We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ever eggs benedict”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kool Spot Cafe

The Kool Spot Cafe
Ranked #38 of 71 Restaurants in Broome
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Perth
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best ever eggs benedict”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Must have had my favourite eggs benedict in at least a hundred cafes/hotels etc. This was the best. This Café was busy for breakfast and no wonder. I saw other meals and they looked good and generous portions. The home made cakes (my takeaway) were brilliant and cheap at the price. Their menu for lunch is limited but supplemented by interesting blackboard additions.
Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank insearchofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    48
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe with great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a couple of times now, both for lunch and breakfast.
The lunch offerings are nice, I had the open chicken sandwich which was delish however it was strangely serve with a side of potato chips!
The breakfasts all look amazing and the few I've tried are superb - esp the French toast!
Coffee was nice enough but served way too hot.
Friendly staff top it off nicely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojo8785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“food good, coffee good but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

service at the counter was fine, but the waitresses who were delivering food and collecting plates etc from the tables were surly and definitely were not enjoying their work. at least fake a smile!
anyway, it wouldn't stop me from going back- it was more bemusing than anything else. wasn't bad value for money either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maroon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We found a barista worthwhile trying.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our third attempt in Broom to find a barista grade coffee. I won't say we hit the jackpot but it certainly was a good attempt. Tannic acidity is what ruins most coffees. Usually masked by lots of milk to hide the bitterness that results from over extraction.
Definitely worth a try for coffee and by judging the great looking breakfasts that were served a very popular cafe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvhensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

You can see why it's called the kool spot and recommended by locals: indoors, fans, air con and a good vibe - just what you need to escape the harsh Broome heat.

Great coffee and had the open chicken sandwich which was really nice - strangely served with potatoes crisps (unusual but quirky).

Not sure why there are complaints of no table service - ordering at the till is the norm these days - had a friendly chat with waitress when food was delivered - that's all the table service I need.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oztraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kool Spot Cafe also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to The Kool Spot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing