We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best bar in Broome”

Tides Bar & Garden Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 72 Restaurants in Broome
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Renmark, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“This is the best bar in Broome”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just wonderful views and service with perhaps some limitation in the range of beers.
Quality meals and snacks are available virtually all day and evening Kids have amazing freedom to run and play unlike any bar or restaurant area I have ever seen

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Only go there for the best view in Broome”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The view from the deck/garden of this restaurant on a resort complex is just stunning. No place in Broome, not even the famous cable beach gives you this stunning look over the ocean.
We ordered salads (Greek salads, as vegetarians we asked to have the lamb replaced with eggs) and this was an extreme disappointment. for 26 $ we received a flimsy bit of salad, hardly any greek cheese and some weak and some peas. You almost needed a microscope and it was all thrown in a rich sauce that took away all the taste.
The french fries served with were however really excellent with a great aioli sauce.
the staff were very friendly and chatty.
The invoice told it all, frankly a rip off for poor quality salads, but we enjoyed the absolute greatest view of the waterside in Broome.
My opinion: go there for a drink/cocktail, leave the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant meal I have ever had”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I thought because the Mangrove Hotel was under new management we would give the restaurant another go as we have eaten there on a few occasions and been disappointed every time. The menu is new and exciting, however the Thai Beef Salad I ordered was so revolting it was barely edible. The noodles had no seasoning and tasted like an old sponge. The beef was stone cold and dry without any dressing. And a 4 bean mix straight from the tin dumped in the bottom? Seriously, what are you thinking!!! Garlic bread was completely devoid of garlic. Others in my party ordered the Caesar salad (average) and the prawn salad (good) and my husband raved about the steak, which was well cooked and of Yeeda origin. The fish and chips was very obviously not the advertised 'mackerel'. Please don't falsely advertise your fish, especially when you are charging such exorbitant prices for such average/horrible meals. My advice is, while the location is unbeatable, definitely the best in Broome for a drink on a Sunday afternoon, bypass this place for meals. Its not worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beeksieBroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plytmouth New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great first impression”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A place you just had to stop at. Trees creating shade and birdlife, good menu and great service. Sat for some time enjoying our meal and coffee - so peaceful and rejuvenating we didn't want to leave.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank reeny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Roadhouse Would Have Been Better !”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I read the reviews and decided to give the place a go so booked for 6.30 on Monday 27th for Staircase To The Moon. Very Busy went to the bar to order our meal big line for food drinks very disorganised not enough staff,finaly ordered our meal and was given a beeper and was told when it flashes beeps or vibrates go to the bar for our meals at 7.15 the person playing the music called out our number to say our meal was ready our beeper had not gone of meal was sitting on bar COLD the staff member was unconcerned when i said the bepper did not work and wanted two new meals that were hot looking a little unhappy she took the meals away saying she would bring new meals to us soon 10 mins latter out came our meals, I believe the fish was reheated and put back on the cold chips and returned to us by this time i was completly fed up with the whole thing and left. I have been in the Hospitality Industry for 25 years as a chef and believe that some one should take charge and get some semblance of order in the place and if they can not handle that many guests dont book them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PVCAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Bar & Garden Restaurant also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Tides Bar & Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing