We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room, with Great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Room, with Great facilities”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days/4 nights last week, & found the accommodation really good value for money. It is only a 10-15minute work down to Cable Beach. The Broome bus that runs every half an hour is fantastic & takes you everywhere, & the bus stop is just opposite the resort. Walking distance to some great bars & eateries also. Only disappointment was the Resort bar doesn't open until 5pm weekdays & 3pm weekends,

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us; your feedback is greatly appreciated. It is great to read that you found our rooms great value for money and the location and town bus service was of great advantage to you. We sincerely apologise that the restaurant opening hours weren’t what you were expecting. We are looking at options to extend our opening hours during the busy periods and we greatly appreciate this feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks CBS next time you’re in Broome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    104
    60
    30
    20
See reviews for
76
98
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

2nd time we have stayed at this resort for Broome Race week. Booked a 1bedroom and was given a 2bedroom. This is a very nice property to stay just expensive during race week. Room was cleaned and beds made every day with fresh towel. I love the location as it is quiet and is within walk distance to Divers Tavern or Zanders on Cable beach

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a great review about your recent stay with us over Broome Cup. As repeat guests it is great to read that your stay with us was just as good as your last. It’s great that we were able to offer you an upgrade for your stay and that you find the resorts location to be ideal. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights for a friends wedding. The location is just off the main road in the cable beach area, making it a ~10min walk to the beach. The room was great with a full kitchen, lounge and washing facilities, so excellent if staying for a longer period. Both the bedroom and bathroom were also a nice size. Only negatives were that the bathroom would flood when using the shower and the beds were on rollers and moved very easily. I didn't use the pool area but it looked nice. I did eat breakfast at the restaurant which was very standard buffet food. I personally wouldn't bother as there are many places close by that are much nicer and similar price. Overall a nice hotel at the cheaper end of the accommodation at cable beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and also pleased to read that you found our location, apartment size and in room facilities excellent. I have passed your feedback onto the restaurant as we are always looking at ways to improve our buffet breakfast and we do sincerely appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks CBS next time you’re in Broome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked a 1Br apartment for 9th August for 1 week. Arrived and paid upfront (way overpriced) and was given a 2Br apartment that was dark and badly in need of a repaint. Our view out the smeared windows was a concrete patio with a sad hedge and wire fence with no garden. There were no flyscreens. We were instantly disappointed and within half an hour requested to be moved to another apartment but were unable to be because of other bookings. Therefore we requested to be moved to OAKS BROOME. Best thing we did. Fantastic 1 bedroom apartment overlooking swimming pool, with courtyard and garden. Great choice this is the standard we paid for.

Room Tip: Go to Oaks Broome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 6DonnaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing that you were unsatisfied with your room but great that we were able to relocate you to our sister property Oaks Broome. We are currently conducting property renovations, refurbishments and re-painting and we do apologise this wasn’t completed prior to your arrival.

We are very glad though that you did enjoy your stay at Oaks Broome and found your 1 bedroom apartment fantastic with great views of the pools and gardens. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team. Hopefully next time you’re in Broome you will consider staying with us once the property improvements are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broome hotels

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed with friends in a 3 br apartment with a private lap pool, that could of done with a vacum during our stay and the glass panels were in need of a good clean. The general house keeping was very good daily. The apartment is in need of a little TLC you could see previous damage to walls and doors and the pool area has had the tiling removed leaving an ugly concrete finish. The fridge door shelving was all missing which limited our space in the fridge. The lounges could be more comfortable & the outdoor chairs are looking a bit tired. We all enjoyed the breakfast available in the resort. The grounds of the resort are very well kept. Overall it was a good choice to stay with friends a very roomy apartment,quiet and within close walking distance(10 mins) to the restaurants and the beautiful cable beach & sunsets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the apartments spacious, quiet and the location of the resort great. We are disappointed though to read that your apartment didn’t live up to its full potential.

As you may have read in previous reviews and responses we are in the processing of conducting property renovations and soon interior refurbishments and re-painting. We are also in the process of installing a composite decking on the exterior balconies and replacing all of the balcony furniture and sun lounges and we do apologise this wasn’t done previous to your stay.

In regards to the vacuuming, this is not part of the Housekeeping daily service however a vacuum is completed when a weekly service is due. If guests do request for their apartment to be vacuumed we can certainly arrange this for them at front desk. I have also passed your feedback onto our Housekeeping Manager for further review.

It was great to read that you found our resort grounds and gardens well kept and that you were able to take advantage of the nearby restaurants and the beautiful cable beach sunsets! Again thank you for providing your feedback, it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks CBS again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have to say that for near $300 dollars per night I expected better and I wish I had read the reviews on tripadvisor before paying. Broome accommodation is expensive regardless but you still would expect the place to function as a resort.

For starters, the back 1/2 of the 'lagoon' style pool doesn't contain any water and looks like it has been covered in rocks in an attempt to hide its former function and looks in disrepair. There is another pool in the main area that appears to have been filled with concrete.

The pool outside our place was closed for maintenance and looks like it has been closed for some time. Management could not give a date as to when it would reopen and there seemed no sense of urgency to make this happen.

The sheets where old and had pilling which was like sleeping with cable beach without the view.

Cutlery/dishes were dirty and not all of it was cleaned from the previous guests.

These were mostly little issues for us and if I was paying 1/2 as much I wouldn't care. It markets itself as luxury 4 1/2 stars it may have been in the past but it needs repairs and probably new management.

Summary:
The gardens are lovely but everything else is tired. Not worth the money, if you can get it for under $200 then it is fine for Broome, if not, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We do sincerely apologise that the standards didn’t meet your expectations or ours.

It is true that we have received some unfavourable reviews on TripAdvisor during our period of renovations and refurbishment however we have also received many great reviews about our property, facilities and the services on offer. It is disappointing to read that you found the rate too expensive and the resort lacking function and we do sincerely apologise.

The lagoon style pool of which doesn’t contain any water and is covered in rocks is in fact a swale. The swale has never been a swimming pool and its function in the resort is very important in our wet season. As Broome is subject to torrential rain between the months of November – March the swale is there to drain any excess water from the resort grounds and of course the swimming pools for if they may overflow. During our wet season the swale is full of water and adds a nice feature to the centre of the resort. In regards to the other pool in the main area filled with concrete, this is the pool pump room.

The pool situated out the front of your apartment is closed and unfortunately will be closed for some time. We intend on re-surfacing the pool in the coming months and we do apologise for this inconvenience however we do have the large main pool, infinity pool and another pool at the back of the resort for guests to use.

I have addressed the Housekeeping concerns with our Housekeeping Manager in regards to the cutlery and the pilling sheets. The pilling sheets are a concern and we are addressing this as we speak and I thank you for bringing this to our attention.

The property has been part of the Oaks port folio for 18 months and unfortunately for Oaks we have a large task at hand to restore the resort to its former glory due to the negligence of previous managements, not at fault of Oaks.

Again, we do thank you for providing your feedback and hopefully in future once the renovations and improvements are complete you will reconsider visiting the property to take advantage of our newly improved resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We first stayed at this resort when it was brand new maybe six years ago. It was beautiful, sadly over the time it looks as if no maintenance has been done so much so that our balcony had bare concrete where the tiles have been chipped up! The doors to the balcony storage are taken off and just leaning there. The overall cleanliness is below par even by Broome standards.
The bottom sheet on the bed was so rough with pilling that it felt like sand in the bed.
There seems to also be bad communication between front of house staff and also there advising housekeeping of when rooms have been vacated. We returned at 1030am after a swim to find housekeeping cleaning our room when we had organised a 12 noon checkout which was also confirmed this morning.
The plus is it has very good air conditioning in both the sitting and bedrooms and is close enough to Cable Beach.
We've stayed at most resorts now in Broome and sadly until The Oaks steps up and improves the situation we wouldn't stay or recommend staying here, we only did so as it was Broome Cup and all other places were fully booked or hugely expensive so this at around $280 was a "good deal"
I hope it improves as the gardens are still lovely... Maybe get the gardeners in to do up the rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cally87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary. The property has been part of the Oaks port folio for 18 months now and when the property was handed over to us it was evident that a lack of maintenance had been carried out in the past.

We are working very hard to renovate and refurbish as quickly as we can however these are time consuming projects. As we did have a busier than expected peak season unfortunately we did have to hold off on these projects until the resort quietened down.

We are currently installing a composite decking on all of the apartment balconies and we expect to have the entire resort completed in the coming months. I have passed on your feedback about the cleaning and the sheets to our Housekeeping Manager and we do sincerely apologise that the cleaning wasn’t up to our usual standards.

We also apologise that your late check out wasn’t correctly communicated to the Housekeeping staff and I will certainly follow this up with the team. Despite the above it is great to read that you found the air conditioning, gardens and location of our resort great.

Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back once the property renovations are complete so you can take full advantage and enjoy our newly improved resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
29.1 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Property: Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Address: 1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located just a short walk from the pristine sands of Cable Beach, and just a 5 minute drive from Chinatown and the heart of Broome, you can relax at this luxury Resort with the latest in modern facilities and amenities. The Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort features newly refurbished elegant modern designs which draw on modern tropical Broome architecture and colours. With fastidious attention to detail, these studio rooms and apartments introduce a new level of quality to the region nestled amongst landscaped tropical gardens and lagoon style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Broome Sanctuary Hotel
Clarion Broome
Broome Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing