We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinctada McAlpine House
Ranked #5 of 14 Broome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Business Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Check in was a nightmare as there was nobody available and the gates were locked. Had to telephone for the access code. This procedure took about thirty minutes.Other guests had a similar bad experience.Servicing of rooms was very erratic as was replacement of toiletries. Room was clean. Asked to travel to Cable Beach property for breakfast on several occasions.
Rats were frequently seen scuttling around the grounds. A quaint and attractive establishment but nothing much else to recommend it for.

Room Tip: Not able to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    21
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
65
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fitzroy Crossing, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

My partner and I visit Broome every school holidays, we decided to choose somewhere special. The promise of a luxurious experience was alluring. We were very disappointed with the experience.The Pinctada Continental Breakfast was poor. There was no yogurt or pastries the bread was old and the fresh tropical fruit was under ripe. We were offered a complimentary breakfast at Pinctada Cable Beach, this was average and by no means a memorable experience.The outdoor settings were covered in leaves and dust, and, hosts did not think and provide mosquito repellant so guests can sit outside and enjoy the beautiful gardens. We did not receive our complimentary drink upon arrival and the complimentary wireless Internet was not available on the third night.
For an establishment that advertises itself as luxurious it really fell short. I am sure they can provide the excuse that we stayed during the off peak period, however expectation is expectation and when they do not provide what they advertise they let their customers down.

Room Tip: Walk around establishments prior to booking rooms in Broome. Service seems to be slipping in this to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Digwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I also agree that this is like staying at a rich aunties house, albeit in a beautiful location with a pool and a aviary! The rooms were clean and well maintained and the decorations was quite charming with some significantly luxurious touches (the vases holding the fresh bouquests were exquisite!). I really liked the folded towels on all the deck chairs and the fact that there was ample sitting area (around the pool, in the gardens, etc). The bathrooms were surprisingly large and modern, felt a bit like stepping back and forth in time when you would transition from the bedroom to the bathroom. Large flatscreen tv in the room - I am sure a welcome touch for the "typical bloke." There was no continential breakfast provided but since I got such an outrageously good deal on lastminute I still came out way ahead. The only small quibbles I have is that althought the rooms (and the bathrooms were clean) there were a couple missed details. There was a used pair of socks in the wardrobe (I think someone planned on using the laundry service and changed their mind) and an open container of milk in the fridge. Admittedly the milk look closed, I only realised it was open after I shook it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desktopdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Somebody hit the nail on the head when they said in a review here that it is like staying at a rich uncles house. I stayed for four nights during the wet season (so there was a lot of relaxing room time!) and was upgraded on arrival to the McAlpine Suite. This is a huge spacious room with a four poster bed, chaise longue and enormous bathroom with clawfoot standalone bath and his and hers toilets and sinks - it was amazing. The decor is beautiful, all dark wood floors, verandahs and screens, and the rooms are ranged around a small but nice pool. Very nice helpful staff. Would stay again any time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitsi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Found last minute accommodation here and was a brilliant find. Built in 1910, the rooms are small but very comfortable and the charm of the place is incomparable to other accommodation in Broome. February was the ideal month to travel if you want peace & quiet, and a total relax. There were only a few other rooms booked while we there but we basically had the pool to ourselves. The continental breakfast was fabulous - platter of fresh fruit plus a selection of cold meats & cheese, as well as help yourself to cereal, toast, tea & coffee. Many books available to browse which include Lord McAlpine's memoirs. The garden itself is beautiful and worth having an extra day just to lie back and relax amongst the tropical plants and birds. Flying foxes come out at dusk to feed off the palm berries, which is an experience in itself. Totally suitable for a quiet, weekend getaway. Staff extremely accommodating and helpful. Loved it and would definitely book again.

Room Tip: If you want to truly experience "old Broome" then ask for a verandah room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Not for kids, but if you want to relax by the pool or have a quiet read in the library then this very private B&B is the place for you.
If is kind of like staying at you rich uncles house while he is away.
The staff, esp Prue, are quietly efficient and will go to any lengths to organise whatever you want (at a cost). If you want to have a private dinner party while staying there, they will happily arrange it for you.
I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatherFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Deceided on the spur of the moment to head to Broome for New Year. I know it is the wet season but you can have some good weather in December/January. In the past I have always stayed out at Cable Beach and never really gone to the beach itself other than to see it.

So this time I thought I would try something closer to town and walking distance to a few restaurants. I came across by accident McAlpine House which had a rate of $200 per night inclusive of breakfast in a Garden Suite - good value. There are four types of rooms but the Garden Suite looked the most modern of them all. The others are done in a more classical style. Note also that there are only eight rooms in the place so it really is like a private retreat.

The price also included a transfer from the airport - quite common in Broome. I did double check by telephone that there would be someone to meet us on arrival but when we entered the arrivals hall there was no-one - not the best first impression. We checked with the general transfer desk who called the hotel and was told he could take us......hmmmmm.......

Trust me when I say that it all went dramatically UPHILL from here on in. We were met by the manager (Robert) who carried the bags to the room after a lengthy explanation of all the facilities. The rooms were beatifully air conditioned and spacious. Definately nice and modern. Big king size bed with plenty of pillows. An array of lighting options, a seating nook and desk. I think calling it a suite is a bit of a stretch but it was a great room.

The bathroom has two sinks and a giant shower (no bath but that is ok with me). You can see they are owned by the same people that run the Pinctata Resort as the towels and some other touches are branded as such. Towels were big and fluffy, toiletries were ok and some neat bathrobes. The shower heads could do with a bit of de-calcifying as they spray everywhere!!

Couple of points to note is that the website indicates a few things that the room did not have. There is no cable TV and no DVD player in the room. The added touch of the Nespresso machine was excellent though - who drinks instant coffee anymore.

We were treated to a bottle of champagne on arrival which was just magic and very much appreciated and needed in the heat. We drank it up on the balcony outside the library which overlooks the pool - we need to stay out of the rain. The library was also a nice place to chill out in air con comfort. There is a DVD player in here. Also there is free wireless internet which was great but hit and miss in the room - we were warned the signal was weaker there.

The pool area is just wonderful and again, like your own retreat. We were lucky that there were only ever three rooms occupied so it was peaceful. That does remind me, they have a number of parrots in an aviary which are VERY noisy, especially at 5:00 am - you have been warned.

During the wet season the food offering is reduced to a continental breakfast. This is just lovely and light enough to start off the day, I believe during the dry season they offer a cooked breakfast option as well as a dinner option. It was no hassle not having this and I knew this when I booked. The food menu looked good so would be worth trying.

I would definately rush back to stay here. If you are looking for a full list of resort options then do not stay here. It does not have a spa or a pool side bar but that worked for me. Having the peace and tranquility of the place to yourselves (other than the parrots) was perfect. Also the manager was magnificent - nothing was too much trouble. Always had a useful touring or dining tip and drove us out to the airport to pick up the hire car - top bloke.

If you choose here just know that it is not a big resort, if that is waht you want head out to Cable Beach and pick one there. That works for me as it means there will be less people booking here and I can keep it to myself!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
2.8 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
27.2 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinctada McAlpine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinctada McAlpine House

Property: Pinctada McAlpine House
Address: 55 Herbert Street | (Corner Louis Street), Broome, Western Australia 6725 , Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pinctada McAlpine House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you step through the modest white picket gate onto a path sprinkled with frangipani flowers and shaded by towering palm trees, you know instantly that you are entering a special place of relaxation and solitude. The former home of Lord McAlpine, Pinctada McAlpine House has been meticulously converted into a private 8-room lodge - perhaps 'oasis' is a more fitting description. A subtle blend of historical charm and modern facilities makes McAlpine House the perfect place to reawaken the spirit. Wide open verandahs and polished timber floors complement a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere which slowly extinguishes your sense of time. We encourage you to make our boutique lodge your home for as long as you stay. By day, the atmosphere is shaped as much by the lush tropical gardens and exotic birds as it is by the personalised attentive service. At night, enjoy a moment of calm by the turquoise waters of a pool lit by a myriad of tiny lights. World class resort? Private retreat? Luxury guest house? McAlpine House defies classification, and that is precisely why it is such a unique place to completely rejuvenate your soul. With just eight rooms - each with its own style and private outdoor escape, a sense of space and escape is blended with a feel of intimacy and serenity. Create your own world among the original artwork and decor reflecting the unique colours and textures of the Kimberley, or step outside to explore the wonder, beauty and contrasts of Broome's azure waters, sweeping white beaches, distinctive red earth and eclectic culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinctada McAlpine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcalpine Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing