We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool closed - constant drilling!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pool closed - constant drilling!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Oaks Cable Beach and was less then impressed. I am a Travel Agent of 12 years and can say with confidence I will not send any guests here. I choose the Oaks as it had great reviews about the pool and really just wanted to relax on this holiday. Well this pool was shut the entire 6 days I was there. I was told everyday that tomorrow it would be open – had I have known the whole time it would have been closed I would have checked out and gone to the Cable Beach Resort where I was offered a better rate anyway. I was told as it was hot the day before I arrived the water needed to be tested as was dangerous - not sure why pool number 5 was open then? Out of the boasted 5 pools on this property only 1 small pool out the back was open and was very dirty with bugs and lizards. To make matters worse there was construction taking place where I could hear constant drilling all day - no email was sent to notify me of this as most hotels will have the let guest know this before checking in. Broome however I would go back to in a heart beat!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do sincerely apologise that the pools were closed during your stay. Unfortunately due to a significant tropical storm plus the high temperatures and high amounts of humidity we did have to close the pools for maintenance. This is not a normal occurrence having to close all of our pools however there is a high risk in the wet season of the pool parameters being affected due to the vast range of factors experienced this time of year. It was necessary to close the pools for a short period as a precautionary measure and as a duty of care to our guests.

We do have property renovations being conducted at the moment and we do apologise that you weren’t notified of this. We do endeavor to make sure that guests are kept well away from the construction however some days drilling can be heard and we are sorry if this impacted on your stay. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again in the future for an enjoyable stay and to take full advantage of our newly renovated resort and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    101
    59
    30
    19
See reviews for
71
94
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and was impressed with the place so we returned to a larger room as now we have a 3 year old travelling with us.Check in was fast seeing as we arrived early and we appreciated that it only took 5 minutes for our room to be ready.

First impression of the 2bd apt was impressive and spacious, sadly that was about all that was going for it. For a larger apartment, it was missing self contained items to match such as big enough pot/pan, tea towels, dish cloth, toilet paper and tissues. We ended up purchasing these smaller items to use during our stay from the shops.

Our room was 'serviced' once during our week stay.. we did a better job of doing a quick tidy up as if at home which again would be ok if wasn't at a serviced 'resort'. Many times we were getting a knock on the door 2pm or later after we had been out all morning and ready to chill in the airconditioning for it to be serviced and seeing the standard of these, we didn't bother letting them do the room.

It has a lot of potential for getting better and hopefully the little things will get fixed as they do make a difference!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondemummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you appreciated a fast check in and found the rooms to be spacious. We do apologise that the some of the self contained items were missing in your apartment and we have certainly had this addressed.

As Housekeeping does need to complete the departure rooms to ensure the arrivals are ready for 2pm the servicing hours are normally from 12pm – 4pm, we do apologise if this timing did not suit. Guests are able to call reception and request for a specific time they would like the apartment serviced and we do our best to accommodate these requests. We are currently undertaking refurbishments to the resort and rooms over the coming months. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Oaks Cable Beach again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Where to start with our experience at the Oaks Broome Sanctuary Resort!

We were attracted initially to the resort, by the pool & upgrade offers available in the travel brochures. The word RESORT needs to be immediately removed from the title, as this implies a level of facilities & service one would expect from a resort. The title should read Self Serviced Apartments, with a strong emphasis on the word SELF. A resort should be able to provide to guests very simple services like laundry, daily house keeping, a bar, a restaurant & late reception. None of which were extended to us on our stay.

When booking the resort through our travel agent, we were initially offered free upgrade, free shuttle transfer from the airport & buy 1 camel ride get 1 free. Due to a change in management, none of these services were honored. We had been traveling for over a week & required the use of laundry facilities, as our room didn't provide this service. When we inquired at reception we were told by a rude, un-friendly & un - helpful member of staff, we could catch a bus or taxi into town & launder our cloths their. Anyone that has been to Broom would know that trudging through the city centre, 23 week pregnant wife in toe, with arms full of washing, in the heat & humidity is not feasible, nor what you would expect from a so called resort. Fortunately the local backpackers next door was able to extend this very basic service to us & kindly allowed us to use their facilities. " I found it almost humorous but it was so frustrating that a backpackers could offer this service & our so called resort couldn't.

I attempted to book the so called free transfer shuttle bus prior to our arrival only to be told " We can't operate this service at the moment." Upon arrival by taxi, we noticed a shuttle bus parked in the driveway. " Alam bells should have rang then!

whilst reading through the information provided, the most embarrassing thing for the resort was. "Should we run out toilet paper during our stay, this can be purchased from reception." How embarrassing for the staff to ask guest to pay for such an inexpensive & essential amenity."

This venue comes with a big BUYER BEWARE! Pool is great for kids & adults alike but this its it's only feature. The other pools were unavailable due to ongoing maintenance issues. The venue needs a giant capital injection to get it up to a reasonable standard. If you don't have car access, I would suggest hiring one or a scooter. With no food provided on premise you will need to take a trip into town to purchase it. Taxi's love taking tourists the long way & this can be just as expensive as hiring a car for the day. It is also a good 15 - 20 minute walk to the beach. Alternatively pay a little extra & stay closer to Cable Beach & enjoy the service of a real hotel or resort. Next time we decide to go on a holiday, we will be skipping Broome all together & flying direct to Asia. Cheaper & their isn't much in Broome worth returning for!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Griffo_2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us in April of last year. Again we do apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us however we have already addressed all of the concerns raised. As the property had only been part of the Oaks port folio for 4 weeks at the time of your stay we did acknowledge that unfortunately the restaurant and bar had been closed for well over a year prior to us taking over and we were working quickly to have this service available.

In regards to the washing facilities it was noted that your booking agent should have provided you with the correct information as to what the room types and their facilities entitled. All of our self contained apartments have laundry facilities except for our Studio rooms, this information should have been made available to you at the time of booking.

In regards to the Housekeeping, as you did book a special discounted rate the booking came through to us as ‘unserviced’, we did offer you the housekeeping service as a kind gesture. As it was the quiet time in Broome, we did have limited reception times however this is standard across all of Broome in the quiet season.

In regards to the free upgrade, free shuttle service and buy 1 camel ride get 1 free we did explain that none of this was provided with your booking paperwork from the agent of which we were told was organised at the time of booking, however on talking to the agent they also were unaware of this. We were provided with a clipping from a magazine that was a year old and no longer applied, again we did apologise for this and we also offered an upgrade to a 1 bedroom apartment at a very minimal fee.

The company van was not being used for shuttle service at the time, it was not mentioned in your booking that shuttle service was required, had it have been we could have organised the transfer with the local company we were using at the time, we did apologise for this and offered you a return transfer to the airport.

As per the guest welcome letter if there are any issues at all or if guests need anything we are more than happy to supply extra amenities without charge. As we had just taken over the resort we left the compendiums in the room as a kind gesture to guests to keep them both informed on the property as a whole but to also provide information on Broome and its surroundings. Had we had been notified of any amenities required we would have replaced them for you, this was also explained during your stay.

Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary is very close to Cable Beach, it is only a 10 minute leisurely walk to the end of Sanctuary drive. Again, we do apologise for the inconvenience this caused during your stay and we hope that in future we can welcome you back to an Oaks property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broome hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The service is ok, not great. The apartments have basic features and could do with a few more fans, a blind in the kitchen and more comfortable seating. We had a neighbour that partied all night and it took all night and several complaints before management took action, it was daylight the next day before this happened though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daletnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is certainly dissapointing to read that you found the service to be just o.k. We are regularly receiving compliments about the high level of service and friendly staff we have here and I do apologise that you didn't receive the high level of customer service that is expected of our staff.

We are currently in the process of refurbishing the rooms, the upholstery and inventory to further enhance comfort and the quality we present to our guests. We are also in the process of organising blinds for the kitchens to ensure maximum privacy.

In regards to the noise complaint from your neighbouring apartment, we do apologise that this issue wasn't rectified sooner for you. As per our guest welcome notes, although reception is closed the phones are still diverted. In situations like these our onsite caretaker is available at all hours throughout the night to assist with any noise complaints. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We were a little disappointed to hear on our arrival that there was no restaurant or bar available considering previous reviews dating back 5 mths were told they would be opening soon. As with other reviews would have appreciated being told prior to arrival. We ate at other resorts and BYO. The pools are lovely, however relaxing with the jack hammering of renovations was a little annoying. Rooms are nice and serviced daily. Not 5 star at this point but I am sure will be in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austtravellers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologise that the dinner and bar service wasn’t available to you during your stay, we are anticipating this service to commence within the coming weeks. Our restaurant Cables is open daily for breakfast and this service has been available since September. We have a very delicious A la carte menu available to our guests and I do hope you were able to take advantage of this during your stay.

It is great to read that you enjoyed our lagoon pools and I do apologise that the property renovations did come as an inconvenience. We anticipate having all of the refurbishment finished in early 2013. Again, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused and we do hope to welcome you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again soon so you can see all of our wonderful renovations complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The room was lovely, we had a 3 bedroom villa with a plunge pool. Privacy was great too! Was very unimpressed however to find that I had been charged $100 for cleaning costs after checkout. especially considering we had taken care of all the dishes, tidied the living and bedroom areas, and caused absolutely no damage to the room. lack of bins around the resort, particularly to the villas ment we had to bag all our rubbish and leave it in the room, although i do not beleive this is $100 worth of cleaning costs. I was awake from 8am cleaning the room until our late checkout 12. not happy. frankly, won't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmegrrl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is certainly great to read that you enjoyed your time here at Oaks Cable Beach and you found our 3 bedroom plunge villas lovely. We certainly do appreciate the fact that you were up early on the day of your departure to clean the apartment however on the advice of my Front Office Manager and Executive Housekeeper the room did require extra cleaning.

There were substantial food marks throughout the kitchen and cupboards, floor and balcony and copious amounts of rubbish which resulted in our Housekeeper spending twice as long as normal cleaning the apartment. I have reviewed what extra cleaning was required and believe we have charged a reasonable amount. In regards to the bins, throughout the property we have ample. Directly out the front of your apartment is a triple bin specially suited to the 3 bedroom villas.

I do apologise if this has caused you an inconvenience but I do hope that considering you did enjoy your stay with us you will consider returning to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This resort was such a wonderful surprise for my recent family holiday. We stayed 5 nights in a three bedroom villa which was spacious, clean and had a great layout. Our three children spent many hours in the exceptional pools. We especially loved the circular wading pool for our toddler. The resort was quiet, the frangipanis were beautiful and the reception staff very friendly and helpful. All in all, a wonderful place to spend time with family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you and your family had such a wonderful time with us and you were very satisfied with our 3 bedroom apartments. Our lagoon pools are some of the best in Broome and we are very happy that our circular toddlers pool was of great benefit to your family. The resort is peaceful and with the many different coloured frangipani trees it does set a tranquil tropical scene which we are very luck to have. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cable Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
29.1 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Property: Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Address: 1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located just a short walk from the pristine sands of Cable Beach, and just a 5 minute drive from Chinatown and the heart of Broome, you can relax at this luxury Resort with the latest in modern facilities and amenities. The Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort features newly refurbished elegant modern designs which draw on modern tropical Broome architecture and colours. With fastidious attention to detail, these studio rooms and apartments introduce a new level of quality to the region nestled amongst landscaped tropical gardens and lagoon style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Broome Sanctuary Hotel
Clarion Broome
Broome Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing