We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roebuck Bay Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roebuck Bay Caravan Park
Ranked #21 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Broome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was a very terribile experience. Kitchen on MCG is really dirty and toilet and shower too. The camp is full of thieves, they stolen some stoves and food of us and of other people. if you wanna stay here took your own kitchen. only one positive thing:very cheap in a really expensive town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nyrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    26
    14
    27
See reviews for
12
75
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I can not agree more with the review of ''ozylady_2'' below here. She explains it all. So I am not going to do that. I lived for 2 months on this campsite and okay the caretaker can be a little bit strange sometimes, but then again if you just act normal, then he act normal. This campsite was a huge problem the last year. It is not strange that the police is showing up, driving around the campsite and just to show that they are there. Three times a week!
I liked it here. The location is great, service is good and the staff is helpful. Only negative is that the kitchen is too small for the amount op people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amigoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 and were really disappointed given it's recommendation in Lonely Planet.

We were given a choice of three sites all of which were very small and chose the 'best' one near the beach. Unfortunately we had two long stay guys next to us who drank and played loud music all day and night. In fact there seemed to be a lot of long stay residents and the general feel of the park was grubby and unfriendly.

The location and proximity to town was good but the facilities were average and the staff were unhelpful.

On the last day, I had a top stolen off the washing line and the woman in reception couldn't have been less interested.

We would not stay here again and would recommend that others look for accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broome hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We had planned to stay in Broome two nights but upon arriving at this park, we extended to six ! Absolute water frontage site provided by friendly and helpful staff. Ablutions could do with an update and the lack of cooking facilities a little surprising considering the amount charged per night. We are self sufficient so it worries us less than others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I often get on this just to read and have a laugh. Its amazing just what some people complain about.

The caretaker patrols the camp ground and so far has done a good job of keeping the noise down so some of us can get sleep before we get up for work.

Every other year the MCG has been known as the party ground. But this year many of the party goers that have returned have found out that its not anymore. To the benefit to the many.

If you are one of the few that have got on the wrong side of the caretaker i just have to ask why?

Would it be because you couldn't walk a few meters to charge your phone?
One of the many signs people are complaining about say you can charge at the office or at the caretakers van.

Instead we have to wait on your phone to be charged before we can cook our meals?


You left your mess so the rest of us or the caretaker had to clean up after you? (The please clean up after yourself sign).

Or you made noise to keep the rest of us campers awake.

Or were you one of the many that has tried to smuggle others into the camp ground.
Just to save a few bucks? Warning, he finds you.
How did the other person say, he creeps around after dark looking for the sneaky people smugglers.

As for 22 rules that cracked me up.
If anyone even bothered to read them they would see that the 22 rules are for the whole caravan park not just the camp grounds.

As for the cleaning I have seen them spay chemicals and scrub the benches yes they do use the hose but to wash off the excess chemicals.
And yes if you open and close the fridges all the time it will reduce the effectiveness to keep food cold. (Health and safety reasons for those signs.)

All signs are there for the benefit of all of us campers !!! As many of the travelers coming through don't seem to care or respect that some of us are here for the long term that we need to work ect.

On a number of occasions where i have to visit the office. I have found the staff extremely busy but friendly. Yes sometimes they seem a little under pressure trying to meet all the requests and demands made on them.

The phone seems like it never stops. Not to mention the abuse I witnessed someone give the staff member the other day when they couldn't give the customer a water front site. Or the amount of times they had to say they were full and didn't have any powered sites.

And here I noticed someone has complained that they got told about some thieves in the park. What you would prefer not to know. And just get robbed.

I did notice further down in the comments list about a dump point being a hole in the ground in the toilet block.
If you had of asked the staff where it was I am sure they would have told you they are in the laundry. Not the drain in the shower block.

In my time at this park so far I have witnessed many things that astound me and many things where simple respect or common decency would go a long way.

So if you want to have a pleasant stay and don't want to get on the wrong side of the caretaker do what the rest of us do, Obey the few simple rules that are in place for all of us !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ozylady_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

When we arrive at the office we booked directly for a week my boyfriend and I. The staff at the office was unfriendly except the boss! We are backpackers so we were at the MCG but you can call it prison or ghetto, it's the same.. The only thing who can say the caretaker is " I don't care ok?!" He is stupid and embittered by life. No smile, no respect, anything.
After one night we left this prison for a powered campsite with a really nice view to the beach! There is just ONE kitchen with only 3 gas cookers and 5 fridges, the sixth one is not for food. Why? all the fridges are full at all time! And this kitchen is at the MCG! so we had to walk everyday at the opposit of our campsite to take the food we needed..
The shower are really small and dirty, you can't see yourself on the mirror because it's so dirty! No soap available.
You don't feel welcome. It's a shame, because it could be a really nice spot but some person from the staff messed up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having just spent 4 nights in the worst camp in WA, might I just say...
The view from our waterfront site was great and the site was well sheltered and had plenty of room.
BUT...
The ablution blocks were an absolute disgrace, 4 loos and 4 showers, 1 basin and what I think was a mirror. Probably built in the 1960's and never been upgraded or cleaned since.
Come on RBCP you are making HEAPS during the on season, invest a bit back so that we Aussie travellers might be encouraged to come back again. How about paying for a security patrol at night - that would have saved us the $300.00 we lost to some nimble thief who stole our funds from inside our trailer when we were in it.
Obviously you are only in the place to rip people off otherwise you would renovate (or demolish and rebuild) the ablutions, pay for adequate security, pay people to actually maintain the grounds (our site was littered with paper scraps and cigarette butts). At $49 per night I expect more.
We moved down the road to the Vacation Village in Broome, what a difference, very welcoming staff, unlike the rude people who man the reception at RBPC, well maintained sites and an ablution block that is CLEAN. How do I know, you can smell the disinfectant.
I know where I'll be staying next time I visit Broome - Vacation Village.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clareville251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Broome
Mercure Broome
#9 of 11 in Broome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Palm Grove Holiday Resort
3.1 mi away
Beaches of Broome
Beaches of Broome
#7 of 30 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reflections Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roebuck Bay Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roebuck Bay Caravan Park

Property: Roebuck Bay Caravan Park
Address: 91 Walcott Street, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Broome
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roebuck Bay Caravan Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broome's only Park on a Beach! Roebuck Bay Caravan Park is the most popular park in Broome. The caravan park, located right on Town Beach Roebuck Bay, is a shady grassed park, with a range of accommodation including on-site vans, powered and unpowered sites. Roebuck Bay Caravan Park is the closest to Broome township and handy to shops, a variety of restaurants and entertainment. Broome simply oozes with colour. It's Western Australia's secret getaway - right on the Indian Ocean's doorstep and the gateway to Australia's last frontier of pristine wilderness - the Kimberley. The colours and moods of Broome will capture your soul and you will never want to leave. View the "Staircase To The Moon" from your front doorstep. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing