We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Very Average....Looking worn out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Broome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Broome
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Very Average....Looking worn out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded, so we were pleased.....at that moment. The room I had paid extra for was a Pool Side privilege room, which was meant to have free internet, minibar, choc and of course a pool view.....We got none of these!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The so called upgrade was facing the park with no view of the pool at all. We asked reception how this is an upgrade and showed them the picture from the internet of the room I paid for....which was the most expensive on their website..... yet it fell on deaf ears.

The room we got was nice inside but it was not the one I paid for. We felt ripped off!!! Breakfast at $25 each was poor. Refills of the food and drink didn't happen, we got to the breakfast room with 50 minutes until close, so there was plenty of time left. The juices were empty and the food was looking poorly presented and very empty.

The location is ok, a 15min walk to the town, Matso's across the street and Town beach 10 mins walk the other way. Bus stop is just outside to the leftside of the hotel if you are facing the entrance.

As we checked out, we heard the reception staff checking someone in and we heard them say to the new guest........I've upgraded you. The same old story we got....yeah yeah of course you did.

Do yourself a favour, spend a bit more and go nearer cable beach. We stayed here as it was all I could get. The better hotels were full.

It seems another reviewer before me on tripadvisor has stated a similar thing to me about the so called upgrade!!! Must be their special upgrade with actually means downgrade!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    179
    141
    58
    27
See reviews for
61
220
62
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent one night here in June in a wheelchair accessible room. Rooms very small, a long distance from reception necessitating a lengthy push while juggling luggage. No offer of assistance from reception staff.
I could not recommend this place to anyone in a wheelchair as the rooms were just too small. In the bathroom paint was pealing off the walls hence the title of this review.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dustoff70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patina F, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Broome. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I will pass the maintenance feedback on to our team so they can rectify the issue immediately, and also ensure reception are offering assistance to all of our guests with their luggage. The property is quite spread out so I do understand the walk to the room is lengthy, and the staff should certainly be helping out.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Patina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked for a superior poolside room for our stay in Broome. The room allocated was actually facing the road with no view of the pool whatsoever.
I went back to reception and said. it was a bit of a stretch calling this a Superior poolside room and was totally misleading with the room more like a "donga" and facing the road. Where is the pool?.
Luckily there was a better room available in the new part of the hotel. Breakfast was buffet style all precooked with no option to order anything. The gardens were poorly kept and not your typical resort style accommodation.
We only intended to stay a few nights prior to going to Eco beach resort and intended to return back to Broome before flying out. No chance in going back there and booked a room in Pinctada. Now that is a resort with great rooms, great view and beautiful pool and landscaping. We will go back to Pictada and never to return to the Mecure Broome.
Very disappointing ACCOR.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank chrisfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patina F, Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Broome. I am truly sorry to hear about your experience, and if you would like to discuss it with me further I would be happy to hear from you. We have reviewed the names of our rooms and are making changes to ensure there is no mis understanding with the rooms booked, and also ensure the staff are aware of the different types of rooms.
Kind Regards
Patina Farnham
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broome hotels

Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here on the evening of the 8th of June following working offshore for 5 weeks, I was pleasantly surprised with the bright clean hotel reception and the accommodation was comfortable, I was disappointed that the wifi signal was a little poor and by the time I managed to connect to it my time was almost up. The receptionist was pleasant and tried to help as much as possible with my internet connection issue. the room was well presented, spacious and clean. The room service was great, as was the food that they delivered.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to reception have better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patina F, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Mercure Broome. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your feedback regarding the WiFi onto our IT team in Sydney as we will continue to work to improve this service.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you when you next return to Broome.
Kind Regards,
Patina Farnham
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

First impressions are good. Fairly modern and the rooms have a good warm feel to them. The shower in my particular room was horrendous. Very large, but the water pressure was not more than a dribble and the temperature was hardly controllable, either too hot or too cold. Location.....quiet. A good 20-30 minute walk to town and a bus ride to Cable Beach. Power in room is controlled with your room key which is common, however in this climate hardly practical after arriving back from a walk, your room is very stuffy again till the air con has a chance to kick in. Breakfast was good. Overall an average experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Mercure in Broome. On arrival it was obvious the entrance and surrounds are overdue for attention. Seating in the Reception area sags & is obviously old, as is the counter. Worn paint, outdoor furniture devoid of stain & preservative, pathways in need of attention are the things a visitor sees on arrival. The rooms are average. The only chair needed repairing as one of the wooden arms was broken and lifted when one moved the chair. The ceiling was mouldy around the edges. The ceiling fan was either dirty or rusty. The toilet flush was faulty as it just kept flushing and it took several presses of the button to stop it. The bed was comfortable with clean linen and covering. For the prices the Mercure charges it should be so much better. We booked 3 months prior to our stay and after comparing prices on various websites, paid $164 a night. On some sites the rate was much higher. As we were leaving we overheard the receptionist quoting $192 to some customers who viewed a room a few doors from the one in which we stayed. Accommodation everywhere in Broome is very expensive. Being remote should not be an excuse to charge such high prices without providing the quality that goes with such prices elsewhere.

Room Tip: If possible, ask to view prior to booking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our first night of three with two return visits over the next two weeks. Our room was fine overlooking the park. Breakfast a little disappointing. Full breakfast was served with a bowl of spaghetti, two hard eggs and a cold sausage, not nice. Coffee ran out with the chef going to the store to obtain coffee. Water was cold to make a cup of tea. Not the ideal start to the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 18Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
2.9 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#2 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
27.3 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Broome

Property: Mercure Broome
Address: Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Broome 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Inn Continental Broome is set between a vast red desert and azure blue sea, Just walking distance from the heart of Broome, and only 10 minute drive from the spectacular pristine white sands of Cable Beach, making the Mercure Inn Continental Broome the ideal location to explore Broome and it’s surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Broome Hotel Broome
Mercure Hotel Continental Broome
Accor Hotel Continental Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing