We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hit and miss!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Cable beach a few times and scoped out the different hotels, this one was on the top of our list to stay at after walking through the grounds and seing the pool also loved that the rooms all had thier own BBQ's. Well it's not n list anymore! We just stayed there recently with an entire wedding party and I don't think anyone was satisfied with thier stay. One of the groomsmen had to move rooms 2 times due to toilet not flushing in one room and Aircon not working. Another groomsmen had no hot water! Our Aircon wasn't cold in our room either! The shower was a shocker with minimal pressure and the beds...Everyone had mentioned the bed! They are the worst night sleep! They are hard! Don't be fooled when you lay down on them when they are made, the only soft thing you feel is the Doona cover and sheets. THE BBQ's!!! Were all Filthy! Again this was brought up in convo with many other people staying and we had the same response. The iron was so useless in our room we had to go and buy a brand new one from Harvey Norman! This was passed around to others who had the same issue as we all had to wear suits etc.

The positives, it's a modern well landscaped hotel with one of the best pools you will find anywhere. It's huge with a little waterfall and not deep so very child friendly. Quiet at night with no noise and no partying. Lots of family's and friendly environment. Just down the road from the beach!

If they spent some money on the finer details, Matresses, appliances (irons), and ensured everything is in working order. Kept the house cleaning to a respectable standard and cleaned then BBQ's when people checked out this place would be up thier with the best. It has all the potential, when you see it from the outside you will think wow. Give it a go, you might have a better stay than us.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave_and_Alannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do sincerely apologise about the issues experienced during your stay and thank you for taking the time to address your concerns.

It is very unfortunate that both groomsmen experienced maintenance issues and multiple room moves because of these problems and again I do sincerely apologise. We do endeavour to keep the apartments maintenance free however when things break or cease to work the best thing we can do is to repair these problems as quickly as possible and if necessary move the guest. It is a very unfortunate circumstance that the groomsman was moved into another room that had further maintenance issues and we do apologise.

In regards to the beds, I have forwarded your comments onto the appropriate department for further review. We do receive regular positive feedback about the comfort of our beds however we do plan to upgrade the mattresses at a later date. We do have brand new replacement items on hand if anything in the apartments needs to be replaced including brand new irons, had you have asked reception we would have happily replaced the iron in your apartment.
Aside from the above, it is great to read that you found the resort grounds and pools great and the proximity to Cable Beach was convenient.

We really do appreciate your feedback and despite the above maintenance issues did enjoy your time in Broome. We are doing our best to currently upgrade the resort and apartments and we do really hope that we can welcome you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    104
    59
    30
    20
See reviews for
76
96
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed in a 3br Pavillion over Easter, and whilst we were informed there was a lack of staff over Easter and rooms wouldn't be serviced but we still had issues. Upon check in we had a lovely outdoor entertaining area with BBQ - it was all filthy and unusable. Leaves everywhere, sand, dusty and was in need of some maintenance. Also during our stay the fridge leaked water all over the floor, as there was a delay to get this fixed we ended up cleaning up the large amount of water. Severe lack of lighting in one of the bathroom's so had to shower with the door open! Breakfast was great, the pool area was under maintenance but still usable. Overall this was my 4th stay and the property is getting very run down, with maintenance being a slow fix. Going back to Broome this week and staying elsewhere - I just don't want these problems whilst trying to enjoy Broome.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay upstairs - downstairs BBQ areas don't seem to be cleaned that well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinthebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations or ours. We do apologise over the Easter weekend that there was limited Housekeeping services and we did notify our guests of these changes. Letters were issued with all arrival packs and we did notify all guests on check in that should you require any towels or amenities to call reception and we would happily bring some to their room.

In regards to the cleanliness of your apartment we do sincerely apologise. I have passed your feedback onto our Housekeeping Manager for further review. We do encourage guests to notify reception of any maintenance issues so we can rectify them as quickly as possible and we do apologise about your leaking fridge and unchanged light globe.

It is great to read that you did enjoy breakfast in our restaurant. We are currently working hard to upgrade the resort and we are regularly receiving great feedback about the upgrades and changes we are making to the property. We do hope to welcome you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again to take full advantage of our property improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is our fifth time here and we were delighted with the standard of the accommodation. Check in for our ten day stay was smooth and reception staff managed to give us our preferred room. Room was clean and well stocked with bathroom needs. Gardens were beautiful and no rubbish left laying around. Pool was clean and lots of sun lounges. A great stay and will certainly be back

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you are a five time repeat guest and again you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are very happy that you were given your preferred room type and found the grounds and gardens beautiful. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary for a sixth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

After booking the Oaks, and then reading the reviews we were a little nervous about staying. Upon arrival we were greated by Sarah on reception who was really lovely and very helpful. The gardens and pools were beautiful, and our room was also really lovely and spacious, BUT, the housekeeping lets the property down something terrible. The dinning table and fruit bowl were covered in dust, the floors were terrible, obviously hadnt been washed properly, the bathroom tiles were dirty, drapes covered in dust and the list goes on. We stayed three nights and never saw a housekeeper the entire time, even though on our information sheet it stated that our room would be serviced daily. It is such a shame about the house keeping, as the staff, particularly Sarah, Hayley (also on reception) and the lovely waitress who served us breakfast are all so lovely. The position is great, it is quiet, there was maintenance happening, but didnt bother us at all, its just a short stroll to the beach and restaurants, all in all, its a great place to stay and ticks all the boxes except for the poor housekeeping. I would stay again, however I would be insisting on a clean room, or taking my rubber gloves and bleach with me.!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2MD-and-partner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We do sincerely apologise that you didn’t receive any servicing during your stay with us and found the room to be unclean. Unfortunately without any further details I am unable to follow up on the concerns raised however I have passed your feedback onto our Housekeeping Manager for further review.

It is great to read though that you did enjoy your stay and found the property great and our staff to be lovely and very helpful, I have passed your feedback onto the Front Office and Restaurant team. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our son moved to Broome for work, so we came for a look see. Would come back to Broome in a heart beat for a holiday.

Upon arrival I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist everything was explained in full, I arranged a late check out (flight @ 5pm) was only an extra $50.00 which I thought was very reasonable. We enjoyed the resort because it was quite, but this is not for everyone.

The only negative thing I have to say is the water in the bathroom for showering was too cold.

Room Tip: Our room was very satisfactory, we chose not to have housekeeping for the 3 days that we were here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to read that you were able to take advantage of a late check out and I have passed your feedback onto our Front Office team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourke New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recently I booked a getaway for my husband and I to this resort and was very alarmed when I read some of the reviews,which were not very complimentary, so it was with some trepidation that we booked in. However the reality was a far cry from the previous reviews,we were greeted with warmth and enthusiasm, the whole place sparkled , even though there was some maintenance happening, our room was clean and well stocked ( extra toilet paper). We thoroghly enjoyed our stay and would highly reccomend the place to our friends

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to read your comments and I am very glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is true due to restaurant renovations, property renovations and recent pool closures we haven’t received many favorable reviews of late and we do appreciate your acknowledgement of that. It is pleasing to read you were welcomed with great customer service and you found the property to be in great condition and your room clean and well stocked. We certainly look forward to completing what is left of the renovations to offer and present an even better quality resort to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Back to Broome for the 2nd year in a row, and this year chose to stay at the newly re-named Oaks Cable Beach.

Very impressed with this resort, the pool area was immaculate and there weren't too many other people around so was nice and peaceful.

There are a few places nearby within walking distance that serve Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, but we had a hire car so headed into Chinatown a bit to grab a bite to eat - there are an array of cafe's there.

All in all, happy with my stay - the room was clean, spacious and cool (air-con was great and needed it in the wet season temperatures).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vernonwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with our resort grounds and pools. It is also very pleasing to read that you found our rooms to be clean and spacious!

Our restaurant hours have further extended and we are now open 5 nights a week for dinner and bar service and breakfast daily. We certainly hope to welcome you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary and Broome for a 3rd year in a row!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#2 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
29.1 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Property: Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Address: 1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located just a short walk from the pristine sands of Cable Beach, and just a 5 minute drive from Chinatown and the heart of Broome, you can relax at this luxury Resort with the latest in modern facilities and amenities. The Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort features newly refurbished elegant modern designs which draw on modern tropical Broome architecture and colours. With fastidious attention to detail, these studio rooms and apartments introduce a new level of quality to the region nestled amongst landscaped tropical gardens and lagoon style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Broome Sanctuary Hotel
Clarion Broome
Broome Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing