We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the Middle of Broome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pinctada McAlpine House
Ranked #5 of 14 Broome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had the absolute pleasure of an overnight stay in this adorable accommodation! This is truly an oasis in the middle of town; meandering paths leading to surprises and garden lounges. The breakfast deck in the middle of it all is a delightful spot for your healthy & nourishing breakfast. Our accom was a garden suite; spotlessly clean and the most comfy bed that we wished we could have taken it home with us. Thank you to our extremely friendly hosts and staff, next time our stay will be longer. Dan & Denise Phillips (2nd Oct 12).

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks in the Broome area, beginning with 4 nights at McAlpine House. We had a garden suite - which was lovely - no noise from anyone - except the birds in the morning - and that was way better than an alarm clock! Breakfast was lovely under the trees and and the staff very helpful with car bookings and drinks by the pool. We were there for stairway to the moon, so saw it from 2 different locations very close to McAlpine House. Nice walk into town and very close to Matso's Brewery! It is a lovely quiet boutique hotel and we would highly recommend it. Will no doubt be back again!!!!

Room Tip: We thought the Garden suite was lovely - very quiet - no creaking floorboards as others have mention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had two nights here at the start of our 25th anniversary trip to Broome in August. We rang ahead so had no trouble checking in after hours. Delightful room (McAlpine Suite) at the rear of the property with a four poster bed and great amenities. Beautiful gardens around the breakfast deck make for a nice start to the day. Lovely pool deck too. We had to leave before dawn after our second night for a full day fly/drive trip to the horizontal falls and Prue was very accommodating with breakfast in the fridge the night before and allowing us to leave the car there until our return that evening. Only downside were the creaky floorboards at the front door of our room and at the entrance to the bathroom. A minor thing but it was annoying. Highly recommended as a quieter and more personalised option to a large resort.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelingMum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is a gorgeous historic property within walking distance to Chinatown (in the cool of the morning!). Given it is an old house you can hear the people in the surrounding rooms. Nice pool and continental breakfast though check in and check out is not efficient. If you are relaxed and can go with the flow you will probably enjoy this hotel however we were dissapointed with the service. Our airport pick up did not materialise and getting a taxi with 100's of other people is not easy. Reception hours are problematic and are more for the convenience of staff than guests. I would choose this hotel over any others in the town but would suggest you will get better service at Cable Beach. Given the price of the rooms I suggest that the service be improved.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived at 11am, no airport pick as arranged and when we arrived were told that checkin was at 3pm so we would have to wait (Guess the staff have good days and bad days). The reception closes at 3pm so go figure.
We returned a few days later (after 3pm) and the service was no better with our room number attached to a notice board at the front.
The service here needs attention and I would not recommend this property.

Room Tip: the Library rooms are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We arrived at 9am to be welcomed by the manager Prue, altho we were too early for the 11am check-in, she made us coffee and was full of suggestions of things to do and places to eat etc. The wonderfully historic tropical house, exotic gardens, eating breakfast under the wide spreading mango tree, what an oasis. We stayed in a garden room which was beautiful and very comfortable, plus our own pod coffee machine. Great location,lots to do, and a change from staying out ot town at Cable Beach.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Cowgirl744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great accommodation option for Broome, great rooms with plenty of old Broome charm, furnishing suit the place, beds comfortable and huge. Bathrooms roomy and the grounds are beautiful. Close to the beach and town and of course walking distance to the great Matso brewery and restaurant. Pod coffee machine in your room and the continental breakfast included in the room tarrif was yummo. Definately will stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old pearlers rooms, wooden floors and great feel. Maybe suggest or request they tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikeholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
2.8 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#8 of 12 in Broome
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moonlight Bay Suites
Moonlight Bay Suites
#3 of 12 in Broome
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#9 of 12 in Broome
429 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinctada McAlpine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinctada McAlpine House

Address: 55 Herbert St | (Corner Louis Street), Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Broome
Price Range: $132 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pinctada McAlpine House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you step through the modest white picket gate onto a path sprinkled with frangipani flowers and shaded by towering palm trees, you know instantly that you are entering a special place of relaxation and solitude. The former home of Lord McAlpine, Pinctada McAlpine House has been meticulously converted into a private 8-room lodge - perhaps 'oasis' is a more fitting description. A subtle blend of historical charm and modern facilities makes McAlpine House the perfect place to reawaken the spirit. Wide open verandahs and polished timber floors complement a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere which slowly extinguishes your sense of time. We encourage you to make our boutique lodge your home for as long as you stay. By day, the atmosphere is shaped as much by the lush tropical gardens and exotic birds as it is by the personalised attentive service. At night, enjoy a moment of calm by the turquoise waters of a pool lit by a myriad of tiny lights. World class resort? Private retreat? Luxury guest house? McAlpine House defies classification, and that is precisely why it is such a unique place to completely rejuvenate your soul. With just eight rooms - each with its own style and private outdoor escape, a sense of space and escape is blended with a feel of intimacy and serenity. Create your own world among the original artwork and decor reflecting the unique colours and textures of the Kimberley, or step outside to explore the wonder, beauty and contrasts of Broome's azure waters, sweeping white beaches, distinctive red earth and eclectic culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinctada McAlpine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcalpine Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing