We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prett good”
Review of Zoo Bar and Cafe - CLOSED

Zoo Bar and Cafe
Price range: $5 - $43
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Zoo bar and Cafe combines the Old Zoo Cafe and Zeebar into one building. This provides an awesome atmosphere whether you want relaxed dinning out on the deck or Tapas and live music in the bar area. We are open from 7am to 12pm Monday to Saturday and 7am till 10pm on Sundays. We offer Breakfast from 7am to 12pm every day. Lunch from 12pm till 5:30pm and Dinner from 5:30pm till late dialy. Tapas are available from the bar 3pm till 12pm on weekdays and 12pm till close on weekends. There is live Music every Wednesday, Friday and Sunday night.Mondays: Mad Mondays, half price TapasTuesdays: Trivia TuesdaysWednesdays: Members night with live music from 6:30pmThursdays: $12 Pizza NightFridays: After work drinks with Live Music from 9pm Saturdays: Ladies Night, $10 Cocktails in the barSundays: Cider Sundays!
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“prett good”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We ate two nights as we enjoyed the first night so much we went back a second time. I do believe however that one must choose carefully when ordering. We had the lamb, barrumundi and steak over the 3 nights and thought they were excellent ,especially the lamb and fish. Staff were ok,but quality of service varied greatly,but was a pleasant 2 evenings..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    64
    33
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner at Zoo Bar”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a very pleasant dinner here, starting with the pumpkin soup, and followed by beautiful main courses. Very attentive staff, and the chef even sending out complimentary bread whilst we waited for our main course.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TrevorStrickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was fantastic...when it eventually came... 45 minutes for pancakes and a smoothie was ordered gave up waiting for it, after the pancakes arrived

Helpful?
Thank Kimberlytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Overpriced, stale food”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I arrived in Broome and found that this place was close to where we were staying so we decided to give it a go for lunch. Staff were friendly and in the main, professional. The food was another matter. I ordered the haloumi cheese salad which, in all honesty, was disgusting. Stale, limp and slimy salad bulked up with red onion and a few pieces of grilled but cold haloumi. After complaining, we were offered free coffees, but I wanted food, not coffee. A local told us that this place is now in receivership - not surprising really.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophisticant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We won't be back!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

As previous visits had been enjoyable we had no hesitation in booking our family group of 10 for dinner. Staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was not at all busy, so when we waited three quarters of an hour for the first meal for one child, then another 20 minutes for the other 3 children while they watched the first child devour hers, we should have been prepared for what followed. 2 adults ordered the gnocchi, which at $32 one would have expected it to be house made. It was chewy, doughy and in edible. To the restaurants very great credit they replaced the gnocchi with barramundi as quickly as they could, however the damage had been done, and we couldn't recommend this restaurant as value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joywAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Bar and Cafe also viewed

 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing