We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere I think”

Broome's Last Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broome's Last Resort
Ranked #26 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Broome
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We've stayed in our fair share of hostels over the years, but there is nothing to recommend the double rooms at this one.

Although you can walk there from the airport which is a bit of a novelty!

Try elsewhere unless you are really struggling for budget (Broome is an expensive place to stay no matter what class of accomodation you are looking at).

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Broome's Last Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 40 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

The Last Resort is excellent. I spent two months there in 2007. The pool, hammock and the party atmosphere were amazing. However, a staff member and some long termers made my stay a little awkward. Otherwise, the Lastey is top notch! 'Long Live the LASTY'.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Loads of bedbugs! You are better off staying at the beach being eaten by mosquitos, my boyfriend got over 50 bites in just 1 night... The kitchen has cockroaches crawling around and the kitchen utensils are frequently being used to whack them by other backpackers. Especially the spatula, and it is NOT cleaned afterwards.
For those of you that luckily haven't encountered bedbugs before, the bites show up about 3 weeks afterwards, itch for months, scars and the little fellows are devilishly good at jumping a ride with your backpack and VERY hard to get rid off.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Moshiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

If you are looking for a nice and good priced stay in Broome we would for sure recommend Last Resort. Its very close to the centre of Broome, just few minutes walk, there is a nice pool where you can just relax during your travelling and just enjoy a sunny broomes day. All the facilities in Last Resort are ok, good kitchen equipment, nice rooms with airconditioning or fan. If comming to Broome again it will be sure the place where we gonna stay and enjoy friendly personal and also breakfast offerded every morning, already incl. in price :). Have a nice stay, Kate Rob and Philip

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and tried to spend as much time away from it as possible. If you like the social, clubbing, getting drunk and not cleaning, backpackery, gap year places then stay here otherwise don't! We normally stay in campsites but Broome didn't have any. This place is dirty and falling down! Our dorm room was dark, smelly, dusty and the sheets had holes in and the windows didn't shut so got bitten. The bathroom is very dirty with mud and hair and the door doesn't shut and only one shower works. The kitchen is one big mess with no-one washing up after themselves and it stinks. There's a pool and tv area and it's packed. The internet is quite expensive too. The owner is very over the top and thinks he's being friendly but is actually quite rude. The foreign receptionists are awful!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTrip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I've stayed a to Broome's Last Resort Backpackers Lodge, and I certainly had the best time at this 'no-frills' accommodation lodge, and i really feel that this is a great place for the tourist or group of travellers who are all looking for economical accommodation, and there is no doubt that they will enjoy their really fun time stay at this lodging facility.

I had the absolute best time at Broome's Last Resort Backpackers Lodge, and any time I go to Broome, this is the place that I will be staying at, because it suited my budget, so I do not need to look anywhere else, because it is definately a place where you will meet lots of nice people, and the place has a good feel about it, so give the manager Pete a call, and he will take care of your accommodation needs!

Room Tip: Simple and economical accommodation!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Positive points: walkable distance from the airport and city, free breakky, free shuttle towards cable Beach, friendly manager, nice pool and pool garden, cheap bar
Negative points: the beds are really -really- bad and tiny, the matresses are as old as used, the doors don't lock, the rooms are messy and small, dirty kitchen, unfriendly staff.
It's cheap and easy to go to from the airport, which is why we would recommend it if you're staying in Broome for 1 night, plus, they will drive you to the beach and store your luggage. If you're staying longer, find somewhere else: your back will appreciate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny285728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
28.0 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Klub
Kimberley Klub
#23 of 29 in Broome
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cable Beach Backpackers
Cable Beach Backpackers
#11 of 29 in Broome
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Reflections Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
BroomeTown B&B
BroomeTown B&B
#1 of 14 in Broome
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ochre Moon B&B
Ochre Moon B&B
#7 of 14 in Broome
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broome's Last Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome's Last Resort

Address: 2 Bagot Street, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Broome
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing