening of this restaurant.
Have to say I wasn't disappointed. One meal was on the small side, but the wait staff told us this, so they have obviously taken on board others comments.

Great food.
Great atmosphere.
Great staff.

    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnatheDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Hai Cafe also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Bali Hai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing