We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Perth W.A
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here in May for a girls trip away. the rooms are lovely and modern. ground floor room opened out to the pool area. Hotel itself is new, contemporary and beautiful. Pool is nice - bit small and little bit cold - but had a pool bar and comfy lounge chairs. hotel is in a good spot to walk / drive to cable beach and lovely restaurants nearby. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ground floor open out to pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Club334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Club334,
Thank you for your kind feedback. I was delighted to read that we have provided a great getaway for yourself and your friends. I look forward to being able to welcome you, and the girls back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    186
    78
    25
    13
See reviews for
52
347
40
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a long plane flight from Sydney the friendly staff greeted us with a cool drink while our bags were taken to our room. Sitting in the comfy lounges, drink in hand, we felt we were miles from care!! Broome is about as remote a place in the world as you can be, but here was civilization as we like it. Our room was open and airy, and well appointed with a large bathroom, space to hang clothes to dry and clean white fluffy towels as well as beach towels. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of chairs to sit in and a desk space for computer as well as the TV screen. Small bar frig, Nespresso coffee maker, wine glasses, ironing board and iron + insect spray completed the small but much appreciated extras.
The grounds were clean and attractive, with lots of lovely tropical plants for an exotic ambience - bamboo dripping into the pool and a waterfall wall. A bar space to sit at and just enjoy the view of the pool. The dining room was attractive and apart from our meal order being mislaid on the first night, which was dealt with appropriately, the food has been excellent with a wide choice of meals. The wait staff come from all over the world and are friendly but still professional in their approach, which is appreciated.

We have enjoyed staying at the Pinctada and look forward to returning. We can recommend it as a peaceful holiday spot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor get breezes and less noise - there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Rhonnie7,
Thank you for your kind feedback. I was very pleased to read that you have enjoyed both the resort but also the destination of Broome. I was particularly pleased to read that you have enjoyed all facets of our property from the room appointments to the pool, gardens and grounds and dinning. I am also glad to see that you enjoyed the interaction with our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to our paradise the next time you return to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family stayed here when were were unable to book back into another better known resort, and were very pleased. Our 2 bedroom suite was beautiful, quiet, luxurious, functional and safe for our toddler. We had 2 private patios, a plunge pool shared with 4 suites as well as the main pool/bar area.

The day spa was magnificent and without exception the service was first class in all areas.

The restaurant was lovely for dinner and breakfast. Although it overlooks the road, it was not noisy or dusty. Prices are a bit expensive but not out of the way for Broome.

We were travelling with another couple whose room was affected by a maintenance issue and they were upgraded to a larger room.

The resort is not adjacent to the beach, but is a short walk away and there is a local bus back ($4). The same bus runs into town.

There is a convenience store /take away a few minutes walk away.

There are no children's activities or play areas, apart from the pools, but there is a nice playground at the beach and a water play park and cafe at Town Beach at the other end of the bus route.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Tasha M,
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed you family holiday with us at Pinctada Cable Beach. The Honjin Courtyard Villas are a wonderful room designed with both families and couples in mind. I am very happy to read that you found it both comfortable and functional for your family. It appears that you have enjoyed all facets of the resort from the pool area, dining, gardens and day spa. I am also pleased to see that from the family perspective you found our location convenient to both the town and Cable beach. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Pinctada on your next visit to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This resort is considered a five star resort however it is far from this rating. On arrival we were shown to our room and on entering there was a welcome letter which we thought was for us but it was addressed to another couple! Not good....for first impressions. The clothes line in the bathroom was broken which we reported and were told maintenance would come in the morning to fix it. They did not. They did however come in the afternoon when we were having a rest, knocked on the door and before we could even jump off the bed they were coming in the room!...not good.
Naturally the Manager was horrified and did send us a nice bottle of red wine and a sumptious cheese platter...thankyou Damien. However, several days later on leaving the room for the day we duly put out the sign "please make up room"...when we returned 4 hours later the sign was still on the door and worse still the door had not been closed properly so anyone could have walked into our room. The room had been made up and luckily I believe nothing had been taken. The general cleanliness of the room was not good....they did not mop the bathroom floor and when we had room service and accidently spilt something on the wooden floor it was still there the next day smeared into the floor. Room service was not that much better as when we asked for cutlery for two we were given ONE serviette, ONE knife, ONE spoon and two forks. This obviously is not cutlery for TWO. I brought the issue of the dirty floor twice to management and finally on the second time it was cleaned but the wooden floor was still left dirty. This last complaint is only a small point however for a five star resort that costs well over $AUD350 per night is just not good enough. The swimming pool was small with sharp corners every way one looked. The resort is set up on boardwalks and when there are children there they run around and the noise is magnified on these boards. It is a shame about this resort as we had high hopes. It is at least a 1.5km walk to Cable Beach although there is a bus service but you have to go into town and then back to the beach as it only runs in one direction which takes 40 minutes even though the beach is a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Don't....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear rmp26,
Thank you for posting feedback of your recent stay with us. I am quite surprised to see your post as we had caught up during your stay and I believed that I had already addressed your concerns? I will address a few additional points that we did not discuss. Our star rating is awarded by an independent body and is awarded based on room appointments, resort facilities and service and is reviewed annually to ensure compliance. The location of the resort is a comfortable 15 minute walk to Cable Beach, Surf Club. While Cable Beach is of considerable length, (22 km) I am uncertain of which part of the beach you were walking to? I was however quite surprised by your comments regarding noise and children. While we cater to both couples and families alike, there is always an increased presence of families during the school holidays. I apologise if this has unduly impacted on your stay.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Pinktada awaiting our Orion cruise departure to the Kimberly's
We chose this hotel over Cable Beach Resort due to their adverting. Frankly it was an over promise that built our expectation that we found so disappointing.
As to staff, we found all staff to be very friendly but untrained which one can only blame management for.
In the restaurant the food was good but lacking in choices especially dinner,which by any standard was expensive. Breakfast was ok however we had to wait over 25 minutes on both mornings to get a coffee, admittedly we wanted Capuchino,s and could have had a brewed coffee from the buffet however that was awful. We were also not advised that you had to pay extra for them.We complained and they did credit our account without hesitation.
The property is clearly in urgent need of a refurbishment, our room had polished floors that were severely scratched, the toilet roll holder was being held by one screw so that the toilet roll would fall off any time you tried to use it. A neat addition in the room was a Nespresso Machine but you got only 2 capsules after which you had to purchase more. Wifi limit is 200mg which seems petty when most hotels provide free Wi Fi Full Broadband was not free.
The swimming pool was in disrepair with tiles missing and debri in the pool that should be vacuumed daily. They advertise a lap pool however this is part of the main pool and requires you to navigate children as you must swim through the centre of the pool. As I swim laps we found this offering a good reason to choose to stay there.This led to another disappointment and over sell. I believe that you need to under promise and over deliver to really win over guests.
The location is way outside Broome township and the only way to get there is by council bus at the outrageous fare of $8 each way. That is $32 per couple return. The hotel should provide a shuttle service or negotiate a visitors fare for guests of the hotel of a more reasonable rate. A comparison is Darwin where you can travel all over Darwin for $3 for 3 hours. Broome is ripping off the tourists.
They do have free bikes which was really good but too far to ride to town in the heat.
Overall this is a nice place but in need of repair and staff training along with a re think on services like town transport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main pool otherwise the location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Walter 029,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback of your stay at the resort and also the destination of Broome. Unfortunately I feel that we were both below your expectations? I regret that you were not informed that the comprehensive buffet breakfast was not inclusive of espresso coffee but I am happy to read that the staff responded quickly to your concerns. We do provide Nespresso machines in every room with free samples of coffee pods (in addition to sachet coffee and tea). Additional pods may be purchased through reception. We do provide free Wi Fi of up to 200 MB which is sufficient for most email and communication needs. Additional access can be arranged for guests wishing to download larger content. Broome has not yet been supplied on the NBN. We do advertise that there is a lap pool within our main pool. There will always be a higher percentage of families staying at the resort during school holidays. I do apologise that this has caused concern when sharing the pool with other guests.

While I am not comfortable responding to your concerns over tariffs for the Broome Bus Service, the prices are not as you have stated and are only $ 4 per person per ride. They do have multi ride passes available.

As our name suggests, Pinctada Cable Beach is located in the Cable Beach area. We are a 10 minute drive from the centre of Broome, Chinatown. We have only recently celebrated our 4th anniversary . If there were shortcomings with your room I apologise unreservedly, but as always I would prefer to rectify a concern while a guest is staying with us rather than merely respond. I do however regret that there is little I may be able to communicate to alter your perception of the property and the destination. It is my conviction however that both Pinctada Cable Beach and Broome welcome all visitors courteously and warmly.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for only one night unfortunately, would have liked to have stayed longer. Welcome drink on arrival, Lovely rooms, huge bathrooms and Lovely private garden with loungers and outdoor overhead fan. It was a little noisy as my room was next to the car park and there was a slight problem with cockroaches (I killed three) but it is the tropics.
Overall a lovely place to stay would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Peter M,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent although brief stay. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back for another longer stay again soon.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Pinctada Cable Beach and had a very good time. The rooms are spacious and modern, as are other facilities like the pool and bars.

The service in the hotel was excellent. We had a problem with a booking via a holiday retailer, but the Pinctada Cable Beach reception staff was very helpful in resolving the issue when we checked in.
All other staff working in the restaurants, tour desk, reception and spa were very friendly and supportive making our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OWFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear OW Feedback,
Thank you for posting feedback from your recent holiday stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed all facets of the resort and that the staffs have assisted in creating a memorable stay. I look forward to being able to welcome you back when you next holiday in Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.6 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
28.6 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
2.4 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Property: Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Address: 10 Murray Rd | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Broome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Broome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley Sands Resort and Spa is Broome's newest full service spa resort located close to Cable Beach. Located in the Kimberley Region of Western Australia, our Award winning intimate 72 room & suite resort is created to nurture you. Here you'll find understated elegance and around the clock attention. Original art to the hand selected furnishings and decor, every detail reflects the Kimberley. Features include the 25m Maxima pool, guest gym, meditative gardens and day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinctada Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Pinctada Cable Beach Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing