We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Until the midges started to bite”
Review of Roebuck Bay

Roebuck Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$480.21*
and up
Half-Day Buccaneer Explorer Air and Land Tour from Broome
Ranked #14 of 63 things to do in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Until the midges started to bite”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We looked out over Roebuck Bay every day for 8 days. The water colour is beautiful but the mangroves along the waters edge house some ferocious midges !!! There is a lot of bird and bat life to watch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nod442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Crystal blue water and many places to sit and relax and look at the view. Plenty of fish to catch and things to do.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meekatharra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Bay”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The colours of this bay are amazing. The red cliffs, the turquoise ocean, the bright beaches and the green shrubs and mangroves. Beautiful. We did the Hovercraft tour which was a fantastic way of discovering the bay. The dinosaur footprints are said to be the best preserved dinosaur foot prints in the world and take you right back in time. Learning about the birds that travel all the way from the Northern Hemisphere down to Australia and feed here on the tidal flats was interesting and amazing. I was hoping to see a saltwater crocodile but we didn't get to see any. Maybe they live further up the creek?

You get a great view over the bay from the Mangrove Hotel, apparently the highest point in Broome.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Svenja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Stairway to the Moon”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

No one believed until we went, and planned our holiday for the full moon, and guess what.....a market, dinner at the pub, and the stairway to the moon in full lustre. Beautiful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ekbg2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Such natural beauty”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We did the hovercraft around this area. So much fun, a must try whilst visiting Broome. Do not forget to check our the dinosaur footprints.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellers693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roebuck Bay also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Roebuck Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing