We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a hotel- five star service.”
Review of Ochre Moon B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ochre Moon B&B
Ranked #8 of 14 Broome B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I agree with all other reviews written about this property. They say it all so no point in repeating it. This superb B & B is by far much better value to stay in than a hotel in Broome. The lovely owners go out of their way to assist from picking us up from the airport, giving us a tiki tour around Darwin & running us into town & to the airport & booking us into attractions. Nothing was too much trouble.
The room had a lovely Queen sized bed with a huge bathroom - really nice touches like hand made soaps & everything you need in the toiletry line & lovely linen.
There is a huge fully equipped kitchen or a BBQ to cook meals on & very comfortable lounge
The cooked breakfasts were delicious &it was nice for all the guests to eat together . There are laundry facilities available. They have a pool for use in the summer & good parking. I would recommend this property to anyone wanting to stay in Broome for any length of time & would definitely stay there again if we ever get to Broome again.

Room Tip: Ask for the King sized room however they are all very nice. If you need anything organised just emai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsy039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ochre Moon B & B was a wonderful home away from home for us, and up there with the best B & B's we have ever stayed at. We stayed for 4 nights - 1 night in the Queen Room, and 3 nights in the King Spa Room. We found Frank and Maryanne to be extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Frank picked us up from the airport, and gave us a quick tour around town to get us orientated, and point out some must see's. They were very generous with offers of lifts into town, bikes available for loan, and all the restaurants that were recommended did not fail to deliver. The property itself is comfortable, well laid out, and the King room in particular is palatial in size, and well appointed with cupboards, flat screen TV, Foxtel, quality bed linen, with a matching enormous bathroom with all the 5 star extra's. Breakfast's were outstanding - fresh fruit salad, a range of cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts, bread/toast and spreads, with a selection of fully cooked options too - really really good! I would not hestitate to recommend Ochre Moon to family and friends, and we will return anytime we are are back in Broome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

My sister booked this B&B as she was getting married at Cable Beach. We were staying 5 days. Admittedly, I was a little worried about being in a B&B as for me, I get images of pink curtains and floral duvets with a bathroom everyone has to share and hosts who make you feel very unwelcome. This could not be further from the truth. Frank picked us up from Broome airport, toured us quickly and efficiently around town in the car and then took us straight to what was to be our base for the next few days. I was blown away by the knowledge this man displayed, not to mention his home. Deceptive as we pulled up, this dwelling turned into a Tardis. Open planned dining area and kitchen. Couches with a flat screen t.v/sky for guest viewing. Free access to fridge freezer, milk, Italian coffee machine, tea of all different varieties and a couple of dollars for soft drinks and a dollar for chocolate! Kitchen had more utensils than we do at home. We stayed in the Queen bedroom, amazing fresh linen, huge wardrobe space and a wet room shower to match. Opening cupboards in the bathroom and there was a hair dryer, razors, soaps flannels, towels and even beach towels! What made it for me was the radio/iPod docking station. Air con worked and was very quiet, fan extremely quiet. We were provided with keys to lock our room and to access the property. Breakfast was cereals, freshly made fruit salads, yogurts -and if you're still hungry a cooked breakfast range- all inclusive. The B&B was a little away from the town and beaches but the use of the phone, taxis being prompt made this ok. What made it stand out was all the little things thought of, the friendly banter, the knowledge and the offers of lifts too. I believe businesses can only strive to be as good as they can be but very rarely achieving this. However, Frank & Maryanne of Ocre Moon have succeeded and will be our choice over and over again. Very impressed!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Ochre Moon B&B is one the best B&Bs we've stayed in, in all our travels. We stayed there 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything. Rooms are beautifully appointed and equipped, with lovely hand made soaps in the bathroom, and the living room is spacious, well decorated, with things to read during your stay, etc. Also, the hosts were so kind, nice and helpful, it made us feel at home. We arrived late at the Broome airport and Frank, the delightful host, kindly came to pick us up. He cooked our breakfasts for us (with different options to chose from). He lent us bikes for the next days so we could get into the town center and enjoy the city and Cable Beach. He even drove us to a restaurant one night so we could have dinner outside and enjoy the staircase to the moon (where we got engaged :). We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melina394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We rang up for a late check in at 8.30pm after being broken down on the cape leveque road for 5 hours, so all we wanted was a cheap place with a good night sleep.
Frank was very lovely at accomodating us at such late noticed, and quickly got our room ready. Ive never stayed at a b&b before so didnt know what to expect, and it did kinda feel wierd staying at a strangers house, but frank and his wife made us feel very welcome. And it was nice to have breakfast cooked for us in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bree_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

great value accom with hug room/ friendly/ spa/ clean and comfortable. with a great breakfast included this is a great value place to stay

Room Tip: we got the spa suite room right at the front of the B&B... great for a couple!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsea6372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in August 2011. This is a very nice B&B in a quiet suburban street of Broome. We appreciated the free airport pickup together with the orientation drive around town. Before we picked up our rental vehicle, Frank also drove us into town to go to Sun Pictures, and to the rental car place to pick up our vehicle. Our room was very nice, with air con and a TV with lots of channels to choose from. The bathroom was especially nice. Our hosts were friendly and had plenty of good sightseeing suggestions.

There is room for improvement however. We had an early start for a day tour on our first morning, and we were leaving too early for the breakfast service. Instead a breakfast was left out for us. Sadly the pickings were very sparse, almost to the point where I couldn't actually find anything I wanted to eat. Breakfast was greatly improved when we were there for an actual breakfast sitting, although my pancakes were raw in the middle. Also we were looking forward to the legendary home baked bread that had been mentioned by other trip advisor commentators, but instead we only got the cheapest $1 Coles brand bread for breakfast. Our biggest disappointment was that our room was not serviced and restocked on any of the three days that we were there. There was a gradual build up of sand on the floor that ended up in our bed. The pool also could have done with a clean.

The complimentary bicycles are a very high standard but sadly I encountered a flat tyre half way to Cable Beach that curtailed my morning ride. I was a little annoyed to learn that Frank already knew of the "slow leak" (that suddenly became a very fast leak), and had done nothing to fix it.

While this is a great place that has been set up very nicely, it seems that when the hosts get busy or have an event to go to like Opera on the Beach, the guests needs get slightly neglected. We still rate this as a very good stay and overall we enjoyed the hospitality and would recommend this as one of the nicer and best value for money places to stay in Broome.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TropicalTravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
1.9 mi away
Broome Time Accommodation
2.1 mi away
Moonlight Bay Suites
Moonlight Bay Suites
#2 of 12 in Broome
441 reviews
29.3 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BroomeTown B&B
BroomeTown B&B
#1 of 14 in Broome
223 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Beaches of Broome
Beaches of Broome
#5 of 29 in Broome
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ochre Moon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ochre Moon B&B

Address: 13 Godwit Cres, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Broome
Price Range: $88 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ochre Moon B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, comfortable purpose built B and B in a quiet but convenient residential location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ochre Moon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing