We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly not very clean”
Review of Seashells Broome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seashells Broome
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a last resort. Everywhere else nearby was fully booked. Online the apartments looked nice but we were greatly disappointed. The 1 bed apartment we had was adequate in size but sadly not very clean. There were black hairs all over bathroom which were really off putting. We were allowed an early checkin however I would have preferred to wait than have a dirty room. Thankfully we were only there one night.
Another thing I thought was appalling was after paying almost $300/nt there is an extra charge for pool towels $3!! I don't know how they get away with this nowhere else we stayed in Broome had this policy and we stayed in over 5 places. Also no free wifi...I would think twice before booking here.
On the plus side staff were friendly and the room was quiet in the evening.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RichKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine P, General Manager at Seashells Broome, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear RichKatie

Thank you for taking the time to review Seashells Broome. I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay. We have gone back through all of our booking records from August and reviewed our customer survey cards but cannot find a reference to a complaint made at the time of your stay. We pride ourselves on the presentation of our property and would have ensured we had our housekeeping staff rectify the problem immediately or moved you to a new apartment if you had alerted us to the problem at the time.

We are in the process of arranging free wifi for all of our properties so this will be available in Broome in coming months.

Thank you for your positive comments on our staff and I'm sorry your stay with us was not more enjoyable. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Western Australia.

Kind regards
Deb Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 238 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Found Seashells to be a good base to explore from and go back to when you have had enough of the sun. The 2 bedroom apartment was tastefully decorated and very comfortable for the whole family including our 3 year old.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Found this resort really relaxing and accommodating. Spacious accommodation, easy to use as a base for travelling around. Staff are very friendly. Everything was really clean and it seemed very easy to relax into Broome time straight away.
Nice restaurant with great food just across the road although kitchen closes at 9pm - but tapas menu available after that. A short walk to Cable Beach, pool has good shade which is essential.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here recently with our entire family (6 apartments) 2 of the children were 2 and 5 and the thing I loved most for the younger ones was that the courtyards in the 1 and 2 bedroom apartments were enclosed so they could play outside without taking off, although if they did somehow climb out, the property is fully fenced with pool fencing (another fence around the pool) so they couldn't get far. Although this does not feel at all fenced in, you don't even notice them except when you open a gate to go to your car.
Apartments are at great size with everything you could need, with modern and comfortable furnishings. Only complaint would be they need shower curtains or something as the bathroom ends up a bit wet when you take a shower.
Pool area is fantastic. Large pool with kids splash pool attached. Huge shade sails to you protected from the sun. We were here in November so heating of the pool was not a problem, may be a different story in the dry season, but they may take them down then to warm the pool better, I'm not sure.
Overall a great place to stay with or without children. Would definitely recommend and will be staying here again if we are back in Broome.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Last visited Seashells 9 years ago and had fond memories. It has since had improvements to the rooms and decor and is even better than I recalled. Such a relaxing stay in beautiful surrounds. The pool and BBQ area is fantastic and the off peak rates are good value for money (well for WA anyway). The only minor issue i had was the highchair provided had not been cleaned, which was a bit gross but not in keeping with the cleanliness of the rest of the apartment. Highly recommend Seashells though and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ec00pes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Your staff (Raels) was extremely helpful when I was trying to relocate my family from another resort in Broome. We stayed at the 3 bed bungalow and found the resort to be perfect for families with young children. We would definitely come again next time. Thank You.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Shan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our holiday at the resort was wonderful ,a special mention to Deb and all the staff who were always smiling and willing to help with anything to make our stay memorable. The new fit out in the rooms looks amazing and lush well kept gardens give it a real tropical feel. We cant wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
0.2 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#5 of 12 in Broome
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
28.8 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#8 of 12 in Broome
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashells Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Broome

Address: 4-6 Challenor Dr | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Broome
Price Range: $131 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seashells Broome 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashells Broome (4.5 star) has been specifically designed to allow families and couples to indulge in the peace and tranquility of this tropical paradise. Refurbished, fully self-contained apartments and bungalows are hidden amongst lush and secluded gardens. The resort is located just 300 metres from Cable Beach, Broome in the Kimberley region of Western Australia. Once the pearling capital of the world, Broome has a romantic and often flamboyant past. Today Broome is perhaps most well known for its spectacular 22km stretch of white sand and sparkling blue sea, which is why Cable Beach is rated amongst the top beaches in the world. Seashells Broome provides a variety of 4.5 star AAA rated fully self-contained apartments and bungalows. The accommodation is decorated with tiled floors, quality timber furnishings, well-appointed kitchens and laundries, spacious lounge and dining areas, and individual balconies or verandas. All feature Foxtel (cable TV), free in-house movies, DVD and CD players, wireless broadband internet access, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, ISD/STD telephones, coffee pod machines and a weekly housekeeping service (daily on request for additional fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seashells Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Broome Hotel Broome
Seashells Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing