We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, Clean, Friendly and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfy, Clean, Friendly and Relaxing”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very clean and comfortable resort, consistent with other quality Oaks resorts. I stayed in the studio type room which was quite large for the expected equivalent. Fantastic courtyard which got some great afternoon sun. Deck chairs were a great touch. The place has evidently undergone a continuing revamp, im guessing making some of the negative reviews redundant. I'd comfortably recommend this property to friends and family

Susan at reception is to be commended on her high level of service.I had some special requests with trailer parking and arrived late in the evening, It was refreshing to be greeted with a smile and can-do attitude so late in the evening after a long day of driving.

Great pools, handy yet quiet location makes this a great base to explore Broome.

Good showers, immaculately clean, fast wifi and hassle free service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronzaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
A very big thank you from the team at Oaks CBS for your recent review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Oaks experience. It is great to read that the studio room was suited to your needs and you were able to take full advantage of our beautiful pools, resort facilities and the location.

Providing a high level of customer service is very important to the Oaks experience and we are very lucky to have the team that we do, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Susan. We also thank you and appreciate your acknowledgment of the improvements we are making around the resort, we are working hard to ensure that we provide the best possible product to all of our guests and to further improve our guests comfort and the facilities available to them. If in future, you return to Broome we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    107
    61
    30
    20
See reviews for
76
103
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed here back in September 2009 around the time the resort first changed hands from Rendezvous to Accor Grand Mecure. Despite them bailing out then, it's gone down hill even further since and unfortunately the new management under Oaks isn't any better. This is no way near the 4.5 star rating they claim to have.

Things are falling apart and there seems to be very little being done about it. The pool is half closed and despite us staying here for well over a week, we recieved no word as to why, and saw no work being done to put it back into full service. The pool was absolutely freezing, unswimmable in fact. The ocean was also cool but still a far more pleasant temperature! They claim to have Foxtel, which would have been nice while the Olympics was on, but it wasn't installed and no apology given. No biggie, we weren't here to watch TV, but it's just one more thing in a long line of others.

The apartments are grubby and run-down. And it wasn't just our apartment, while waiting at reception one day I saw one guest place an A4 long list of maintenance required on their apartment. The service is abysmal, with reception staff sloppy and completely disinterested, and even seeking to charge us for a 12pm check-out. Cleaners do the very bare minimum, and while the gardens seem to be well kept, other things like the BBQ area was always grotty. And I can't see them taking any more care with the restaurant when it eventually opens.

It's just a shame really, because the resort design was good when everything was in service and more care was shown, and the apartments were well designed and constructed. But now things look very tired with loose tiles, markings and grime around the place, cheap and worn out furniture, cheap and incomplete kitchen facilities, etc., etc.. The kitchen and laundry facilties are nevertheless still handy, and the location is still good of course, with the resort within an easy 15 min walk to cable beach and the Zeebar restaurant around the corner is busy and well worth a visit for a good meal as well as Zanders and the Cable Beach Club restaurants.

But don't be fooled if you're told everything is back up to scratch. It will take A LOT of time and money to restore this place back to 4 stars, let alone 4.5! Management need to be more up front and just show more care, and you should pay accordingly until this place ever re-earns its stripes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Review0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broome hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked over the internet not knowing what to expect. Yes, we read other reviews which were not favourable but we'll find out for ourselves. And the result . . . well, we had a great experience. Unpacked and checked the apartment - got everything we needed to make meals, etc, even a BBQ on the veranda. We backed on the caravan park but it was still quiet and peaceful. A short walk took us to the pool and yes, it was a bit cold but it was WA winter time. Only the spa was available, we eventually saw some progress on the restaurant that was being renovated. The reception was friendly and there was some brochures available to puruse at leisure. We had a hire vehicle but the bus stop was just a short walk from the driveway. We were on holidays so we took our time getting ready in the morning and made our own breakfast so housekeeing worked around us. We also had some dinners in the apartment as well as bought takeaway - Broome shopping was pretty easy once you find your way around. One day, we had no water so after enquiring at the desk, they knew about the issue and were working quickly to resolve it, and hey presto, it was fixed by noon. It was handy having a washing machine and dryer in the apartment - it meant we didn't pack as much and washed clothes. It would have been handy if the resort had beach towels even though we brought our own. Would recommend this resort to families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a 3 star Resort at best. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, and the furnishing are very basic. There was no lamp or mirror in the second bedroom, and the shower sprayed water all over the floor. They are currently renovating a restaurant near the pool, so its very loud during the day. For the price it is not up to standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I would not recommend this to anyone. The name was changed there was no dining room no in dining breakfast. The milk sachets were out of date and grimy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unhappy678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment ,family of five. Very spacious apartment however the cleanliness could be improved. Firstly on opening the front door the first thing I saw was lots of dust all over the floor. The shower screens in both bathrooms covered in soap scum, kitchen sink dirty as well. Limited supplies were left to clean with, 3 dishwasher powders and one very thin piece of material for a kitchen sponge. On check in we were issued with a photocopied piece of paper ( one that you would usually find in the room directory) It stated that our room would be serviced daily but when that wasn't done on our 2nd day and I went to reception and was told our room woould not be serviced at all. ( we were staying for 5 days) My husband went to BBQ on the first night in the pool area, no gas. After promising to return a borrowed gas bottle from reception my husband was given a loan gas bottle. Could be such a great place to stay,Very disappointed for the amount of money we paid for this accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaydayMadayMaday
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed for 2 weeks for business in “studio rooms” (cooking facilities)

Individual rooms can vary quite a bit. Apparently they are individually owned.
Individual issues (at least some rooms):
Virtually no TV reception - "being upgraded"
No radio in room - "Bad luck"
No BBQ - "All being removed"
Puddle of water (from shower) around toilet - "Nothing we can do"
5 clothes hangers - no shelves/draws or suitcase stand.

I understand the resort is being upgraded, but certainly at this stage you need to check the available services/facilities suit you. I expected to be able to watch the ABC news/Moto GP on free to air - not in my room!

Nice pool!
Some of the best staff I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with.
Approx 1km pleasant walk to Cable Beach. Car trip to CBD.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaydayMadayMaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
29.1 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Broome
356 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
405 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Property: Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Address: 1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located just a short walk from the pristine sands of Cable Beach, and just a 5 minute drive from Chinatown and the heart of Broome, you can relax at this luxury Resort with the latest in modern facilities and amenities. The Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort features newly refurbished elegant modern designs which draw on modern tropical Broome architecture and colours. With fastidious attention to detail, these studio rooms and apartments introduce a new level of quality to the region nestled amongst landscaped tropical gardens and lagoon style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Broome Sanctuary Hotel
Clarion Broome
Broome Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing