We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mercure Broome - Tired Old Motel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Broome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Broome
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Mercure Broome - Tired Old Motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Mercure Broome - IF you have too.......

Needed a central town location in Broome so chose the Mercure

Reception on check in was pleasant but disorganised

Everything looked tired, grounds were untidy, small amounts of rubbish and debris scattered around the garden beds etc

TV was unable to tune in properly to any Channel

Bathroom was dirty, mouldy and simply old

Attached Irish Bar is worth a visit for a cold beer

Hotel Food is very average and sparse sterile dining room experience barely passes as a restaurant

Average location - a bit to far from town, and not close enough to anything else

All round average experience without being unpleasant

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalCitizen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for you feedback on your stay here at the Mercure Broome.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    179
    141
    58
    27
See reviews for
61
220
62
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was probably our least favourite of the 5 hotels we stayed in on our Oz trip. The room was quite small with faded furniture and bath old and dirty looking. Pool was uninviting. They made us wait til 2 pm to check in and yet had to check out by 10am when leaving. Why do they need 4 hours to clean the room? Seems like the hotel's convenience is ranked higher than the guests. Saving graces: a nice location on pretty esplanade near to bus stop and Irish pub attached to hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Des Langford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We thank you for your feedback on you stay with us here in Broome.

We are dissapointed to hear that the swiming pool was uninviting to you as it is one of our highlights of the property, it is pleasing to hear that you were happy with the location of the hotel being only a short walk or bus ride to the town centre.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broome hotels

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just a one night stay at The Mercure. Arrived quite late so needed a speedy check-in which is what I got. Reception staff very helpful. Room was fine if a little on the small side but OK for one person. Breakfast a little pricey (25 Australian dollars) but worth it as it was all you could eat and that was a lot in my case as I was really hungry!! Had both full English and continental. Good central location for all that there is to see and do in Broome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We here at the Mercure are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us.

It is great to hear that you had a speedy check-in as you mentioned you were late arrriving and just wanted to get into your room, we are glad that you were pleased with our hotels location also.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Returned yesterday from 2 weeks staying at the Mercure Broome. Having read some negative reviews I was quite appprehensive, however, I found the Mercure an excellent hotel to stay at. Great rooms, good pools, nice staff, bus at the door and walking distance to town. Irish pub and bottle shop next door.
Compared to other accomodation in Broome this hotel is reasonably priced for no apparent reason. Very well appointed rooms with balconies or verandahs.
I look forward to my next stay at Mercure Broome...well done Mercure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Broome appreciates your feedback on you stay with us here at the Mercure.

It is great to hear that you found our hotel convenient to your needs such as the pools, bus stop, Irish pub and bottle shop. We are pleased that you enjoyed the benefit of having your own private balcony over looking the pool or bay.

We look forward to your return and hope that your stay is a pleasant as the last.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectation and was excellent value for money, I have stayed in many Mercure hotels and this one is the best I have stayed in, it was quiet comfortable and the two pools ment that the pool near our room was mostly empty.
Perhaps the menue in the dining room could be more extensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonie_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Mercure Broome and staff are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in Broome, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the benefit of having two pool's on the property and that we had exceeded your expectations.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just back from a few days in Broome. Stayed here. Had requested and early checkin because of arrival time. Room was not ready. Had to wait 2 hours. We had booked a poolside room, which seemed to be issue as it took them 3 attempts to issue the correct room. Room was ok, but the shower needed some work. Handy to the bus route which is a bonus if you don't have a car.
Was glad i got the deal through wotif, as i would consider the nornal price for this type of room a bit expensive, but then again thats Broome. Good meals in the Irish pub next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tum18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey N, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on you stay with us here at the Mercure Broome,

We have taken into account your comments about the check-in process, it's always pleasing to hear that our guests make use of the town bus service which is a convenient stroll around the corner of the property, we are also plased to hear that you enjoyed the Murphy's Irish Pub's menu.


Sincerely,

Geoffrey Nocher
General Manager
Mercure Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
2.9 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
27.3 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Broome

Property: Mercure Broome
Address: Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Broome 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Inn Continental Broome is set between a vast red desert and azure blue sea, Just walking distance from the heart of Broome, and only 10 minute drive from the spectacular pristine white sands of Cable Beach, making the Mercure Inn Continental Broome the ideal location to explore Broome and it’s surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Broome Hotel Broome
Mercure Hotel Continental Broome
Accor Hotel Continental Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing