We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place in Broome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good place in Broome”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for work in October 2013. It was fine. The two bed room apartment was large enough for everyone. The furnishings and kitchen was nice. There are two large pools in the centre of hotel was were very good and the bar was open for dinner and drinks every night. There were bbqs around the pool area too which was a bonus. The gardens around the pool were very nice.

If you staying here for a holiday the only real let down might be the fact that our side of the hotel backed onto a caravan park, so your verandah and sun lounge looks directly at poorly maintained gardens and a fence. This wasn't really a problem for us though, if we were holidaying it wouldn't be ideal.

All in all we enjoyed our time here and thought the staff and hotel were very nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PhilnBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary.

We’re tremendously delighted to read that you found our Two Bedroom Apartment to be both spacious and comfortable. We are, however, concerned that you found the garden area surrounding your terrace to be poorly maintained. This will be investigated by our landscaper and rectified where necessary, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We’re also thrilled to read that you had the pleasure of enjoying our pristine lagoon-style pools along with their bordering landscaped gardens and restaurant. We feel that this area of Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary is particularly wonderful and unique, and again, we’re pleased to read that you share our sentiment.

It is great to read that your overall experience was enjoyable and that our exceptional staff contributed to this.

We certainly look forward to having you stay with us during your next visit to Broome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    112
    63
    32
    22
See reviews for
79
109
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We intentionally booked a 'resort' hotel so there'd be facilities on site. The bar/restaurant closed after breakfast so there were no drinks available during the day. The beauty salon has obviously been shut for months so no salon services on site.
The room itself was ok (no storage space for clothes) but the 'garden view balcony' looked onto an adjoining property's parking space.
Location is fine.

Room Tip: Get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingP0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your highly-valued feedback.

We are sincerely apologetic to hear that you were dissatisfied with our Cable’s Restaurant & Bar opening hours. Upon arrival, we inform guests of our Restaurant & Bar hours and the additional service of drinks and light snacks outside of restaurant hours, which can be obtained from reception. This information is also detailed in our information package guests receive upon check-in. We do sincerely apologise if this was not conveyed to you on arrival and we will certainly pass the feedback on to our Front Office staff as a friendly reminder for all future check-ins.

We too share your disappointment with the on-site day spa closure. Sorbet Day Spa was owned and operated by a third party company, which had no affiliation with Oaks. Due to unforeseen circumstances, Sorbet Day Spa was put in a position where it had to close its doors in June 2013. We are currently working on an alternative solution to complement the existing enjoyable and relaxing features of Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary.

We apologise that the in-room storage did not meet your requirements and we are currently exploring additional storage options to ensure that we meet the storage needs of all guests. If you should ever encounter this issue in future, please do not hesitate to notify staff at reception and we can arrange further storage.

It’s regretful to read that you did not take pleasure in the view from your balcony. Specific room locations are available on request and we will always endeavor to honour this request if possible.

I am, however, pleased to see that you found our location to be suitable. We find our location to be an enormous asset that caters to an array of guest’s holiday aspirations, whether it be one of privacy and relaxation or one of adventurous exploration.

Again, I thank you for your feedback and hope to offer you a more rewarding stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broome hotels

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I lived this place!! Stayed here with work and was stoked to find a beautiful pool, large clean rooms and a very friendly staff.
About 800m to Cable beach, was lovely to go for a run there, swim and come back.
The bar and restaurant were good with a few other options in the local area too.
All in all, if you want a nice place to stay on your own or with the family, this is it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DaFuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We’re thrilled to hear that you had the pleasure of enjoying our lagoon-style pools bordering our restaurant and bar, spacious clean rooms, and welcoming staff.

We’re incredibly fortunate to be in such close proximity to Cable beach and a host of Broome’s finest dining establishments, so I’m glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of our spectacular location.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location, fantastic pool. Rooms are good but the housekeepers not so good. Have stayed a few times, have found bags of rubbish in the cupboard, sticky balcony floor and does not look like the floors had been vacuumed. Very friendly reception staff and the waitress was fantastic. I would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tashie-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, it is greatly appreciated! I was very happy to read that you found our location great and pools fantastic! I was concerned though to read that the housekeeping service wasn’t so good and with the outlined concerns I will certainly follow this up with our housekeeping manager and I do appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

We are so very glad that you found the reception staff friendly and our complimentary Wi-Fi service fantastic! We certainly look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom with 4adults one infant
Unit was nice thought the $20 a night for the child's cot was over the top considering it was filthy dirty could of bought one in town brand new for less
Room service changed towels every day which was nice
Loved the pools and breakfast deals
But you management have to look at the furniture the couches were 20 minute tops then get up and walk around not what you want on a holiday

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albydees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We do sincerely apologise that the cot we provided you was not clean, I have passed your feedback onto the housekeeping manager for further review. Despite the above we are pleased that you found the daily servicing nice, loved the pools and appreciated our breakfast deals on offer!

We are in the process of organising the replacement of all couches resort wide and we do apologise that you found them uncomfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks CBS again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed 10 nights. Comfortable accommodation and well fitted out. Handy location to beach (need to be pretty fit for the walking!). Very quiet, no parties which was great. Grounds beautifully kept. Maintenance issue attended to promptly - one night of neighbouring apartments phantom toilet flush every few minutes was enough! Pool too cool to use, a pity as it looked so nice. Clearly the patios were unusable with tiling taken up and area not kept clean - would have otherwise been a nice place to sit and or eat. Fridge leaked. Reception staff exceptional. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary. We are so very pleased to read that you found the accommodation comfortable and well suited to your needs. It is also great to read that you found our location in proximity to the beach handy, resort peaceful, grounds beautifully kept and our maintenance staff prompt with their repairs!

It is a shame though that you found our lagoon pools too cool to use, we are looking into heating our smaller pools so guests can take advantage of our swimming pools all year round. We are currently installing a composite decking on all apartment balconies similar to that in the reception foyer and we do apologise if your apartment had yet to be completed.

It is great to read that you found the reception staff exceptional as we do pride ourselves on our very high level of customer service. We are very fortunate to have such a fantastic team here at the resort and we are so very glad that you were able to be a part of it. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fabulous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We (3 adults & child) very much enjoyed our stay here, the grounds were very lovely with our favourite frangipanis everywhere, the Pool was amazing and the staff were very friendly & obliging. Our particular unit was on the ground floor and found it to be comfortable enough. Lots of upgrades were taking place while we were there, but we understand that this type of work takes quite some time to complete and overall it didn't inconvenience us. We walked to the Beach (about 10 mins) and great eateries are located nearby. There is also a bus pick-up out the front which is very convenient. Overall personally, we enjoyed our 10 nights stay here and we will definitely stay again on our next visit to Broome/Cable Beach.

Room Tip: Our particular unit faced the lagoon pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary, we do sincerely appreciate the feedback you have provided.

We are very lucky to have a resort full of frangipanis and our gardener does a fantastic job of maintaining the resort grounds. We are very glad that you found our lagoon pools amazing and our staff both friendly and obliging, I will certainly pass your positive feedback onto our team.

We are also very pleased to hear that you found your apartment comfortable and we do appreciate your acknowledgement and understanding in regards to the property upgrades. It is more so pleasing that you were able to enjoy your holiday without these improvements causing any discomfort.

It is great to read that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location, an easy 10 minute walk to Cable Beach, just a short walk to some great restaurants and bars and the bus stop located directly across from the resort. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we really look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to beautiful Broome! Best wishes from all of the Oaks CBS team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
29.1 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
371 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
416 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Property: Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Address: 1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located just a short walk from the pristine sands of Cable Beach, and just a 5 minute drive from Chinatown and the heart of Broome, you can relax at this luxury Resort with the latest in modern facilities and amenities. The Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort features newly refurbished elegant modern designs which draw on modern tropical Broome architecture and colours. With fastidious attention to detail, these studio rooms and apartments introduce a new level of quality to the region nestled amongst landscaped tropical gardens and lagoon style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Broome Sanctuary Hotel
Clarion Broome
Broome Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing