We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do when in Broome!!!”

Ships of the Desert
Ranked #19 of 50 Tours in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1981, Ships of the Desert is Broome’s original and best camel tour operator in Broome, Western Australia. Come and enjoy your choice of morning, afternoon or sunset tour on the captivating Cable Beach. Our point of difference is that we guarantee not just a camel ride, but an authentic camel experience. This is due to our carefully selected and professionally trained staff and camels!Listen to the stories and adventures of our camels and staff as they have trekked across Australian deserts, raced in different states and featured in television shows and movies such as the feature film, Australia!Australia’s friendliest camels await you- Book early for a good-looking one!
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“A must do when in Broome!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Easily the most enjoyable experience I've had in Broome. The camels are well behaved and the staff are friendly and informative. I would definitely recommend a tour with ships of the desert.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacobus06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your recommendation! The team at Ships are delighted this was your most enjoyable experience whilst in Broome!
Please come and visit us again.

Thanks, Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    15
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Relaxing, enjoyable and beautiful scenery”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed this tour. I recommend taking the pre-sunset tour because it is cheaper and still amazing. The tour people were very friendly and helpful and really made the experience enjoyable. It's best to come early and scope out the camels to see which ones are calmer. I found the camels towards the front were best. Highly recommended, a must do Broome experience!

Helpful?
Thank Write_On_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Manager at Ships of the Desert, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Bella,

It's great to hear our tour guides made your experience! It's a great idea to come down five minutes early and you can give the camels a pat and take lot of photo's before the tour begins!

Thanks for recommending Ships of the Desert!

Jamie Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Bliss!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was so much more wonderful than I anticipated! An incredibly relaxing and joyful experience for all ages. Friendly, informative crew and gentle camels. Thanks for the fantastic service and professional-quality photos too! There is no better way to enjoy sunset in Broome. Simply a must-do!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks for choosing to ride with Ships of the Desert, our staff and camels are just fantastic! The sunset tour is a great relaxing way to finish your day, we are thrilled to hear the service and experience we provided more wonderful than you anticipated.
Please come and visit us the next time you are in Broome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We did the sunset tour, and traveling up and down cable beach on top of a camel was quite an experience! The team at Ships of the Desert provided lots of information about camels and how they train them, and were helpful in taking lots of pictures for us with our own cameras and at the end we had to the opportunity to buy their own photographers professional photos. A different, and fun, way to watch the beautiful Broome sunset.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Adriana,

Riding these ships of the desert is an amazing experience, made truly extraordinary by the beautiful beach and stunning sun sets.

We hope to welcome you aboard again in the future. Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical experience with a magical sunset”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The camel ride along Cable Beach was a great experience. It was a lot of fun and the camels are well trained. The staff were knowledgeable about each camel and it was great that they would tell you about the camel's personality that you were riding. The staff were very professional, helpful and very friendly and they even take photos for you with your own camera. They made getting on and off the camels easy and the whole experience a success. Riding along with the sunset in view was truly magical. I definitely recommend it and would do it again!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaJM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi Lisa,

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

We are delighted you had a magical experience with Ships of the Desert.

Please come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ships of the Desert also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Ships of the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing