We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must go here if your timing is right”

Staircase To The Moon
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.07*
and up
Broome City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Camel Ride
Ranked #12 of 41 Outdoor Activities in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Must go here if your timing is right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

only a few days each month, three days when we were there, at 6:30pm the firsdt day, then 7:30 and 8:30pm.. pick your spot well..we chose the Mangrove Hotel which was good with lots of room to spread out and the added benefit of having a drink while we were waiting. what we did not know is that tables could have been reserved so we could have had a table right at the front and had dinner here while waiting... the whole thing is obviously over in half an hour more or less and if you want to take pictures don't forget your tripod, as there is not much here to rest your camera on...it get's crowded.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJ130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    41
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Moon Stair Case”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

So beautiful, if you are lucky enough to time your visit. Over three nights we saw too, The best being at Matsos for dinner and bang there was the gigantic moon could have walked right up to it.
Second night we went to Town Beach Market and tried to find a place among the crowd. Good view but was freezing and a long wait.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AprilGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowaramup, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Broome staircase”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

They call it the stairway to the stars when the full moon coincides with a low spring tide at night the reflection from the moon shines on the mud flats of Roebuck bay simulating a stairway to the moon very popular attracting many people to Broome each year

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Witnessing the Staircase to the Moon is a must if you visit Broome. The amosphere at Town Beach is great with the market on and food stalls.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariadingdongbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very pretty seeing this but I personally think that the sunsets on Cable Beach are stunning. You need a good camera & tripod to capture this photo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fifi1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staircase To The Moon also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Kimberley Region, Western Australia
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Staircase To The Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing