We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and central 3 star Hotel in Broome, not for young ones.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Broome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Broome
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quiet and central 3 star Hotel in Broome, not for young ones.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Nice quiet hotel along Roebuck Bay (mangrove side).The new section is, well, new. The older section where we were has seen better days externally. Could do with some revamp. Inside the room has been fully refurbished, but the bathroom has only been partly refurbished, and it looks old. Several cracked tiles around the pool, old fashioned.
The Conti "bistro" restaurant is average: plastic chairs and table and basic menu in the evening, nothing fancy. The breakfast is much better.As for the room service, it's good value for money: good serves and very tasty.++
But most of the staff is very helpful; the food and beverage manager and his assistant are excellent. Same with Eve, the front desk person, very kind. Clientele is mostly quiet couples of older age. not too many young ones and kids.
The hotel is about 400m from Matso's brewery and 25mn walk from the Town Centre.
If you want to live the high life (and night life) this is not the place for you.
Overall a good australian 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcme41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Us4sims, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Dear jcme41,
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at Mercure Broome.
I have noted your comments on certain parts externally of the of the hotel.We are looking to paint and refresh the original part of the hotel this year so it looks as good as the new section so hopefully on your next visit you will see an improved product .
Regarding your other comments on the food product and the service you recieved from our staff members I will be sharing your feedback with all the staff and in particular the staff you have mentioned by name as it is very pleasing when good service is recognised by our guests.
Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Broome in the future.

Regards
Grahame Seymour.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    179
    142
    58
    27
See reviews for
62
220
63
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

The service, especially the desk pesonnel was excellent. Very friendly and co-operative front desk and so efficient. The cleanliness in the rooms was Ok but the balconies and front paths of units were often not swept.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

The Mercure is excellent in Broome, great service, very nice dining (esp breakfast and dinner) and a welcome reprieve from the heat. The best part is that the staff live on site and love working there so they are available 24 hours.

I stayed there for three nights, and at least one of these had to be booked at very short notice. The hotel was only too happy to accommodate me. I also thought the book exchange was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Us4sims, General Manager at Mercure Broome, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear Traveller ,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Mercure Broome . I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and particulary enjoyed our breakfast and dinner dining .
I will pass on your feedback to all the staff including the new head chef who has just joined the hotel and is currently working on all the menus in preperation for another very busy season at Mercure Broome
I was also glad to see you enjoyed the book exchange we have in the foyer which is popular with house guests who have forgotten to bring a book with them or just want to have a browse while sitting in the foyer overlooking Roebuck Bay .

Once again thank you for your feedback .

Grahame Seymour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
3.0 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
27.3 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Broome-Time Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Broome

Property: Mercure Broome
Address: Weld Street | PO Box 79, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Broome 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Inn Continental Broome is set between a vast red desert and azure blue sea, Just walking distance from the heart of Broome, and only 10 minute drive from the spectacular pristine white sands of Cable Beach, making the Mercure Inn Continental Broome the ideal location to explore Broome and it’s surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Broome Hotel Broome
Mercure Hotel Continental Broome
Accor Hotel Continental Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing