We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and elegant colonial house.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pinctada McAlpine House
Ranked #5 of 14 Broome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A charming and elegant colonial house.”
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed at Mc Alpine house in October 09 and were pleasantly surprised by its lush tropical garden, hand crafted Javanese furniture and old world charm.The bedroom was comfortable, with a modern wet room. Our host was welcoming and very attentive to our needs. As it was very hot, we enjoyed the cold breakfasts, with lots of tropical fruit and we made the most of the lovely swimming pool. There are only 8 rooms so it was quiet but just what we wanted after a busy day.you could walk into town but , in the heat , a rental car would be best. Mc Alpine House is not cheap but if you are after something different , in a tropical atmosphere and with historical connections, that is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clara_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    22
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
68
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
614 reviews
285 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

As other posters have said, this is not a cheap hotel. In season, as we were, it was $500 per night

Now that would be fine if there was the service to go with the price. There was no receptionist on duty, and she had to be summoned by phone (arrived 10 minutes later, then disappeared). No staff meant the the bar was not open except for an hour between 5 and 6. And the restaurant was closed because it was the chefs day off. One would have thought at the price that they could have afforded to have staff on duty.

The room we had, a Library Suite was very comfortable and well decorated. A problem with ants all over the place, but this is Australia, and I accept that!.

Breakfast was fine, but writing this 4 weeks after our visit, was unmemorable in as much as I cannot remember anything about it.

McAlpine House is an old building by local standards and indeed a historical building. It oozes character. But all considered, the hotel was worth perhaps $300 in comparing it with other hotels we stayed in in Australia, certainly not worth $500

  • Liked — The charm of an old historical building
  • Disliked — The price meant that the value for money was poor. Lack of staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melb
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

have stayed in all rooms over many visits and simply love it. But unfortunately it is now pricing itself way above its position. The rooms are old style except the garden suites, the property is small but comfortable, no spa or any other resort facitities so hard to justify such a hike in price. I think room cleaning and breakfast at a B&B are standard but now these are supposed to be luxuries you have to pay extra for. $600 a night is way overpriced. Get back to your roots or maybe you will b happy having the place to yourself as I feel occupancy will decline.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2007

We stayed in November 2007 in a Garden Suite. It was out of season and there were only a few guests. Our room was clean,well designed and comfortable.
The public areas were superb – not easy to describe this place - it is unique.
We did not have a car and had to take the 'bus into Chinatown (the main shopping area ) and Cable Beach
Deb(Guest Relations) was very helpful and efficient and contributed greatly to our visit
We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

A wonderful place to stay!. After spending a week in perth we decided that we wanted a rest and the Mc Alpine House Hotel was the perfect place. I would advise a car to get around the area, mainly due to the heat!
The hotel location is a little way out of town, but we did walk on a few occassions.
What we enjoyed the most was being able to discover Broome and surrounding location during the morning and then spend a relaxing afternoon lazing around the pool at McAlpine House. The garden atmosphere is Tropical and just adds to the whole experience. We stayed in one of the garden rooms, which are new and very tastfully decorated, the only downside, which was a shock on the first morning was the early morning greetings from the Hotels resident Parrots.However this is something that like the rest of the hotel, just all blends in to a lovely experience.
Rooms are well stocked with a Mini Bar.
Breasfast is served in a dinning room that is a mixture of modern art and antique furniture. There is a good selection of Fresh Fruit, cereal,yoghurt and bread. Freshly brewed Coffee and Tea which you make yourself.
Hotel Staff are really friendly and helpful. They organised our car hire and trips and there is no agenda they are just offering a great service, what we found amazing was that pick ups, drop offs and transfers were all free.
There is a sense of freedom at McAlpine house that is not to be missed.
A final note, when you compare the local hotel prices McAlpine works out to be about the same as some of the beach resorts. However if you want piece and quite and an incredible place to stay then choose McAlpine and hire a car or use the town bus, because it is worth it.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank HappySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2007

We recently stayed in the tree house suite for $275 (AUD) per night. It was a basic room, very cold at night. We had to walk down old wooden stairs in the dark to use the bathroom! ( A bit dangerous in my opinion)The breakfast was basic continental.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank john092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We have just spent two nights staying at Mcalpine House in one of their new Garden Suite rooms. We live in Broome and had always wanted to have a look and perhaps spend a night. Our room (unlike most of this historic boutique hotel) has been built and decorated in a very modern style, ie marble, sleek lines, great lighting and an ensuite I wanted to take home with us. We had two lovely nights of peace and relaxation and enjoyed the gardens, pool and special places you can find a settee or lounge to read etc. James, the manager was friendly and welcoming and also did a pretty good cooked breakfast. Will do it all again some time hopefully.

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings, comfort, peace and quiet.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
2.8 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
300 reviews
27.2 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinctada McAlpine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinctada McAlpine House

Property: Pinctada McAlpine House
Address: 55 Herbert St | (Corner Louis Street), Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pinctada McAlpine House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you step through the modest white picket gate onto a path sprinkled with frangipani flowers and shaded by towering palm trees, you know instantly that you are entering a special place of relaxation and solitude. The former home of Lord McAlpine, Pinctada McAlpine House has been meticulously converted into a private 8-room lodge - perhaps 'oasis' is a more fitting description. A subtle blend of historical charm and modern facilities makes McAlpine House the perfect place to reawaken the spirit. Wide open verandahs and polished timber floors complement a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere which slowly extinguishes your sense of time. We encourage you to make our boutique lodge your home for as long as you stay. By day, the atmosphere is shaped as much by the lush tropical gardens and exotic birds as it is by the personalised attentive service. At night, enjoy a moment of calm by the turquoise waters of a pool lit by a myriad of tiny lights. World class resort? Private retreat? Luxury guest house? McAlpine House defies classification, and that is precisely why it is such a unique place to completely rejuvenate your soul. With just eight rooms - each with its own style and private outdoor escape, a sense of space and escape is blended with a feel of intimacy and serenity. Create your own world among the original artwork and decor reflecting the unique colours and textures of the Kimberley, or step outside to explore the wonder, beauty and contrasts of Broome's azure waters, sweeping white beaches, distinctive red earth and eclectic culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinctada McAlpine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcalpine Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing