We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical bliss with a really friendly host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Courthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Broome B&B and Inns
Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tropical bliss with a really friendly host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Loved this place. We were met by Shane (the proprietor) at the airport, and he gave us a quick ride around town. Our room was very comfortable, though our favorite bit was the patio and pool area. Great place to hang out during the high heat of the day. Breakfast was excellent, and we were even able to have continental on the day we left at 5:30am. Close to town and to the bus going out to Cable Beach. We'd stay here again if we were to come back to Broome.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanuckabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

For local charm, comfort and pleasure, it would be difficult to beat this B&B not only in Broome but anywhere else in the country. Its creation was an act of love by veteran travelers and everything about the place reflects this passion.

We stayed in the Oriental Room, named after the Asian immigrants who came to the old pearl-diving town to work during its heyday harvesting giant mother-of-pearl clams. The room was spacious, well organized and decorated with simple elegance. The bathroom also was beautifully designed and very clean. Double doors opened onto a wrap-around deck on the second floor of the house, complete with a large wooden Indonesian lounge couch.

The house itself was airy and open inside. Breakfast was served on an outdoor deck next to a lovely pool and surrounding garden. The food was yummy, with hot dishes made per request.

The location is perfect for those who want to wander around the historic downtown area. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and a short walk will take you to a wonderful outdoor movie theater that dates back to the 1930s. Visiting the beach and other spots farther out will require either a rental car or a bicycle, which can be rented two blocks away. We rode bikes down to Cable Beach every morning and spent the afternoons wandering the old town.

Shane is a generous and thoughtful host and cook. (For one of his regular guests he tracked down a local starfruit tree so the guest could eat these tropical fruits fresh during his stay). Shane -- a seasoned traveler and yarn-spinner -- picked us up at the airport in the evening and settled us in for our 5-day stay. He greeted us every morning for breakfast and gave us all kinds of tips for enjoying our visit.

Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerBeerBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed after 2 weeks on the road round the Kimberley region - and the Courthouse lived up to all expectations and the other reviews. Only slight niggle is that there is a small amount of traffic noise as it is only one block from the main Cable Beach/Broome road...but this is minor

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbournetraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

In small towns like Broome it is no fun to stay at overcrowded tourist resorts. My girlfriend and I decided to do something a bit more romantic and found this gem online. Shane the owner is an amazing person with incredible stories and insight to life. We enjoyed our wonderful breakfasts talking with him in his beautiful courtyard. The location is only a short walk to the tourist center and grocery stores and if you have a car an easy drive to the local beaches. There is a cheap car rental place just up the road if you need one. This B&B was full of charm and romance. A great find!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Internationalsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

We stayed in the Courthouse for 2 nights in February as part of a 3 week stay in western Australia.
From our initial contact with Shane by email to our departure we were very well looked after.
We were in the Broome room which was very spacious and had so much character, we literally stepped out of our room and into the pool which was a very welcome chill out place at the end of a hot day.
Breakfast was fabulous and cooked fresh by Shane but the best part of breakfast was sharing a table with Shane and listening to his stories and hearing all about his life. He is an interesting and lovely man who you instantly warm to and feel comfortable with.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the Courthouse to anyone, in fact it would be a shame to miss this place if you are travelling in WA.
Good restaurant is Matsos - lovely atmosphere and great food.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CODonnell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

I have stayed at this BnB 5 times now (work and holidays) and cannot recommend it highly enough.. The location is great (opposite the old Old Courthuoose and its markets) walking distance to town nad Matso's.. The rooms are beautiful, interesting and comforatble.. Shane is a plumber so fittings are of the highest quality and the pool is the best one i had ever had the pleasure of swimming in.. it evens stays cool in the middle of the hot wet season..
Shane, Janine and Terry are wonderful hosts and interesting and generous people.. Food is great and the surrounds beautiful.. everything has a story ie: the front doors are from India and I always feel refreshed physically and mentally from being there...
It is built for people who leave gentle footprints when they travel and are truly interested in place and people.. stay a while

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PetsGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

This place is a gem.My friend and my sister and myself had 3 nights here and everything about the B&B was good.Rooms were comfortable and the whole place was spotless.Attractive lap pool area and surrounds and there was a small garden area which was very nice, the owners were welcoming and friendly and the location was very convenient, near shops and restaurants.
We had lovely breakfasts made to order overlooking the pool and garden.We would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms all with outside balconies.
  • Disliked — No dislikes.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porepunkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#2 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Broome
Mercure Broome
#9 of 11 in Broome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
27.7 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courthouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Courthouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10 Stewart St | PO Box 3398, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adult accommodation with class and style. A free continental breakfast is provided each morning along with friendly welcoming hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Courthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing