We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short”
Review of Broome Hovercraft

Broome Hovercraft
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Broome Hovercraft Eco Adventure tours offers experiences that are truly unique, exciting and unforgettable. We have several scenic and historic tours around Roebuck Bay and cater for a wide range of special occasions and charter flights.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too short”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Travelling with my mother (80s) it was not practical to do the clamber over rocks to see the footprints at Gantheaume Point. So we were happy when I found this option. It takes you to a differnt set of footprints and the only climbing needed is in and out of the hovercraft via steps with staff assisting.
The guide was informative and to start with I would not have picked the footprints without their help. The view from the hovercraft of Roeback bay gave a different perspective to the places we had travelled past on various buses.
Only disappointment is that for someone who likes to roam over areas and spend time taking photos - and then retaking them - there was not enough time. Not sure if they will do it, but it might be worth asking if you can go over on one tour and return on the next tour - probably give you an extra half hour there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    57
    12
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent for families and dinosaur enthusiasts”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hovercraft ride is massively fun! You gotta try it! Miles, the pilot, is passionate about dinosaur prints and will take you to see dinosaur prints on a sacred beach, which is not easy to find. He is a fount of knowledge. After that, we stopped on the mudflats and the kids searched for starfish. As the sun set, we stood with sand and mud squishing between our toes, drank champagne and ate the beautiful food Miles supplied. It was surprisingly magical. Something I will always remember.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Service all the way with this company. June picked me up from the hotel and then there was an open bar if needed and views of Roebuck Bay as we waited for the craft to zoom up the concrete ramp. The commentary provided by the pilot was witty, informative, courteous and participatory, and before I knew it, I was off hovering over the water and mudflats to the red cliffs around the bay. Yes we had to be educated as to how to see the dinosaur footprints and then miraculously there were so many of them appearing in the rocks. Imagining these huge creatures on a muddy woodland when I was standing at the same place on a rocky foreshore between mangroves and dunes was a stretch for my modern mind! Loved the hors d'oevrs and glass of champagne and watching the sunset while worrying about how quickly the tide was coming in. Would have liked more champagne. Very enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“They'rrrreee great!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

To make a long story short, due to various airline changes and delays, the folks at Broome Hovercraft helped us twice to make sure we could get on one of their tours. We were picked up at the airport to enable us to make the sunset tour and even called our hotel to let them know we would be checking in late. The tour itself was excellent, Miles, our guide was knowledgeable and interacted well with our group. If you are a dinosaur fan, seeing the tracks are so cool. The sunset was absolutely gorgeous and the ride was fun. It wasn't as noisy inside the hovercraft as I thought it would be. Highly Recommend!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fun and informative tour to see the amazing dinosaur prints - thoroughly enjoyed it!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We took our 2 kids (aged 8 & 9) on the prehistoric tour to see the dinosaur prints as a last-minute booking when we heard family friends were going and we had some free time. We are so glad we did, because it was a surprisingly great tour! I was initially concerned that the tour would be expensive if we were unable to get to the prints because of the tides, but the resort were quick to reassure me at the time of booking that the tour departure time each day is determined by the tides themselves and the ability to get to the prints - so if you book the prehistoric tour, you will get to see dinosaur prints, and what amazing prints they are!!

The hovercraft itself looks like a canary yellow version of Number 2 from the Thunderbirds (and it seems to be of a similar vintage with the internals reminiscent of an 80s panel van!). Apparently they are in the process of commissioning a new hovercraft which hopefully is as groovy as this one (but with better air-conditioning and ventilation perhaps). Whilst it is not the most comfortable mode of water transport, it is a fascinating vessel and a fun way to get out and see the bay.

Broome Hovercraft is a family business, and this is evident in the level of pride, friendliness & personalised attention given by all the staff (from June who collected us from our accommodation, to Roger who greeted us on our arrival, and Myles who was our hovercraft skipper & tour guide). Myles was an excellent guide - very witty, knowledgeable & informative - and he kept a captive audience of young & old for the entire tour. It was a great learning experience, and the number and clarity of these awe-inspiring dinosaur prints incredible!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broome Hovercraft also viewed

 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Broome Hovercraft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing