We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Grand Mecure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Broome
Reviewed January 29, 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 339 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salnmat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no Accor or Grand Mercure signage so finding the resort took work. However the place is very nice, lovely pools, good parking and not too far to the beach. Rooms are great for a couple and we appreciated the facilities - cook top, washing machine and dryer. Would recommend at the right price - we paid $165 pn.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel needs to stop changing its name. Still labelled Broome Sanctuary but you are booking Grand Mercure Apt Cable Beach Resort! Found the rooms very tired, aircon fan noisy and exhaust in bathroom either didnt work or was so noisy you had to shower in the dark. The pools are nice and well maintained. Entrance statement portico needs painting badly - kinda feels like worn out rental than a top quality resort. Spend some money on maintenance and ambiance!. Reception staff were friendly and helpful considering they are not given an air conditioned office - bit off putting for overseas travellers arriving and having to wait with no aircon??

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broomites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alice Springs, Australia
11
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Highly recommended but don't be confused with the name Sanctuary Cable Beach Resort. Pool is sensational, apartments are modern and very inviting with great fittings & facilities.
Only two negatives - a 1* iron that is just useless and the hotel name at the front of the hotel entry did not align with our booking from the Acor group.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Service is very average, no restraunt or bar, you have to drive for a meal or drink and by the time you get back out there you dont feel like going out again

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We recently had a very large group (72) of people stay at the resort and we were really happy with the service provided. The staff were very friendly and accommodating for such a large group and the rooms were lovely with many pools located around the premises.

Whilst there were no F&B facilities, we managed to work out an arrangement with a local caterer using the old restaurant space so our needs were met. I'd have no reservations in recommending the hotel as a place to stay particualrly for large groups.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EM0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#8 of 12 in Broome
354 reviews
29.1 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Broome
392 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#9 of 12 in Broome
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Address: 1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range: $81 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located just a short walk from the pristine sands of Cable Beach, and just a 5 minute drive from Chinatown and the heart of Broome, you can relax at this luxury Resort with the latest in modern facilities and amenities. The Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort features newly refurbished elegant modern designs which draw on modern tropical Broome architecture and colours. With fastidious attention to detail, these studio rooms and apartments introduce a new level of quality to the region nestled amongst landscaped tropical gardens and lagoon style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Broome Sanctuary Hotel
Clarion Broome
Broome Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing