We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chips”

Cable Beach General Store and Cafe
Ranked #23 of 73 Restaurants in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good value fish and chips here. Broome is pricey - this was good value for 4 adults at $40. Very nice fish - cooked while u wait.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank goodwill_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    90
    35
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Expensive $$$$”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have to simply concur with some of the comments that have been made. This place seems intent on extracting as much $$$ as they can from the tourists. One Magnum ice-cream $4.90 = one customer who will never return. You only get caught once.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tranzactnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
271 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great amenity”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The general store rescued us from the failure of wi-fi at the Frangipani Resort. Good little convenience store.
Good quality coffee and casual dining

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“mmm has very very little to offer”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

just go to town and fill up at coles or woolies. The convenience of this store is not matched by their stock- they have hardly anything on offer except if you are used to extremely poor diets, and the prices!!!! Ha!
But I tried their toasted sandwich and that was very nice. So convenient for take-aways- not so for food purchasing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Njays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Cable Beach General Store and Cafe, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review – especially the part about the toastie! I agree that supermarkets have a much larger range that us, but in our small shop we do offer 260 popular grocery lines; fresh fruit & vegetables; ice & bait; newspapers & magazines; ice creams & drinks; beach gear, souvenirs, postcards. Plus phone credit, internet, WiFi & printer. Also 18 holes of mini golf - and a cafe. All of it open seven days a week including public holidays. Our prices are standard for convenience stores in regional WA reflecting high rental, power and staff costs. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not as impressed as previously”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had lunch there, food was ok but served with friendly smile.what my wife noticed is the range of goods they were selling in deli section has declined, which we found handy in a self contained holiday accommodation. Without asking I think the shop has changed hands since our visit last year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank paddles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cable Beach General Store and Cafe also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Cable Beach General Store and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing