We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This resort is a piece of heaven in the middle of a desert. We don't normally stay in 5* hotels but were certainly glad we did when we arrived in Broome. The rooms are spacious, classy and just what you would expect from a 5* resort. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: If you don't normally stay 5*, save up your pennies and lash ot - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SistaGirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear SistaGirl2010,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay at Pinctada Cable Beach. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next visit to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    186
    78
    25
    13
See reviews for
52
346
40
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a 7 nights stay at the Pinctada and the pool and other amenities were very good. The restaurant had an excellent menu for the dinner although the breakfast buffet did become a little boring after a few days. They will do eggs for you if you ask which is nice as the buffet poached eggs every day got a bit much.
The staff were excellent and would not be out of place at top Singapore and London hotels.
Be aware that the Pinctada is quite a walk to Cable Beach and we found it best to hire a car for our stay.

Room Tip: Try for the upstairs Shinju rooms. The top floor has a nice aspect towards Cable Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnofPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear JohnofPerth,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay. I was very happy to read that you have enjoyed all facets of the resort from you room, amenities, pool and dining. I appreciate you feedback regarding breakfast and we have recently returned to an a la carte menu for breakfast which allows greater variety for guests who are staying longer periods. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Broome in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have just retuned from a fabulous 7 night stay at Pinctata Cable Beach Resot and Spa. It was just what I needed to relax and unwiind.

The resort is well appointed, the staff are very warm . friendly and helpful.Chloe went abve and beyond her call of duty to make our stay more comfotable. Thank you Chloe,

Our room was very comfortable, and had everything we could have wanted including a naspesso coffee machine.

The food in Selene Resturant was delisious. Besky and Joe looked after us and I am sure you will enjoy the experience too.
The Brizo Pool Bar is great for a light lunch, and Anujet looked after us and upheld the friendly atmosphiere.

The Spa has a beatiful tranquil atmosphere, with a court yard and plung pool , were you relax after your treatment. .We had amazing treatments given by Sasha,Emma and Joyce.Thank you girls. We did not want the treatments to end. Very proffesional.

Even the town bus was a great experience,it stops a few meters from the front door of PINCTATA, We caught the bus on several occasions and more often had a bus driver by the name of Robyn, she was so happy and helpful.Robyn had just celebrated her tenth anniversary driving the bus.Keep up the good work Robyn.

This was to be a relaxing holiday and Pinctata,ticked all the boxes. you really don't need to leave the resort.Thank you to all Pinctata staff for making our holiday so memorable.

Gwen.
Victoria

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Gwen D,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that so many staff had left such a positive impression. I will certainly pass on your thanks to the team members mentioned. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Pinctada is a great place to stay while in cable beach. Selene restaurant is 1st class with a great choice of food. We stayed in a Shinju studio room overlooking the pool with beautiful gardens. The staff were very courteous and friendly and full of information you may need while in Broome. Would not hesitate in highly recommending this resort Anna Hasan

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annahasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Anna Hassan,
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to Broome again soon.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for six nights but could easily have stayed longer! The pool area was lovely. We enjoyed cooling down every day - especially my two and a half year old daughter! The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was functional. The morning staff at the restaurant were especially attentive. My husband likes worstechire sauce on his bacon and eggs and asked for some on the first morning - every morning after that they automatically remembered and brought him some without us asking! A lovely personal touch! Thankyou to the gentlemen who do the breakfast shift!!!! My only concern was that we were left stranded at the airport, despite my phone call earlier that day reconfirming our need for transfers to the resort from the airport. Thank goodness for mobile phones! A quick call and the transfer mini bus came to pick us up! However, if we were not English speakers, the situation could have become quite stressful! This type of communication glitch should be ironed out! Despite this, we had a lovely stay and would come back again next time we visit Broome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear paula j,
Thank you for posting feedback on your recent stay at Pinctada Cable Beach. I was very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed the room and dining while at the resort. At Pinctada we pride ourselves on the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff. I am however disappointed to read that there was an issue with your airport transfer booking. I do appreciate your feedback however as it is essential in improving our service. I am glad that this has not tarnished your holiday experience and I look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next visit to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wayne & Maia - Brisbane

We booked a 7 night stay at Pinctada primarily because they had a vegetarian menu and we were not disappointed as the food for us 'vegos' was simply exquisite- not just salad and bread which is the normal offering.
The staff are to be commended on their friendliness and were very helpful. Nothing was too much effort from anyone.The tour organizing was great too, thank you!
The spa treatments we had were amazing, especially the Hot Rock Kodo Massage - we highly recommend it!
The Shinju Studio we had on the third floor looking out into the bamboo tree tops and towards the pool was fabulous. The bed was lovely, big, clean & comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and well stocked with essentials.
We highly recommend Pinctada and will be back as soon as we can - we are already planning another stay!
Thanks to everyone there!!!!

Room Tip: Be among the treetops for a relaxing, nature filled, quiet location - middle of the top floor Shinju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Wayne & Maia,
Thank you for your recent posting on your stay with us at Pinctada Cable Beach. We pride ourselves on the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff and in particular I was delighted to read that we were able to cater for your culinary needs over your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the Hot Rock Kodo massage as this is one of our signature therapies in the spa. I will pass on your thanks to all of the staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to Pinctada soon.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I booked a 4 day break at the end of September and chose the Pinctada, as we have already been to Cable Beach Resort. Whilst lacking the premium location and beachside setting of the Cable Beach Resort, the Pinctada has everything you will need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. We stayed in a Shinju Studio on the third floor, with a view over the pool area. The room was spacious, particularly the bathroom.

Surprisingly, there was no mini bar selection of snacks, other than the usual tea or coffee. However, there’s a shop only five minutes walk away to stock up on any snacks you will need.
The breakfast was included in our package and there was sufficient choice for a hotel of this size. Most of the food we ordered from the poolside was delicious and well presented. The food in the main restaurant was expensive $40 - $45 for a main course and on the night we attended, even though there was only about four other patrons, the waiter forgot our request for bread. When paying a premium price in a restaurant, one should expect service excellence. There are plenty of other eating venues so that wasn’t a worry at all.

Each day we parked under shady bamboo poolside and didn’t move for about six hours. It was wonderful.

We had a little incident with vermin on our final day, however, as we were in the Outback, we weren’t too bothered about it. The staff made every effort to make sure we were comfortable and offered to move us if we wanted. As it was our last day, we didn’t bother (although I did sleep with one eye open!!).

I particularly noted that our room was often serviced while we were at breakfast which was fantastic. One of my pet hates when travelling is coming back to a room at 4pm to find the room still not serviced, so the prompt and early cleaning was a big plus for me.

Overall – the Pinctada was comfortable, relaxing and the friendly staff made us feel right at home. Additionally, the spa treatment was every bit as good as one would experience at the best Asian resorts. We were impressed!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-Murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Sue-Murray,
Thank you for taking the time to post comments on your recent stay at Pinctada Cable Beach. I am glad that we were able to offer a place to relax on your short break from Perth. I appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant and service as it is essential in improving our service. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your therapy in the spa as we strive to create a personalised experience.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.7 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
28.6 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
2.4 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Property: Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Address: 10 Murray Rd | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Broome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Broome
#7 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley Sands Resort and Spa is Broome's newest full service spa resort located close to Cable Beach. Located in the Kimberley Region of Western Australia, our Award winning intimate 72 room & suite resort is created to nurture you. Here you'll find understated elegance and around the clock attention. Original art to the hand selected furnishings and decor, every detail reflects the Kimberley. Features include the 25m Maxima pool, guest gym, meditative gardens and day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinctada Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Pinctada Cable Beach Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing