We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit short of the mark.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in July. This is a good resort, low rise and relaxed in layout. However being placed in the most distant room from reception means a bit of walking. We enjoyed our stay, but were disappointed in the standard of preparation of our room. On arrival, 3 light fittings were not operating and the room had not been cleaned to a reasonable standard. Lights were fixed promptly. Ants and a cockroach inhabited the small food and utensil storage area above the fridge. The bathroom is quirky, with a large freestanding bath taking pride of place. A meal in the pool bar took an age to be served. A good buffet breakfast is available. Nice place, pity about the detail.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Murray F,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that you had some concerns with your rooms during your stay. While I am pleased to read that issues with your room were actioned promptly I apologise unreservedly that the room was not presented correctly upon arrival. I will be addressing with our housekeeping team. I am however pleased that you enjoyed the room appointments and the room layout. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back again when you next travel to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 646 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Helpful and friendly staff made our stay easy and relaxed. Rooms are beautifully appointed and decorated. Great shower! Beds are comfy but we found the pillows quite uncomfortable - which did make sleep harder to come by. We would recommend they change the long pillows for standard sized well cushioned ones. Food at Selene is really good so definitely dine there during your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Sydviz,
Thank you for recent post. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed some laid back luxury at Pinctada Cable Beach. I am however sorry that while you were impressed by the room appointments, the pillows were not to your satisfaction. We do offer a pillow menu and I hope that you have an opportunity to choose from on your next visit. Thank you for your kind comments and recommendations on Selene’s. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week mid-July and couldn't have been happier that we did. Great reception at the airport (& advice on luggage that didn't arrive!) was the start of what became a wonderful stay.
Perfect place to celebrate my 30th birthday (with delish chocs left for us!), & helpful staff assisting my husband in organising and booking a birthday surprise. Christy at the pool bar was particularly friendly and helpful.
Lovely room, great food, a wonderful stay all round - thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BessAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Bess Aust,
Thank you for posting feedback of your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read your review and that we could assist in you celebrating a special birthday. I especially appreciate your comments given your extensive travels. I look forward to being able to welcome you back when you next have an oportunity to escape to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have been on the road for almost a month and have been to a few resorts in the area and NT. This is the only one that matches it's advertised Star rating. Beautiful lobster gnocchi, amazing day spa and friendly helpful staff. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Laura D,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you completed your North West expedition at Pinctada Cable Beach and that we were able to show some true Kimberley hospitality. I look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next visit to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived in Broome on 4June 2013, into a slight drizzle. This, in the course of the nexr couple of days, became the highest June rainfall ever, I think. However, our stay at Pictada made up for the disappointment of not quite seeing Broome. We did, however, catch the local bus into the town. Note: if there are a couple of empty seats in an otherwise full bus, don't sit on them. They are saturated by the condensation from the air conditioner! Took our shoes off and paddled over the "river" (road). At least the rain was warm.
Back to Pictada. The rooms are large and well appointed, the staff is endlessly pleasant and well trained. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is exquisite - if a bit ex-y. On our last day the manager noticed a chink in the clouds, rushed us into the company vehicle and fanged us down to Cable Beach to see the only sunset since we had arrived. It was just beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marrion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear, Marrion S,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay with us. I am very glad to read that although we had unexpected weather you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to be able to take you down to watch the sunset. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back for another visit when we are less damp.

Kind Regards,
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here in May for a girls trip away. the rooms are lovely and modern. ground floor room opened out to the pool area. Hotel itself is new, contemporary and beautiful. Pool is nice - bit small and little bit cold - but had a pool bar and comfy lounge chairs. hotel is in a good spot to walk / drive to cable beach and lovely restaurants nearby. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ground floor open out to pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Club334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Club334,
Thank you for your kind feedback. I was delighted to read that we have provided a great getaway for yourself and your friends. I look forward to being able to welcome you, and the girls back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a long plane flight from Sydney the friendly staff greeted us with a cool drink while our bags were taken to our room. Sitting in the comfy lounges, drink in hand, we felt we were miles from care!! Broome is about as remote a place in the world as you can be, but here was civilization as we like it. Our room was open and airy, and well appointed with a large bathroom, space to hang clothes to dry and clean white fluffy towels as well as beach towels. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of chairs to sit in and a desk space for computer as well as the TV screen. Small bar frig, Nespresso coffee maker, wine glasses, ironing board and iron + insect spray completed the small but much appreciated extras.
The grounds were clean and attractive, with lots of lovely tropical plants for an exotic ambience - bamboo dripping into the pool and a waterfall wall. A bar space to sit at and just enjoy the view of the pool. The dining room was attractive and apart from our meal order being mislaid on the first night, which was dealt with appropriately, the food has been excellent with a wide choice of meals. The wait staff come from all over the world and are friendly but still professional in their approach, which is appreciated.

We have enjoyed staying at the Pinctada and look forward to returning. We can recommend it as a peaceful holiday spot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor get breezes and less noise - there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Rhonnie7,
Thank you for your kind feedback. I was very pleased to read that you have enjoyed both the resort but also the destination of Broome. I was particularly pleased to read that you have enjoyed all facets of our property from the room appointments to the pool, gardens and grounds and dinning. I am also glad to see that you enjoyed the interaction with our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to our paradise the next time you return to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.7 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
28.6 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#8 of 12 in Broome
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Broome
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
2.4 mi away
Moonlight Bay Suites
Moonlight Bay Suites
#2 of 12 in Broome
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 10 Murray Rd | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Broome
#4 Business Hotel in Broome
#4 Luxury Hotel in Broome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Broome
Price Range: $143 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley Sands Resort and Spa is Broome's newest full service spa resort located close to Cable Beach. Located in the Kimberley Region of Western Australia, our Award winning intimate 72 room & suite resort is created to nurture you. Here you'll find understated elegance and around the clock attention. Original art to the hand selected furnishings and decor, every detail reflects the Kimberley. Features include the 25m Maxima pool, guest gym, meditative gardens and day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinctada Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Pinctada Cable Beach Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing