We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A long way to go” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sacred Heart Church

Sacred Heart Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$167.48*
and up
Explore Cape Leveque and Aboriginal Communities from Broome with Optional...
Ranked #9 of 58 things to do in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A long way to go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This little church is lovely but it's a trek to get there.
The altar is absolutely beautiful.
Worth a visit but there is absolutely nothing else to see other than the church once you're there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bbsydney96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    53
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So peaceful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well worth the long bumpy trip to see this amazing historicial church. To sit and watch the detail that has gone into this church is amazing. Check out other sites along the way, BUT be aware there is entrance fees to some arears (like $20 head) to just look at the beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marlene h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A gem in a remote area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

A beautiful church midway to Cape Leveque, definitely worth calling in to see. The artwork on the walls, altar & pulpit was a beautiful blend of local history & culture combined with the introduction of Christianity by the Missionaries early in the century. Decorated with shells & mother of pearl it is obviously precious to the local community. Combine this church with other attractions on the Dampier Peninsular. Definite 4 wheel drive or take one of the tours to get here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank armles50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This little church is a must to visit.It is so simple looking from the outside but just an amazing alter.It is so beautiful made of mother of pearl.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Gem In The Bush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This church was on the list of things we wanted to do and I am happy to say we were able to tick this one off the list.
Nothing like I expected.
A little dog came out from inside the church to greet us at the entrance, once we were inside he laid down under a seat and quickly drifted off to sleep.
It is nothing that you could imagine when you think about where this church is. It is obviously well looked after and respected by all who visit and those who live in the community. We sat for a short while and soaked up the peace that lies within the walls of this church. Some great photo opportunities were taken advantage of. There is no fee attached to this attraction but if you would like to give a little donation there is a box as you enter.
As we left the resident "church dog" escorted us outside to our car and as we drove off we watched him reenter the building to take his rest for a little while.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ForbesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacred Heart Church also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Sacred Heart Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing