We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopeless”
Review of Mercure Broome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Broome
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Broome
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Don't do it, don't book here. Broome has much to offer but it's not here. The staff are backpackers who are open about their desire to leave. As is everyone else by the end of their first night! The restaurant is terrible, food is over cooked and over priced. We have stayed and eaten here a number of times and it never gets better.
We booked early (several months in advance) only to be disappointed by much cheaper prices closer to the booking, and then to be put in a run down room! There is limited light in the bathroom (a dark shower), the TV remote doesn't work and the pillows are flat, flat, flat. Should have stayed somewhere else - never here again.What a shocker.

Room Tip: Anywhere but here, try the Cable Beach area. If you must stay here, ask to be put in the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Jessica A

Thank you for your feedback.
I am very disappointed to read about your experience.
The vast majority of the feedback we get about our restaurant and food is very positive.
From your comments I assume that you stayed for more than one night, I was wondering if at any stage you raised any of your issues with the front office or management team?
I would be more than happy for you to contact me about these issues as I can assure that they are things I would like to resolve.
geoffrey.nocher@accor.com

Again thank you for your feedback.

Geoffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 554 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Never will I stay at the Mercure Broome again.
I travelled to Broome for business and what an ordeal it was to stay at this hotel.

Firstly the hotel was overrun by drunken natives who were up all hours drinking and being extremely loud, swearing and fighting with each other.

When they were finally asked to leave by hotel staff, they simply jumped the fence and continued partying and brought in more alcohol. I had a drunken woman bash at my door yelling and screaming to be let in.

The staff were very hard to get in contact with when I made my complaints, and it seems they simply just allowed the above go on.

I was happy to leave this hotel and get a good nights sleep elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamSmitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear "Iamsmitten"

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Broome. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have stayed in a few Mecure with the Accor Advantage Plus card and found the hotel to be nice and well presented, but then find that the mattress on the bed is bad. I am getting a bit sicl paying for the nice hotel when the main thing about the motel is a good nights sleep, this is easier achieved if the bed is comfortable.

Why can't hotels buy a large number of mattresses at a discounted rate and pay them off over a period of time?

I have told some of the management, but they seem not that interested. So if yo uwant to improve your service that you praise to be the best, I suggest that you look at the quality of your bedding.

Thank you

Nick O'Connor

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Mercure would like to thank you for your feedback.

We are disapointed to hear that you did not have a comfortable nights sleep as we have recently replaced the mattresses in the hotel.

Once again we thank you for your feedback.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were disappointed with this hotel. The first room we got was basic but the bathroom was filthy, could not have dreamt of having a bath in there. We were moved, amicably I must say, to a better room but the water from the shower flowed out into the bathroom. No safe. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8,495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

We are disapointed to hear that your stay recently was not up to your standard and appreciate your feedback on you stay. we are currently in the process of refurbishing the hotel rooms which unfortunately is a timely process.

Again we thank you for your feedback


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandkvegera
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanneandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Mercure Broome - IF you have too.......

Needed a central town location in Broome so chose the Mercure

Reception on check in was pleasant but disorganised

Everything looked tired, grounds were untidy, small amounts of rubbish and debris scattered around the garden beds etc

TV was unable to tune in properly to any Channel

Bathroom was dirty, mouldy and simply old

Attached Irish Bar is worth a visit for a cold beer

Hotel Food is very average and sparse sterile dining room experience barely passes as a restaurant

Average location - a bit to far from town, and not close enough to anything else

All round average experience without being unpleasant

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalCitizen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for you feedback on your stay here at the Mercure Broome.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#8 of 12 in Broome
343 reviews
3 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Moonlight Bay Suites
Moonlight Bay Suites
#2 of 12 in Broome
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
0.3 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#9 of 12 in Broome
443 reviews
27.3 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Broome

Address: Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range: $81 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Broome 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Continental Broome is set between a vast red desert and azure blue sea, Just walking distance from the heart of Broome, and only 10 minute drive from the spectacular pristine white sands of Cable Beach, making the Mercure Continental Broome the ideal location to explore Broome and it’s surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Broome Hotel Broome
Mercure Hotel Continental Broome
Accor Hotel Continental Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing