We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute must do! Ride with Ships of the Desert!!!”

Ships of the Desert
Ranked #16 of 40 Outdoor Activities in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1981, Ships of the Desert is Broome’s original and best camel tour operator in Broome, Western Australia. Come and enjoy your choice of morning, afternoon or sunset tour on the captivating Cable Beach. Our point of difference is that we guarantee not just a camel ride, but an authentic camel experience. This is due to our carefully selected and professionally trained staff and camels!Listen to the stories and adventures of our camels and staff as they have trekked across Australian deserts, raced in different states and featured in television shows and movies such as the feature film, Australia!Australia’s friendliest camels await you- Book early for a good-looking one!
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute must do! Ride with Ships of the Desert!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was an amazing experience, and the camels are absolutely beautiful.

Jamie and his team made this an unforgettable experience. I really wanted to do a camel ride but was quite nervous, so rang the different camel companies to get more information. This company were so friendly and informative, answering all of my questions and more, that we choose the black and yellow camels.

When we first arrived at the yellow marquee, we were greeted by very friendly and happy staff and they recommended a camel for my family and I to go and pat, which the children just loved! The camels are very affectionate, happy and just looked so well looked after.

Jamie picked out a camel for us to ride, and the staff helped us on. On the ride, the team walked along beside us, and told us some amazing stories about the camels we were riding, and their knowledge and history of the animals is wonderful. I came away really feeling inspired, having learnt so much about these majestic creatures.

We got some fabulous photo's and the tour guides took even better ones along the ride on our own camera. Plus they have a professional photographer who took some of the best photo's of my family on the camels and also ones of all the camels with the sun setting behind. I just had to purchase these photo's as a reminder of what a fantastic experience we had. The children each choose a beautiful soft toy camel too, which they have named after the camels they rode.

I cannot recommend Ships of the Desert enough. We had a great experience, and the service was first class. Anyone visiting Broome has to ride Ships of the Desert.

Thank you so much to the whole team, we absolutely loved the camel ride!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank green75r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your amazing review! It is always a pleasure to receive such fantastic feedback and we will be sure to let our staff know they are doing a great job!

We are glad your family had an excellent experience with Ships of the Desert, be sure to come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    15
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gurgling with pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Riding a camel in a train presents a wonderful opportunity to admire their utilitarian beauty. Some patrons find the guttural vocal expulsions a little threatening, I reckon it's pleasure though :-)
Over the years we reckon we've ridden the beach at sunset five times. Tonights ride was great.

The first ride we had maybe fifteen years or so ago had one magic ingredient that tonight's ride was missing - a really good interpretive commentary. It's such a great opportunity to expand participants' knowledge around the history of camels in Australia and the great things they still have to offer we're surprised no-one seems to do it any more.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank frithed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi Frithed,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We agree a camel ride at sunset is a fantastic experience.

I am sorry you feel you missed the interpretive commentary, our camel staff are extremely well trained and knowledgeable on our camels and the history of camels in Australia. On the first half of the tour, the staff come along and speak with each passengers about their camel and the history of camels. Passengers are invited to ask any questions they may have. Then on the second half of the sunset tour, our staff take photo's from both sides of the train with the passengers own camera's. Many passengers often remark how they have come away having learnt so much about these amazing animals!

Please contact us; bookings@shipsofthedesert.com.au because we would like follow up on your feedback and always welcome suggestions on how we can add to the customers experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Camels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had a fabulous ride on "Harley" on Broome Beach. The tour operators were very friendly and helpful and they had the happiest camels on the beach! No spitting or biting or disgruntled camels here - it was a joyous experience! We booked at the Tourist Information centre and the cost was a fraction of what we would have paid on board our cruise ship! I can now say I have rode a harley on the beach!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi Marie,

Thanks for your comments they are much appreciated! Aren't the camels just gorgeous, and very much misunderstood animals! Our camels are all very well looked after and defiantly the happiest on Cable Beach!

Our staff always ensure your experience is fun! You certainly can say you have rode harley on the beach - lol!

Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gold for Ships of the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I did the sunset tour a couple of days ago. What a fantastic experience and terrific team. There are a number of operators and I'm so glad I chose GOLD. 3 tour guides walked with us and were all really friendly. A sincere thank you for taking the photos whilst we were on the camels. You caught an amazing shot with me on raja (he's so photogenic), with the sun setting in the background. Watching the sun set over cable beach on a camel is a must-do. Thanks again team.

Helpful?
Thank nic049049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your review Nic, it is much appreciated. Your very right, Rajah love having his photo taken!!! And our tour guides love their job, who can blame them!!! Come back and visit us soon.
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“A must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The team were so friendly and helpful. Took photos with our camera while we were riding the camels which is great so you're not obligated to buy the pictures they take. They were very conscious of our safety. Great experience all round.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank vanessa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hi Vanessa,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, it is much appreciated.

We aim to provide our customers with a fantastic experience on these iconic animals, and passenger safety is a priority. Taking photo's on your own camera's is a service we provide as part of the tour, along with the option to purchase professional photo options and merchandise to complete your camel ride experience.

We hope you can visit us again!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ships of the Desert also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Ships of the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing