We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

Broome Whale Watching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Broome Whale Watching and Sentosa Charters offers you the most unforgettable Eco experience the Kimberley has to offer. Enjoy an afternoon cruising Broomes tranquil waters aboard "Ballena", our 42 foot sailing catamaran. With different viewing areas "Ballena"is a fantastic stable platform to get up close and personal with the worlds largest population of Humpback whales. Enjoy a glass of wine and a cheese platter, while our beautiful whales keep you entertained. As we return to Gantheaume Point a magnificent Broome sunset ends your perfect day.In the quieter season, enjoy a beautiful Eco cruise through the stunning Roebuck Bay. Meet our local and rare Australian snub fin dolphins and search for other marine life in the bay. Let our experienced crew share the historical stories and the diversity of our recently declared marine park Roebuck Bay.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a trip with Cameron, Stephanie and Belinda on the 30th August. Within about 10 minutes of being out, we saw the first lot of whales and it didn't really stop after that. We saw quite a few pods of mum, nanny and baby and some couples as well. Cameron was great, he didn't chase the whales but waited for them to come to us.
Great value for money, a whole afternoon on the ocean. Great nibbles, Stephanie and Belinda made sure everyone was given attention and never needed for anything.
Sunset on the way home was an added bonus.
Would definitely recommend this trip for anyone going to Broome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    15
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cameron and Stephanie were welcoming and knew so much about the whales. Really happy that they didn't chase after mothers and calves who weren't interested in hanging around the boat. We had a great day and would definitely book their boat for another trip out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hardworker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Nature Experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very well organised tour & great operators who care about the animals wellfare in the first place and not just chase the whales....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Au_Travelman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out off Broome.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a wonderful Day of whale watching on Trade Winds... The Boat is exceptionally clean and stable. The Crew are very Friendly with a good knowledge of Whales. We saw heaps of whales, which came incredibly close to the boat even though we had pulled up a good distance from them. Saw females suckling their young and males Breaching. There were too man whales to Count. Cameron the Skipper made us feel safe, informed and entertained. The trip is good value finishing with a beautiful sunset on the water... Do it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BebePluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matcham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely great!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Broome Whale Watching has been operating for six years and is dedicated to just whale watching, that is the main reason I chose them, I was not disappointed! Within 30 minutes the boat stopped in perfect conditions about 120m from a pair of whales, they were so inquisitive they just came over to have a look at us looking at them and stayed for nearly an hour. What fantastic animals!
After that we saw about another four pairs of whales and some dolphins. For those that are really into photography and have cameras with large telephoto lenses, I found my 24-105mm lens more than adequate, even a "point and shoot" will do. I took some great shots , also some good videos with my point and shoot.
The captain’s name is Cameron and he is also the tour operator, a very friendly and approachable person and always willing to share his knowledge of whales. His offsider was Stefanie, a real character who not only looked after everyone and brought out nibbles and cold soft drinks, but also gave some information on the whales. You can if you wish have BYO.
This was a great experience and I have no complaints at all!
I give it a "must do" recommendation!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobandSheens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broome Whale Watching also viewed

 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Broome Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing