We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”
Review of Zoo Bar and Cafe - CLOSED

Zoo Bar and Cafe
Price range: $5 - $43
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Zoo bar and Cafe combines the Old Zoo Cafe and Zeebar into one building. This provides an awesome atmosphere whether you want relaxed dinning out on the deck or Tapas and live music in the bar area. We are open from 7am to 12pm Monday to Saturday and 7am till 10pm on Sundays. We offer Breakfast from 7am to 12pm every day. Lunch from 12pm till 5:30pm and Dinner from 5:30pm till late dialy. Tapas are available from the bar 3pm till 12pm on weekdays and 12pm till close on weekends. There is live Music every Wednesday, Friday and Sunday night.Mondays: Mad Mondays, half price TapasTuesdays: Trivia TuesdaysWednesdays: Members night with live music from 6:30pmThursdays: $12 Pizza NightFridays: After work drinks with Live Music from 9pm Saturdays: Ladies Night, $10 Cocktails in the barSundays: Cider Sundays!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the other reviews, I can agree with the service aspect- seemed to be very up themselves from the outset. The pork collar was good, could have had more sauce, and the tuna " that is cooked rare, are you ok with that?", came along - not rare, and (I might be wrong) the texture suggested it had been frozen. All in all, a sad experience, and when one pays Broome prices it should be much better.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    64
    33
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great food, aweful service”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Came here as a group of 10 at approx 8 pm over the easter period.

Place was busy enough but not full by any means. Food here was really nice, steak beautiful and really well cooked, actually all the food we had was great but we waited for over an hour for our initial drinks order to arrive from the time we sat down and we only received them as we had to chase them up.

Our food also took longer and again we had to chase this up and our order seemed to have been misplaced? we had been advised that the wait time on things were really bad by another group we had met during our stay in Broome but thought maybe this was a one off. One of the couple who was in our group also thought they would give this place another go the next morning for breakfast and again had over an hour and 15 mins wait for breakfast food at a non peak time of service. When we did approach staff on various occasions we were not received too well for our concerns and really any form of basic courtesy shown by the back packer inexperienced staff had now disappeared and we felt like we were being pains??

Would i return - no, not in a hurry - i would defiantly consider going the the cable beach club up the road fora more comfortable and professional service with food also wonderful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank varney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
469 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Good value for lunch.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went for a late lunch, as its easy walking distance from Cable Beach. There is a nice outdoor seating area which we enjoyed as there was a nice breeze. The waitress was a bit amateurish, she referred to a scrappy, screwed up bit of paper from her apron to tell us the special, and her tongue stud seemed to impede her speech. However the food was great, the lunch menu was good value, with the steak sandwich and chili mussels ordered. Both were enjoyed,as was the wine and cocktail. All up about $55 for two meals and two alcoholic drinks - not bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Menu, Good Food, hit and miss service”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Love the Tapas. Meal menus were also very good. All food we received tasted great. Setting is modern and clean. Live music was appropriate and gave a good atmosphere. Service was hit and miss - always friendly but sometimes too slow, other times fast.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tapas night at the 'Zoo'”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Zoo Bar and cafe have different specials and things going on each night. We went on a Monday which was tapas night. The food was good, but the 'Aussies' haven't quite got the hang of tapas, individual dishes come out adhoc at various times, rather than all in one go, but the food we ate was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Bar and Cafe also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing