We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Camels”

Ships of the Desert
Ranked #21 of 50 Tours in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1981, Ships of the Desert is Broome’s original and best camel tour operator in Broome, Western Australia. Come and enjoy your choice of morning, afternoon or sunset tour on the captivating Cable Beach. Our point of difference is that we guarantee not just a camel ride, but an authentic camel experience. This is due to our carefully selected and professionally trained staff and camels!Listen to the stories and adventures of our camels and staff as they have trekked across Australian deserts, raced in different states and featured in television shows and movies such as the feature film, Australia!Australia’s friendliest camels await you- Book early for a good-looking one!
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had a fabulous ride on "Harley" on Broome Beach. The tour operators were very friendly and helpful and they had the happiest camels on the beach! No spitting or biting or disgruntled camels here - it was a joyous experience! We booked at the Tourist Information centre and the cost was a fraction of what we would have paid on board our cruise ship! I can now say I have rode a harley on the beach!

Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hi Marie,

Thanks for your comments they are much appreciated! Aren't the camels just gorgeous, and very much misunderstood animals! Our camels are all very well looked after and defiantly the happiest on Cable Beach!

Our staff always ensure your experience is fun! You certainly can say you have rode harley on the beach - lol!

Come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

I did the sunset tour a couple of days ago. What a fantastic experience and terrific team. There are a number of operators and I'm so glad I chose GOLD. 3 tour guides walked with us and were all really friendly. A sincere thank you for taking the photos whilst we were on the camels. You caught an amazing shot with me on raja (he's so photogenic), with the sun setting in the background. Watching the sun set over cable beach on a camel is a must-do. Thanks again team.

Thank nic049049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thanks for your review Nic, it is much appreciated. Your very right, Rajah love having his photo taken!!! And our tour guides love their job, who can blame them!!! Come back and visit us soon.
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The team were so friendly and helpful. Took photos with our camera while we were riding the camels which is great so you're not obligated to buy the pictures they take. They were very conscious of our safety. Great experience all round.

Thank vanessa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hi Vanessa,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, it is much appreciated.

We aim to provide our customers with a fantastic experience on these iconic animals, and passenger safety is a priority. Taking photo's on your own camera's is a service we provide as part of the tour, along with the option to purchase professional photo options and merchandise to complete your camel ride experience.

We hope you can visit us again!

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

What a fantastic way to watch the sunset over beautiful Cable Beach. Jamie and his team were very helpful and they took photos with our camera. We also purchased an amazing panorama shot of the whole group with the sunset in the background. My camels name was Alice and she was very calm. Highly recommend this as a must do when you visit Broome.

1  Thank Janelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Hi Janelle,
Thanks so much for your review! Alice is a beautiful camel and we are very happy you got some amazing photo's, we think our panoramic's are great value too.
We loved having you on board!
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Something you must do! A relaxing way to traverse the beach and enjoy the sunset. The camels were lead by a group of chatty British gap year lads who also offered to take some photos on our camera. Thanks Tom, they turned out well. Don't forget to bring your camera.
There's a professional photographer too who took some lovely panoramic shots which were reasonably priced.

Thank SweetpeaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ships_Broome, Owner at Ships of the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Hi Sweetpea Olive,
Thank you for your review! We agree, you cannot come to Broome without doing a sunset camel ride. I will pass your thanks onto Tom.
We are glad you enjoyed yourself, and please come and visit us again.
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ships of the Desert also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Ships of the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing